We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here in December with a christrmas market package. Excellent hotel - very good value and very well oganised for the market. There is a big car park which looks reasonably secure. The evening meal was included and was very nice with good ingredients and was served very efficently even though there was a big party in the main restuarant. Buffet breakfast - not a massive choice - but very fresh and hot.
We stayed in a twin room - which was a little bit tired (old wardrobe etc) - but very very clean and as we were there for one night was ok. Beds very comfy though.
Excellent value - only minutes way from town centre in a taxi - excellent for xmas market - or just to stay for shopping.
Will definitely be back this xmas !

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westie6692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Booked at the Plough and Harrow for a weekend break in Birmingham. Conveniently close to Brindley Place and Town (we walked everywhere with small children). Really nice hotel - lobby, bar and restaurant very plushly decorated and as commented elsewhere has a country hotel style. Very good value - actually cheaper than any of the Travelodges after parking was factored in (free parking here) and far nicer. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Only slight negative was the room decor which was beginning to age but was clean and comfortable with all of the expected facilities. All in all wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quatermass72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write. I am glad you had a good stay and enjoyed your time in Birmingham. I am also very greatful for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful hotel. The staff where the best i have ever experienced in a hotel setting, always polite, friendly and helpful. The christmas market package was well thought out and excellent value for money. We will definatly be booking again and this time our parents and children will be joining us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shani w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

I am pleased you had a great stay and I will be very happy to pass on your kind comments to the team. Have a great 2012 and I look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is a lovely "country" hotel in the middle of Edgbaston. The staff were delightful and service was excellent. The lounge and bar area are comfortable and relaxing, and bar prices very reasonable. We were on the christmas market all inclusive deal and maybe weren't prepared for the first class service and food we received, but it came as a delightful surprise. The evening meal was excellent - I had the flat iron steak and it was delicious.
The beds are new and comfortable, but I should have thought to turn the heating off, because the thick winter duvets made it too hot. By the way, there is free internet in the rooms.
Overall, our 24 hours in Birmingham and at the Plough was a real positive experience.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-11 are a long way from reception with quite a few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikehero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

hotel lovely good food and service.went on special offer for xmas market.this was excellent value.taxi to and from market all in with price'.decor great and room was clean comfy bed.also free parking at hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We really enjoyed our stay,4 of us stayed on the christmas market deal ,it was a complete bargain.excellent friendly service from all your staff on our visit the evening 3 course meal was fab,thank you to the chef,breakfast cooked fresh to order. So over all everything excellent.we will be coming back next year and hopefully in the summer months as well. Happy christmas to you all.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizkiddy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Charming old hotel really well placed for the city centre. The bar/restaurant area is very welcoming and cosy. The all inclusive package worked brilliantly with very efficient taxi service into xmas market. The welcome back mince pies and champagne was a real morale booster and the meal in the evening was enjoyed by all in the party of 9!
The breakfast was excellent.
The rooms were spacious and functional if not the most newly renovated I've ever stayed in!
Overall we will be very happy to return!
Really good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
615 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 118 in Birmingham
81 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £59 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 44 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with an elegant lounge bar, a separate "pub" with over 25 gins & cocktails which also shows BT Sports, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the lawn. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1/2 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing