We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #82 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed at the Plough and Harrow because it was convenient location for a function we were attending. What can I say, as you can see by my rating it was just fabulous. I don't normally do reviews but this was worth it. Charming old country house complete with beautiful wooden staircases and comfortable rooms. The service was also reminiscent of a bygone age, especially by the Australian girl that served us breakfast. What a delight. Chatty, charming and with an endless supply of coffee! You don't get that much these days. The breakfast was delicious with a 'pick and choose' option of freshly cooked hot food accompanied by a lovely selection of fruit, cereal and pastries. We will be happy to return.

Room Tip: if you can't walk very well, ask for a room near reception. our friend's room was a long way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for you kind comments. I will pass them on to the Breakfast team and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    211
    151
    100
    79
See reviews for
206
196
25
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield U.K.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed Friday and Saturday night as our son was getting married close by. A very comfortable room and very reasonable rates with an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that your sons wedding went well. Will hopefully see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here as a family and were very pleasantly suprrised at the quality of the hotel for the price. The rooms were very well proportioned and comfortable. The food was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. Very elegant looking building from the outside, it was a little difficult to get too but well signed for those not familiar with the area. Car park was large and well lit. If I had any critisism at all it was that the bathroom air vent obviously accesses all other bathrooms and the gentleman singing in the shower had a lovely voice but it was a little disconcerting to have a stranger serenade you in the bathroom!
Would definitely stay here again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shearwater58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind comments to the team. Greatly appreciated and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We had a lovely afternoon tea; the staff were very helpful and efficient and the food was good. Everyone who attended was very impressed.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WilliamGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Hi
I am please you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and will be pleased to pass on your comments to the Head Chef. it is his recipe for the Scones and I am sure he will be happy you liked them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here in December with a christrmas market package. Excellent hotel - very good value and very well oganised for the market. There is a big car park which looks reasonably secure. The evening meal was included and was very nice with good ingredients and was served very efficently even though there was a big party in the main restuarant. Buffet breakfast - not a massive choice - but very fresh and hot.
We stayed in a twin room - which was a little bit tired (old wardrobe etc) - but very very clean and as we were there for one night was ok. Beds very comfy though.
Excellent value - only minutes way from town centre in a taxi - excellent for xmas market - or just to stay for shopping.
Will definitely be back this xmas !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westie6692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Booked at the Plough and Harrow for a weekend break in Birmingham. Conveniently close to Brindley Place and Town (we walked everywhere with small children). Really nice hotel - lobby, bar and restaurant very plushly decorated and as commented elsewhere has a country hotel style. Very good value - actually cheaper than any of the Travelodges after parking was factored in (free parking here) and far nicer. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Only slight negative was the room decor which was beginning to age but was clean and comfortable with all of the expected facilities. All in all wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quatermass72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write. I am glad you had a good stay and enjoyed your time in Birmingham. I am also very greatful for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful hotel. The staff where the best i have ever experienced in a hotel setting, always polite, friendly and helpful. The christmas market package was well thought out and excellent value for money. We will definatly be booking again and this time our parents and children will be joining us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shani w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
I am pleased you had a great stay and I will be very happy to pass on your kind comments to the team. Have a great 2012 and I look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#37 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#103 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Property: Plough and Harrow Hotel
Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing