We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“afternoon tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plough and Harrow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #85 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Afternoon Tea at The Plough and Harrow was a very enjoyable experience . Visited with my mom we paid £14.50 each and I must say that everything served to us was perfectly presented and tasted scrumptious. Unfortunately we were unable to eat everything as you are given so much choice, the scones were fresh from the oven and lovely and warm. the little dinky cheese cakes were probably the best I have tasted, the sandwiches are lovely and fresh with lots of choice it really was worth the money. I have seen discounts for afternoon tea at The Plough and Harrow which would be a real bargain and worth purchasing. The food and surroundings make this a nice experience but the added bonus of being served by really good staff who make you feel welcome make this a place you will no doubt wont to revisit . From the girl on reception to the lovely Bruno who served us nothing was too much trouble .I will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholsBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you ever so much for your comments, they are greatly appreciated and it will be my pleasure to pass them on to the team. Look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    201
    146
    99
    77
See reviews for
199
190
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We visited the Plough and harrow using an offer we bought off amazon local and were extremely happy with the service and hotel. The value for money over the two days we stayed was brilliant, including a delicious afternoon tea on the first day of our stay. All the food we had while we were there was fresh and well cooked including the buffet breakfast. Staff were very friendly and always quick to help with any queries or requests we had.
The rooms were cosy and clean, as were the other rooms of the hotel.
The only improvement I could maybe suggest is in the decor as it is a little outdated however I personally thought it gave the building character!

Overall very happy and we'd definitely visit again :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe876x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and for your lovely comments. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was the very best event I have ever had the pleasure to have, Sereen (events planner) was so helpful and couldn't do more for us. On the day Bruno, Magdalena and Aaron were awesome in-fact all the staff went above and beyond...I think the Chef is first class too the food was delicious and so well presented. Would I recommend this place YES,YES and YES...they are our number 1, the girls 18th was a talking point from all who attend and the service they received.
Thanks Plough and Harrow we will most definitely come back. 5*****

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Congratulations on your 18th and I am really pleased you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here twice and on both occasions Bruno welcomed us and treated us like family. Our first stay he was very attentive as was the waitress (never caught her name) we returned a few months later to be welcomed my Bruno again and he recognised us! Would recommend this place to anyone, maybe a little run down but staff certainly make up for it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystayingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am pleased all was well and will pass your comments on to Bruno and the rest of the team. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Last night we attended a Murder Mystery event at this hotel. What a great night! Nice hotel, top entertainment and a lovely meal, and very good value for money. The staff were very efficient, friendly and courteous (special thank you to Aaron and Bruno!) - we'll definitely be back for more!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed the Murder Mystery, they really are great fun. I will also pass on your comments to the team. Keep an eye out for other events we will be holding in the future including Faulty Towers, Father Ted and Comedy Waiters. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Called Easter Monday with friends on a Voucher deal.

Would rate as follows,

Reception - Welcome 10/10 Warm & Smiley.

Service 10/10 Bruno I think -- TOP MAN.

Food 10/10 EXCELLENT - Sandwiches - Cakes - Scones Could not eat it all.

GREAT VALUE.

Although the hotel ia a little tired this only adds to its charm - VERY COMFORTABLE.

Will be back Voucher or not.

PEOPLE OF BHAM GIVE IT A TRY>

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseskidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Than you ever so much for your lovely comments. I am really pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea and will pass on your comments to Bruno. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel was THE place to stay 30 years ago, so when my Husband and I had the opportunity to stay there we were quite excited. What a let down, once you got past the public lounge/bar area it was like being in another hotel. The bedrooms were shabby and tired, Chipped furniture and hard beds. Holes left in the walls where once a mirror or headboard was attached , no safe, no guest information regarding facilities etc., We requested another room and found it as shabby as the first one. At breakfast the following morning we were asked if we wanted a drink (I had to request they lay a place setting for my Husband) There was no breakfast menu and a small choice of food was available as a buffet i.e. scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, tomatoes and boiled mushrooms. I had to go and find the waitress to ask if we could have fried eggs, she said she would ask the chef. I had to find her again and ask if we could have toast. When she came with our coffee only two cups were poured and the pot taken away. Sorry, but in this day and age I expect better and certainly much better standards of service from the dining room - It is not rocket science, purely common sense. I would say that the staff on reception were very professional and friendly. Would we stay there again - absolutely not. It could be a wonderful hotel again with some tlc, so, come on Plough and Harrow, time to UP YOUR GAME !!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in Main house are no better than rooms in extention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodforthought60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write. I am sorry however that you were left disappointed
and will look further into the issues with Breakfast. I am happy however to report that we are going through a decorative program in the bedrooms so hopefully on your next visit you will see the improvements. Thank you again for taking the time to write
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Property: Plough and Harrow Hotel
Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing