We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plough and Harrow Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$144
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bloc Hotel Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$223
US$208
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$100
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$143
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$61
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$180
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
208
228
174
113
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
228
174
113
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurder mysterycadbury worldwedding venuehagley roadcity centrelounge areapublic areasstayed for one nighttolkienedgbaston
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Booked here for afternoon tea on a Saturday afternoon. When the booking was made i was advised there was a wedding on that day and that we may have to wait to which i agreed. However, i assumed it was because of staff shortages i was not advised that we would be in the same room as the wedding party (how awkward). The extremely rude lady on reception didn;t have the time of day for us and had left a note on the reception desk when i went to pay for the bill saying 'have had to leave the desk will be back soon'. The food was ok but well overpriced at £14.50 per head. Hotel nand in particular the toilets are in needs of some TLC as really shabby. Took my sister here whilst she was over visiting from the USA but really quite embarassing. Dont think i will be putting it at the top of my list of places to re visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently got married at the plough and harrow hotel.... It was an amazing day... The staff were really friendly and made us feel extra special, the food was excellent quality and there was plenty of it.
The room was spacious and quiet, there was a power cut in the night but this didn't affect our wedding and was soon sorted.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am really pleased you had a great day and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Came to the hotel for a course. I didnt stop overnight it was merely a day. But because I hadnt stopped there overnight the staff didnt seem in the slightest bit interested in showing good customer service! It was so much hassle getting me a coffee as id arrived about an hour early, the response of 1 member of staff when the next person asked for a coffee was "bloody hell dont you think ive got enough on on my own in there without looking after you lot", it was constant things like that all day, staff having digs at other staff in front of us, lovely hotel very very clean but the staff severely let the place down! the customer service training needs to be looked in to severely!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dawn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am sorry for to say your comments have left me a little confused as when we spoke on the phone your main complaint was the quality of the course you attended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A great night actors tried very hard to creat the scene even though a lot of people were talking.
Comfortable hotel,clean and roomy. We were a party of 11 and our rooms were good. The hotel is in need of some tlc but that didn't affect our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your kind comments regarding the Murder Mystery event. We do try and limit the numbers to ensure everyone has a great time. Hopefully we will see you again for one of our future events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

For a one night stay this place does exactly what you need it to.

Our room was quite a distance from the reception and a little tricky to find with a lack of 'arrows' pointing the way. The room itself was clean and suited it's purpose, some of the furniture looked a little worn and maybe could do with replacing.

We had a drink in the bar before going out for the evening, after 5 minutes of waiting we had to find someone to serve us.

The hotel was a short walk to Broad Street which was ideal for us.

The breakfast was among one of the best we have had from a hotel, only problem was the service was very slow and the toast was bought out straight away and so left to go cold.

The major annoyance for us was that we booked a room that was advertised as having free WiFi, however, the room we stayed in was so far away from reception that it could not get the WiFi signal and so we couldn't use it, this was stated on an information leaflet in our room but if we book a room that is advertised as having free WiFi then we expect to get a room with WiFi access. There was a connection provided for us in the room but this was not ideal when we had bought our mobiles/tablet along that are WiFi only.

Overall a pleasant hotel but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 130Traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your kind comments especially regarding the breakfast. I will pass them on to the team. I am sorry however for the mix up with the wifi. The public areas have wifi access, the bedrooms also have wifi when accessed using one of our portable routers. I am sorry if this was not made clear at check and will ensure we are clearer in future. Thank you again for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews