We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unusually warm-hearted hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #91 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 April 2014

There are two types of hotel guest as is evident from the reviews here. First, the executive, 'perfect world' type who thrives on bland uniformity, soulless staff and pre-packaged mass-produced food.
Then there are people like me who absolutely loathe leaving home, but cannot bear the modern corporate style of hotel and actually look for a human touch. That's what you get at the Plough and Harrow. In an old hotel things do occasionally go wrong - a heater might not work, or else something of a minor technical nature. Believe me, whatever time of the night it happens they will sort it out, and moreover they will do so with a smile.
The staff are all kind, interesting and genuine.
So, what you get is a place which is real - it's also clean, very comfortable, and the food is better than at places which are much more expensive.
When I go to Birmingham, I now won't stay anywhere else, and believe me I've stayed just about everywhere - including the so-called top hotel in the city at three times the price of the P&H. It's a slice of old England at a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk too far, get a room in the old block on the first floor, but the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnno51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, it is much appreciated and I will be very pleased to pass them on to the team. Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Recently stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed my stay. The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. Welcomed with a smile. Especially the reception staff that were working on 06/04 many thanks.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, although could do with a bit of an update.

Food is excellent and had the most perfectly steak on room service I have ever eaten.

Will return anytime. Again many thanks it means a lot when you are a woman travelling alone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write. It is greatly appreciated and I will pass them on to the team. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Service was excellent nothing too much trouble. Sandwiches were delicious especially the smoked salmon and cream cheese. The chocolate truffle was to die for as were the selection of cakes.will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

I am really pleased you had a good time and thank you for taking the time to write. Look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is not the first time my family has devided to use the PLough and Harrow for a function, and there is good reason. They will bend over backwards to accomodate your needs. The food is excellent and trust me I have some friends that are real 'foodies', food always consistent and excellent value for money. The staff cannot do enough, they are so pleasant and accomodating. The bar is atmospheric and warm and inviting - perfect for a get together ( on this occasion my 50th birthday) and they allowed is a singer and it was all unbeleivable - no one could not have had a good time. LAst year we has my parents 50th wedding anniversary - let me tell you what a ball this was. Fifiteen years prior I had my wedding reception there and the standards havent slipped. I know the rooms may leave something to be desired - but nothing else does !!!

Room Tip: Didnt stay - but if you need a venue for about 50 people this is the place in Brum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and for your kind comments. I will pass them on to the team. I am really pleased you had a great time and everyone enjoyed themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The website for this hotel looks great and we were expecting a really enjoyable stay. In fact, the website only shows you pictures of one part of the hotel. Most of the rooms are in a horrible block at the back which you walk down miles of corridors to reach. Our room was large (with huge amounts of storage space- why?) but very shabby and not clean. The wall paper was peeling in places, the paint had bubbled, there were random holes in the walls from previous fixtures and fittings, the carpet was stained, the woodwork was all scuffed, and the ironing board was burnt through. The bathroom light fitting had a dead insect in it and there was dust on the surfaces. We arrived late at night and didn't feel like trekking all the way back to reception to complain so tried to phone through. There was no answer, and I was put through to a voicemail which didn't work. The same happened when I tried to ring housekeeping. We gave up and went to bed (the bed, at least, was comfortable, although some extra blankets would have helped as the room was cold). In the morning I complained very politely to the lady on reception. At first she was really unhelpful and barely even apologised. Only when I persisted and said that I wasn't happy about paying the full price for the room given the unacceptable state it was in did she respond. She said that our room had been a special 'wedding price' and that she couldn't reduce it. I explained that we were nothing to do with the wedding taking place in the hotel and that we had booked normally and were very disappointed. She eventually reduced the bill from £70 to £50 which I accepted. She also asked me to leave a comments card for the general manager, which I did, but he or she never contacted me and I received no apology. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reviewer069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write. I am sorry your stay was not enjoyable and will take your comments up with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Only stayed for one night but it was a very enjoyable experience. A clean room with a very comfortable bed, a superb evening meal in the restaurant, a lovely breakfast and friendly obliging staff. Also, with the room at the back, it was very quiet - you'd hardly know you were so close to the city centre. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your very kind comments. I am pleased all was to your liking and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Mouldy bathroom and peeling wallpaper. A wedding reception was held directly below my room, all I could hear until 1am was blaring music and drunken idiots. I stayed in this hotel for business and when I complained to reception they just shrugged their shoulders. Appalling customer service! Do not stay here.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Nejai1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am sorry your stay was not an enjoyable one as your room was close to the wedding reception. That is our error as we generally put guests not associated with weddings in rooms away from the noise. I can only apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
615 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 118 in Birmingham
81 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £60 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 44 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with an elegant lounge bar, a separate "pub" with over 25 gins & cocktails which also shows BT Sports, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the lawn. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1/2 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing