We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #88 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Time Visitor”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed at the Plough and Harrow for one night whilst on business. The Hotel did not fail to impress me, the room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was spotless. The room layout was a little strange as I had to go up stairs and back down again to get to my room and I would imagine if you had lots of luggage it could be awkward. This would not stop me staying here again though. All the staff polite and very efficient. I was made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The evening meal in the bar was very good and the breakfast was excellent. I have recommended this Hotel to other collegues who are coming to Birmingham and they have all booked in to stay there as well, I will certainly book to stay at the Plough and Harrow again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and for your very kind comments. I will sure and pass them on to the team. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    212
    157
    105
    83
See reviews for
210
199
26
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed with my friend the night before her wedding. Discovered an enormous cockroach in the grubby-looking, dated bathroom. Staff couldn't have been less enthusiastic in their response and were completely unapologetic despite the obvious distress caused on an important day. Whilst they did move us to another room, this too was well below expectations. Would not recommend to anyone, nor ever stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimbartrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
I can only apologise again as per my previous letter to you for any distress caused during your stay. As detailed in my letter to you we called our pest control people who were able to confirm that the insect although unfortunate was a solitary one. And far from being uninterested in your concerns I responded immeadiately to your letter, of which you thanked me for my quick response and also for the gesture of a total refund for the 2 night stay. Under the circumstances I do not believe I could have done more as in your letter to me you stated you were happy the matter had come to a satisfactory end
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have stayed at the Plough and Harrow several times now and have not been disappointed. Our room has always been prepared to a high standard and the bathroom is always spotless. The breakfast is always excellent and served in the spacious dining room. The staff are efficient, polite and attentive.Dinner in the restaurant has always been a good expereice.The location is very good as it is within walking distance of the city centre. All in all, we find the Plough and Harrow excellent value for money and we shall definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

this is the 3rd year that i have stayed at the hotel and once again it didnt fail to impress, room was clean, fresh and well maintained, food was to a high standard and staff were exceptional. the only thing that lets this hotel down in the layout for rooms, having to climb flights of stairs to wander down numerous corridors to go down more stairs to finally find your room is a drag - this would not be accessable if disabled/wheelchair user.

Room Tip: do not ask for a ground floor room as you will have to be prepared for a trek up & down stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara-woo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel quite recently and looked forward to a repeat visit as I was impressed with it the last time- however this time I was very disappointed with the room. The wallpaper was peeling in several places and was grubby round the corners. The area round the window was mouldy and a large square of wallpaper was torn off from the wall by the window. The window didn't fit tightly enough to keep the traffic noise out. The bathroom smelled of damp and there was a tile missing from the bottom of the bath edging, and the bath fascia was suffering from moisture damage. The shower was a nightmare to adjust and was either boiling or freezing. It took me ages to get it to an acceptable temperature. Also I booked a family room, and was given a double. I know it didn't matter as I was travelling alone, but I felt fobbed off with a substandard room. It was a great shame as I loved the last room I had here but this was grotty by comparison

Room Tip: See my review - I obviously don't know!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed for murder mystery night served it's purpose good night out . Rooms were very dated old sloping floors , cold no heating in119 avocado bathroom . Have stayed in better travel lodges .food was good meal with murder mystey and breakfast .

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton on sea
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The staff were prepared to go to extreme lengths to resolve the trouble I had. Try it. If anything dissatisfies you, let the staff know. This hotel was a breath of fresh air, despite being on a main road!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#75 of 117 in Birmingham
75 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
446 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Property: Plough and Harrow Hotel
Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing