We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place in the heart of Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

My wife was on a day course in Birmingham and didnt want to drive in to the city during the rush hour. So l decided the easiest way to get her there with the least stress was to book a hotel the night before the course. The course was being held at tricorn house hagley rd so naturally l wanted a hotel as close to the venue as possible. A google search threw up the Plough and Harrow. It certainly fitted the bill just a 5 minute walk from Tricorn house. I used booking.com to book the room, dead easy. We arrived at 8.45pm, plenty of hotel parking behind a secure barrier. Reception staff friendly, room very nice, very clean with a large bathroom. Bit of a walk up and down passageways and stairs from reception but signage was good. We used the hotel bar later that night. Staff again were attentive and friendly. Good comfortable bed and breakfast was on a self service basis but food was plentiful and hot. The waitress buzzed around the dining room attending to everyone. She was very good, the star of the stay really.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommo715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Not quite fawlty towers more like faulty towers. I needed a hotel with a triple room and this was about the only hotel that could offer this for 3 adults. When we checked in we were given a double and single but reservation had confirmed 3 beds. When I complained I was told those rooms were taken by the wedding party but could put a mattress on the floor as the z bed was broken. The men arrived and created a bed out of two old bases piled on top of each other that dipped with a mattress. The corridors smelt of damp and the skirting in our room didn't meet the wall with large nails trying to keep it together. Whoever owns this has certainly sweated the assets and then some. The staff are brilliant one chap who seemed to take charge (not sure the manager) was excellent, they have fantastic staff considering the amount if complaints they must get. Basically it's pretty on the outside and a bit if a dump on the inside real shame could be such a fantastic hotel with a bit of investment

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had sit down meal for 46 and the day /night couldn't have gone any better. The size of the room, the wonferful laid out tables, the atmospheric bar and beautiful comfrobale seating, not to mentiion a meal that NOONE complaoned about - and only raved about - made my parents day and excetiponal one. The meal was the best value for money of anywhere i have ever been - ot was £20 per head and every thought we had paid at least £35 - that what I call value. It was hot and delicious and the teenagers were thrilled with their more than aqauate portions of chips and chicken nougets. Smashing !
The hotel allowed us sole access to the bar - so we had a party after the party !!, All in one a great occasion to remember. The staff just couldnt do enough for us. And there was no room charge either. I cannot say too much about this experience. One down side is the rooms needs refurbing on the basis only 2 rooms were booked this wasnt the end of the world. But for a local venue for a small party this has to be it

Room Tip: Didnt stay at the hotel - I think it offers everything if you want a venue for your party more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I honestly think that the price does accurately reflect the experience of this hotel. Yes the wallpaper is peeling off of the bedroom walls and the remote for the TV was missing, but the shower was good and hot and the staff were friendly and professional. The bed was comfortable and the food was good and hearty.

This hotel does need some urgent investment, but for what I paid I did not feel that this was unfair. With investment, this place could be great!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I would never stay at this hotel again. Broken window, broken lavatory and dirty. I sincerely recommend you stay elsewhere. I never write these reviews, but this was too much of a shocker to ignore. The whole place is tired and in desperate need of refurbishment. I operate the policy that on some occasions, a bed is all you need - in this case, I'm not even sure if you'd get a clean one. I honestly think it's the worst hotel I've ever been too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baskerhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Have just come home from a two night stay at the Plough and Harrow after attending a wedding. Have to say that I am a bit disappointed with this hotel as it has so much potential.
Don't get me wrong, it is not all bad, but it could do with some work.
We checked in on Friday 1st November. Staff were friendly enough on check in and gave us directions to our room. To say that it was a mission is a slight understatement. Although you do get to take a tour of the hotel in order to get to the rooms, even if you do not wish too. On the way to the room (we were in room 209) I heard a lady speaking to a staff member who stated that she had a disabled guest with her. The staff member stated that there was no disabled access to the rooms. However, if the guest was to go outside there was a service lift but they would still need to take a flight of stairs. Not great for guests in wheelchairs.

Once we got to the room the first thing I noticed when the door was opened was the smell of musk and damp. Paint was peeling away from the walls and the was mould on the walls. Also brown tape covering plug sockets within the room. Not the best first impression, which was a shame as the room itself was a good size. The bed was very comfortable and clean. There was plenty of storage space. In fact there were more cupboards in the room than you could ever use.

An iron and ironing board within the room was a nice touch, but unfortunately the first impression of the room kind of spoilt it really.

The wedding we attended went really well and I cannot fault the hotel for the ceremony and the happy couple really enjoyed themselves. However, the chicken was undercooked during the meal. But this could have just been mine so did not make a big deal of this.

The staff were hit and miss too. Some staff were excellent and went out of their way to help. However, some staff just seemed to go away! During the wedding the bar staff would quite often take a wander, not sure where they went. On one occasion a young bartender informed me that although he was the only staff member behind the bar, he could not serve us. He then went to find a member of staff, he returned 10 minutes later and stated he was still looking for a staff member. While he went off wandering the hotel owner in fact served us. Nice touch, I thought, that he would get his hands dirty so to speak.

All in all a mixed bag of feelings for this hotel. Has the potential to be really good I feel, with some TLC, a bit of modernisation, some better staff and this could be a winner.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor don't take quite as long to get to as you don't have to walk the entirety...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your kind comments re the wedding. I am sorry however that all was not correct in the room. I will speak with the maintenance team as brown tape is not acceptable. Thank you again for taking the time to write

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is not listed for restaurants which is a shame. Visited for Sunday lunch, we had not booked and the restaurant was fully booked, however the maitre d' asked if we would like lunch in the lounge. I am pleased to say that we did. We had a fantastic 3 course lunch with coffee. Waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive, the meats were cooked to perfection and even though we were not in the restaurant we were never ignored or forgotten...excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

What lovely comments and thank you very much for taking the time to write. I will pass them on to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
955 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £55 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 44 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with an elegant lounge bar, a separate "pub" with over 25 gins & cocktails which also shows BT Sports, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the lawn. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1/2 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing