We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good from the outside.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #83 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
cornwall
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Looks good from the outside.”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The main picture looks lovely, firstly I was disappointed when we arrived it already looked tired! Check in was brief, we stayed in room 118 - Well it was very dated compared to the nice bar we walked through, the stale musty smell hit me first then a green avocado bathroom suit with the shower mounted on some chipboard, the thinnest toilet paper in the world only one towel between us, sloping floor, pink & green curtain drapes, the website says rooms have 'climate control' well the windows open! but no view out at all, dirty valence sheet, previous customers comment card left in room.
Breakfast was all right apart from burnt bacon but they called it crispy.
Its on a main road surrounded by dirty looking buildings including the gardens which is not pictured...
Only stayed the one night, it was ok but I was expecting to be blow away by the pictures I saw.

Room Tip: Avoid room 118 not like any picures shown !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzaramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    211
    153
    101
    80
See reviews for
208
196
25
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A lovely hotel a short walk from the centre of the city - a very pleasant surprise.

Friendly staff, good breakfast, spacious rooms. Beautiful old building, carefully extended at the rear.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Rooms very clean, great breakfast and staff very helpful. We had a family crisis during our stay and the manager and other staff pulled out all the stops to support us all and nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here as we were attending a swimming course at a local venue. The room was more than adequate. It had two bedrooms, en-suite with tea and coffee facilities, and very clean. We stayed for two nights bed and breakfast. The proprietor was very accommodating, as we had an early start, they layed on a full english earlier than advertised so that we wouldn't be late for the course. We also ate in the resturant! Fantastic! Lovely menu, lots of choice. We ate there both nights. The staff were all friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We all said if we were in the area again then we would definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The hotel itself is old and full of character. It has the original architecture and fittings and, though old and in need of a bit of a revamp as regards a few things, could not be faulted. No gym or swimming pools here, but what you do get is a real hotel, lovely decent sized beds, great night's sleep and a nice clientele. Rooms were cleaned every day.
We stayed here with our son and it was nice not to have to worry about stags/hens/people coming in late etc. at night. It's about a 2 min. drive from the city centre or a 15/20 mins walk which we liked too. We were near the city but yet out of it.
Breakfast was cooked to order each morning, except for Sat, when it was a buffet.
We did not dine in the restaurant at night but got the bar food which was nice but expensive. The bar menu was pretty basic and did not change for the 4 nights we stayed. There are no safes in the rooms but reception kept our passports in their safe for us. The staff always seemed to be in good form, in particular the barman who was on at night when we came in from our day trips. They couldn't do enough for you.
Car parking is included - unlike Jurys who wanted £13 per day extra to your stay. We got 4 nights B&B for the three of us for £196, brilliant value.
There was also free internet. They also have discounted tickets for Cadbury World which was great. We enquired at the desk one morning and were booked in for a 9.30 tour.
It is about 10 mins from the hotel. It's also a great location for Drayton Manor Park and the Royal Air Force Museum in Cosford. It is also about a 2hr drive to Legoland Windsor, which we also got in on our trip. If we ever go to Birmingham again, we won't have to look anywhere else. We have already recommended it to friends and family who may be travelling to Birmingham next year. Great hotel, great staff, great value, great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delligIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caersws, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

First time visitors, my friend and I arrived at 11pm on 27/8/2011 after a day at the rain-affected T20 Cricket Final at Edgbaston. We walked the couple or so miles to the hotel after failing to get a taxi. On arrival, it became apparent that there had been a mix up over the type of room which had been reserved for us and as the hotel was fully booked, no alternative was available. However, credit where it is due, the Receptionist and Manager couldn't have been more helpful and the issue was resolved with little fuss. The hotel was warm and welcoming and our room was very clean. We left as planned the following morning after a first class breakfast. So well done Plough and Harrow. You deserve your Excellent Tripadvisor rating.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntielin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed here instead of the Premier Inn up the road as the price was about the same and it included Breakfast. Given the same choice would stay here again. Whilst, as some other reviewers state the furniture in the rooms is a little tired this is probably its only real fault. Once upon a time this was the best hotel in Birmingham but time have changed as the big multi-national chains have moved in, but the signs of quality still remain here. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in at a hotel for many a year and the breakfast was very nice. I would recommend the sausages.

On the night we stayed there was a wedding reception taking place and we were concerned about noise, however once within our room we couldn’t hear anything. Breakfast took place in the same room as the party the next morning, but the staff must of worked hard as there was no evidence left apart from a couple of guest looking a little worse for wear. Conveniently located the hotel also benefits from free parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
585 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#102 of 117 in Birmingham
439 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#36 of 117 in Birmingham
876 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 117 in Birmingham
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Property: Plough and Harrow Hotel
Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing