We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #89 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst working in Birmingham. This is a lovely little hotel - friendly helpful staff, nice breakfast with plenty of choice. Yes, some of the bedroom fittings and furniture had seen better days but the room I had was clean, there were nice toiletries and fluffy towels in the bathroom. The lounge, bar and restaurant are well decorated and furnished. I was made to feel very welcome and will definitely return when next in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank LandSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your lovely comments. Hopefully we will see you again the next time you are in Birmingham. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

We went for afternoon tea in December Which was very disappointing expecially for what we paid .After i complained They asked us to come back free of charge and show us what a good experience ii should be like .. This time the service to the food was excellent .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

I am very pleased you enjoyed your return visit and thank you for taking the time to write. Hopefully we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Overpriced, we were shoved in a corner, served cold, stewed coffee and forgotten about. I get the feeling we were considered "less important" than the wedding party which we were encroaching on, (the afternoon tea was served in the same room,) What a disappointment. Won't bother again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Booked here for afternoon tea on a Saturday afternoon. When the booking was made i was advised there was a wedding on that day and that we may have to wait to which i agreed. However, i assumed it was because of staff shortages i was not advised that we would be in the same room as the wedding party (how awkward). The extremely rude lady on reception didn;t have the time of day for us and had left a note on the reception desk when i went to pay for the bill saying 'have had to leave the desk will be back soon'. The food was ok but well overpriced at £14.50 per head. Hotel nand in particular the toilets are in needs of some TLC as really shabby. Took my sister here whilst she was over visiting from the USA but really quite embarassing. Dont think i will be putting it at the top of my list of places to re visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently got married at the plough and harrow hotel.... It was an amazing day... The staff were really friendly and made us feel extra special, the food was excellent quality and there was plenty of it.
The room was spacious and quiet, there was a power cut in the night but this didn't affect our wedding and was soon sorted.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am really pleased you had a great day and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Came to the hotel for a course. I didnt stop overnight it was merely a day. But because I hadnt stopped there overnight the staff didnt seem in the slightest bit interested in showing good customer service! It was so much hassle getting me a coffee as id arrived about an hour early, the response of 1 member of staff when the next person asked for a coffee was "bloody hell dont you think ive got enough on on my own in there without looking after you lot", it was constant things like that all day, staff having digs at other staff in front of us, lovely hotel very very clean but the staff severely let the place down! the customer service training needs to be looked in to severely!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dawn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am sorry for to say your comments have left me a little confused as when we spoke on the phone your main complaint was the quality of the course you attended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A great night actors tried very hard to creat the scene even though a lot of people were talking.
Comfortable hotel,clean and roomy. We were a party of 11 and our rooms were good. The hotel is in need of some tlc but that didn't affect our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your kind comments regarding the Murder Mystery event. We do try and limit the numbers to ensure everyone has a great time. Hopefully we will see you again for one of our future events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
University of Birmingham Conferences & events
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £49 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 44 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with an elegant lounge bar, a separate "pub" with over 25 gins & cocktails which also shows BT Sports, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the lawn. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1/2 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing