We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Organisational mess” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plough and Harrow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #83 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Organisational mess”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

From the outside this place doesn't look half bad, if only we'd stayed at the outside! On going in we approached reception towards the two women manning it. They proceeded to initially ignore us before openly passing the buck as to which one could be bothered to check us in. Once we got the room key we went upstairs through the maze only to discover our room hadn't been cleaned, the bed was a mess, full bins etc. I went back down to reception for some more buck passing as apparently the cleaner said it was done, The receptionist then phoned round the cleaners only to get them passing the buck to each other (like I cared by this point). We finally got moved to another room, this one had furniture that was falling apart, doors looking like they were about to fall off and stains all on the desks and tables and a tv that worked when it felt like it. Also one of the pillows had some sort of brown stuff on it (I'd hate to think what that was). Once we got past all this there was the breakfast/no breakfast palaver. We were told we had one as it was not stated otherwise, then we didn't have it included with the room, then we did have it again, then in the morning it wasn't included again! All in all the place was a roaring shambles with nice enough, but poorly trained staff. I won't stay here again, but the two stars show that it isn't the worst place I've been! All in all if all you want is a bed this is fine, but if you're looking for nice rooms, a relaxing stay and good service, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amansomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write. I will look into your comments with the personnel concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    201
    146
    99
    77
See reviews for
199
190
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

So, I've now stayed in 3 hotels of a similar value on the hagley road. This is by far the nicest.

The room is a sensible size with the comfiest hotel bed I've experienced for a long time. The room has standard furniture and fittings so it's nothing remarkable. But it's clean. Actually properly clean. Not new, but they have cleaners who clean! I didn't even need to get the flash wipes out. It even smells nice. The communal areas are really quite plush. Baby grand piano and chesterfield sofas. Felt a bit grand.

On the flip side, we were put in a room about 3 miles from reception. It's a bit like the labrinth, just keeps going and going! But there were lovely sofas on the way to rest on. Staff crossed over the line into over attentive at breakfast. If I was offered coffee once I was offered a thousand times. But this is better than being ignored. Oh, and I'd asked for a teapot in the room (I like my tea from a pot) this wasn't provided but to down score for that would seem petty.

The location is brilliant. It's a really pleasant place to stay. Yep. I liked this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saraboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Than you very much for taking the time to write. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind comments to the Housekeeping team. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lovely good value hotel with very friendly staff and comfy beds. Well situated to enjoy the sights of Birmingham including cadbury world and Black Country village. Family room with 2 large adjoining rooms was Ideal giving the children their own space. Only improvement would be perhaps a tv in each room. Would definitely like to return for a bit longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I am very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for taking the time to write. Look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We organised a business conference here for a one day event with directors and speakers staying over the night before - but not me as I live in Birmingham. I joined them for dinner the night before and obviously was there the whiole of the following day. The hotel still has a certain ambience and the staff and service were brilliant, but it needs some tender loving care to bring it back up to the hotel I remember when organising events there before, Cupboard doors fell off in the conference room, afternoon tea was late arriving, and a few more minor things. However the guests who stayed over had no complaints about their rooms although some had a little way to walk. Wifi was slow in places.

Room Tip: The hotel has no lifts so travel light or ask for a porter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and for your kind comments. I am happy to confirm we have a decorative programe underway so hopefully you will see the difference on you next visit. I will look into the delay with the Afternoon Tea as that should not happen. Thank you again for writing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for one night in May 2014.
On arrival the receptionist was really helful and polite.
Our rooms were quite far away from the reception area and so it was a bit of a walk and with a few stairs too. The room however, was clean and comfortable and had iron, ironing board, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities.
The bathroom was clean and the shower was nice.
The hotel is located quite close (a ten minute walk) to other restaurants and bars.
We stayed for breakfast which was buffet style but plenty of good quality food.
The staff were constantly asking if you were ok and asking if you wanted more tea and coffee.
OVerall a really good stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEgge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you ever so much for your lovely comments and I am very pleased you had a nice stay. Look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Afternoon Tea at The Plough and Harrow was a very enjoyable experience . Visited with my mom we paid £14.50 each and I must say that everything served to us was perfectly presented and tasted scrumptious. Unfortunately we were unable to eat everything as you are given so much choice, the scones were fresh from the oven and lovely and warm. the little dinky cheese cakes were probably the best I have tasted, the sandwiches are lovely and fresh with lots of choice it really was worth the money. I have seen discounts for afternoon tea at The Plough and Harrow which would be a real bargain and worth purchasing. The food and surroundings make this a nice experience but the added bonus of being served by really good staff who make you feel welcome make this a place you will no doubt wont to revisit . From the girl on reception to the lovely Bruno who served us nothing was too much trouble .I will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholsBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you ever so much for your comments, they are greatly appreciated and it will be my pleasure to pass them on to the team. Look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We visited the Plough and harrow using an offer we bought off amazon local and were extremely happy with the service and hotel. The value for money over the two days we stayed was brilliant, including a delicious afternoon tea on the first day of our stay. All the food we had while we were there was fresh and well cooked including the buffet breakfast. Staff were very friendly and always quick to help with any queries or requests we had.
The rooms were cosy and clean, as were the other rooms of the hotel.
The only improvement I could maybe suggest is in the decor as it is a little outdated however I personally thought it gave the building character!

Overall very happy and we'd definitely visit again :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe876x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and for your lovely comments. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Property: Plough and Harrow Hotel
Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing