We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plough and Harrow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #85 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here for one night,room a complete disgrace,wallpaper moldy and falling off the walls,crumpled nets filthy bath mat.no one at the hotel knew about the allowance for dinner,bed breakfast meal deal.Waitress asked four times what we wanted to eat and then called my husband a moron because he used the wrong spoon for soup,even though there wasn't,t a soup spoon to be seen!water on table but no glasses.couldn,t wait to leave.not worth the money, would rather stay in Travelodge

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joycelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to writ. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will discuss your comments with the people concerned, However I am sure the waitress did not call your husband a moron, perhaps you misheard. Thank you again for taking the time to write and once again my apologies for any distress caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    201
    146
    99
    77
See reviews for
199
190
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the night in June. The location was great and so was the food. The downfalls were the cleanliness, my room was dusty and dated, and stains on the chair. The bathroom was dated an Olive/Green colour which was not pleasing on the eye and is in need of a refurb.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeybabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments in regards to the food and overall service. I am sorry however for the cleanliness of the room and will take thos comments up with our cleaning company as we do not accept guests going into any room that is not cleaned to the highest of standards. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

My friends and i attended our first murder mystery at the Plough and Harrow in June for a special birthday celebration.
We thouroughly enjoyed the evenings events and the murder mystery was great fun.
We had a few issues in getting drinks at the bar, with a very busy event with over a hundred guests the bar staff were very limited (one guy most of the evening) and the bar wasnt well stocked, every other drink had to be fetched from somewhere leaving the bar un-attended. Considering the waiting staff held it together and delivered good quality hot food in the "murder zone" i feel the bar side was a little dissorganised.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neen376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and I am very pleased you enjoyed yourselves. I will have a word with the bar team as there should be no delays. Thanks again and hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here specifically because I was on a training course that was facilitated at the hotel. Having read some mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect...however I'm pleased to day I had a really nice stay.
The hotel is about 20min walk into central Birmingham, it's a lovely building from the outside. I will concede some of the decor was a bit dated for my tastes but nonetheless was nice inside.
My room was clean and fresh. The bed while comfortable was probably ready for a new mattress as it was very soft - this my just be my personal preference though.
Staff can not be faulted, friendly and very attentive.
Facilities were good. My room did not have wifi but I got a router from reception on arrival so that was not a problem. The breakfast was fresh as expected.
The hotel is a bit of a maze on arrival but you soon find your way!
I'd defiantly stay again if I was staying in Birmingham

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royboy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to write. I will pass them on to the team and hope to see you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolah Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I checked in on Wednesday night and on arroval there is a dismal lit reception area, which also smells. I went to my room with two large bags and no lift.
when I arrived in my room, one of the lights did not work, the shower constantly leaks and then there was no remote control for the TV and you cannot operate the TV from the TV!
I called down to reception but they did not have a remote.
I left a note with housekeeping and when I arrived back in my room, the light had been changed but no remote.

I called the reception desk, the girl said she was busy and she would get the Manager to come and see me.
He arrived all casual and just handed me a remote. I asked why it had taken three attempts to get a remote for a TV I could not use so far, he replied!!!! They were full last night and they did not have enough.

WILL NOT BE STAYING HERE AGAIN!! VERY BAD SERVICE
And i will be telling the travel company I book through of my experience.

Also take a look at your rooms and give them a dusting!!! especially on the skirting boards etc.

One plus side, to be fair, which I hope I always am....
Breakfast, whilst buffet was very good and the restaurant is nice, and the two staff were really nice which is always a bonus.

But need to get some fresh air into the place, it is off putting in public areas.

Room Tip: One that has all its services for you to use and is clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and I can only apologize for the missing remote. We do keep a selection of spares as for some reason they do go missing but for it to take more than one call is very disappointing. I will be speaking with the team to ensure a better response as this is not tolerable. Thanks again for taking the time to write and my apologies once again for letting you down
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

When we arrived it took 10 mins for someone to come to reception to speak to us, we decided to go to the loo whilst waiting, loos were dirty and there was no loo roll in any. Bad first impression from the start. It didn't get much better to be honest, we arrived after a long day of travelling to be told there would be no restaurant that evening, they could rustle us up a bar meal if we wanted, but there was a wedding taking place in the bar, not liking the idea of gate crashing and wanting a quiet evening meal we declined. Quite let down in the hotel for not warning us about the Wedding as we could have at least planned some where else to go.

Our room was quite a long walk from the main hotel area,. we had been allocated away from the wedding, which I thought was good. The corridors were all in desperate need of a good cobweb and a hoover though and they all smelt very damp. Our room was fairly clean, a bit of dust here and there and lamp shades were all a bit dirty and wonkey, but the bed was extremely comfy and bathroom was relatively modern in comparison to the 1970's bed room. Don't get me wrong, I like old, but when the carpet is stained all over and sun bleached and varnish no longer on furniture its not a good look. WiFi worked well as did the Tv which was a large wide screen. There was a very Strong air fresher somewhere in the room, having smelt the corridors it made me wonder what it was hiding.

Breakfast was served as a help yourself buffet, it was luke warm, nothing to shout about. Tea and coffee was already made up, you had to ask the waiting staff for a refill, I felt like a child at school 'please can I have some more tea'. The waiting staff looked tired and unenthusiastic, but were polite none the less.

The location of this hotel is great, not far at all from the town, we caught a bus from just outside, it took us not even 10 mins to get to The Bull Ring.

Overall I don't think we will be returning to this hotel unless it undergoes a bit of renovation, I like old fashioned, but to pay £85.00 fol old, dark, dirty and smell, I would rather go to a travel Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahbee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

A great location, a short walk away from the city centre and NIA. The downside was we got a room in a far corner of thr hotel and it took endless flights of stairs and corridors yo even reach the reception. The breakfast was included but it was not very nice, very few things on offer and even toasts took a long time to be served( as they served it on the table) it could be due to a big wedding party which had come the previous day, but our experience of breakfast wasnt great, go without abd buy stuff from nearby morrisons for breakfast is my advice. Free parking was an added bonus. All in all it was a decent place to stay with very clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and for your kind comments. I am sorry however if your breakfast wasn't as good as it should be. I will speak with the team as it is generally an area we excel in and with a great selection of both hot and cold items. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Property: Plough and Harrow Hotel
Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing