We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #88 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night whilst at a concert in Birmingham. Very friendly staff and great service especially when we wanted food after midnight. Free parking. Lovely breakfast. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was modern. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Antthegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
I am very pleased you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay. I hope the concert was good and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    212
    157
    105
    83
See reviews for
210
199
26
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Visited Plough and Harrow for Afternoon Tea with my partner with a 2 for 1 voucher. We was greeted by Bruno who throughout our time there ensured we were ok. There was a good choice of food all presented nicely on a plate. The food was fresh including warm scones. Couldn't fault any of it. Will defiantly visit again voucher or not.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I am very happy you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and hope you will come and enjoy one again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Although generally the bedrooms are very tired, the staff and service were excellent. There was no soap in room and only one hand towel for 2 of us which was strange. It seems they are trying to cut costs in some areas to their detriment.
Overall the stay was made into a good experience by the staff and food.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrStepDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and for your kind comments. I am pleased to say we have started a decorative program on the bedrooms so hopefully on your next visit you will see the difference. I think there was a mix up with the toiletries as there should be a hand towel for each guest. Thank you again and look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived home from afternoon tea at the plough and harrow, we chose to book here as we got married here last August and love he place so much! It really bought back so many happy memories, and afternoon tea was gorgeous!
The food was delicious! And the staff are brilliant, I have to say Bruno is a credit to this hotel, although he wasn't there when we got married he certainly made today beyond what we expected, and I can't speak highly enough of the food and atmosphere! Thank you plough and harrow for another lovely day :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I am so happy you came back and enjoyed your afternoon tea. I will pass on your comments and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived on Friday 23rd May to a room that was falling apart, poorly maintained but fairly clean. The room they had given us was also adjoining...all we could hear all night was the women next door talking very loudly and the room was right next to a busy road so neither myself or my partner got any sleep.
We complained the next day and were moved to a different room which was much better. Why are all the rooms not at the same standard?
Shockingly on the second night a man broke into our room at 3am whilst we were asleep and stole my partners wallet. If we hadn't heard him and woken he would have taken a lot more. The man who enetered had a room key as my partner heard someone using one at the door. My partner chased him away. We rang the emergency number on the hotel phone for assistance and no one answered. We then rang 999. When we eventually got through to the night porter at the hotel he seemed not too bothered that a stranger had entered our room...and with a key (inside job?). The duty manager was woken, he was a bit better and apologised. Needless to say my partner and I (also being 7 months pregnant), were petrified and are still in shock and upset now.
We left the room at 3.30am and waited downstairs in the hotel lounge until the police got there, we were offered another room but refused as we didn't feel safe.
The staff didnt seem to take it very seriously that someone had entered with a key and tried to make out we hadn't closed the door properly. Also they couldnt check the key card system to see who had entered our room/authorised the key card until their general manager returns from holiday and they didnt check the cctv straight away, leaving it until the police had left...this is then going to hold up the investigation and drags this ordeal out even longer for us.
I will be expecting a full refund. I am currently resting hoping that the shock doesnt send me into early labour.
Avoid this hotel...serious security issues and some incompetent staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HanT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

birmingham uk
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Fabulous evening. Venue was excellent and a welcoming service paved the way for the rest of the evening's entertainment. We dressed up to suit the theme and this proved worthwhile as it added to the fun element of the evening and was encouraged. The food was top notch, service impeccable. Staff were approachable & professional, particularly Bruno, Aaron and Carolina. We are from Birmingham and so know the Plough and Harrow from old. For us to give this evening a BIG tick means it is well deserved.

Room Tip: if we weren't so local then we would've stayed at the Plough and Harrow. It is convenient to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friendlyJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, General Manager at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write. I am very pleased you had a good time and hope to see you again at one of our future events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

From the outside this place doesn't look half bad, if only we'd stayed at the outside! On going in we approached reception towards the two women manning it. They proceeded to initially ignore us before openly passing the buck as to which one could be bothered to check us in. Once we got the room key we went upstairs through the maze only to discover our room hadn't been cleaned, the bed was a mess, full bins etc. I went back down to reception for some more buck passing as apparently the cleaner said it was done, The receptionist then phoned round the cleaners only to get them passing the buck to each other (like I cared by this point). We finally got moved to another room, this one had furniture that was falling apart, doors looking like they were about to fall off and stains all on the desks and tables and a tv that worked when it felt like it. Also one of the pillows had some sort of brown stuff on it (I'd hate to think what that was). Once we got past all this there was the breakfast/no breakfast palaver. We were told we had one as it was not stated otherwise, then we didn't have it included with the room, then we did have it again, then in the morning it wasn't included again! All in all the place was a roaring shambles with nice enough, but poorly trained staff. I won't stay here again, but the two stars show that it isn't the worst place I've been! All in all if all you want is a bed this is fine, but if you're looking for nice rooms, a relaxing stay and good service, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amansomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write. I will look into your comments with the personnel concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#75 of 117 in Birmingham
75 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
447 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Property: Plough and Harrow Hotel
Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing