We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelbird Cadbury World deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #91 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We wanted to go to Cadbury World and found a deal on Google for a night in the Plough and Harrow Hotel with a family room, afternoon tea, breakfast and a family ticket for Cadbury World for £89.

The hotel entrance and reception is lovely but our family room was quite a distance from the reception and restaurant. If you have any difficulty walking I'd make sure to ask for a room as close as possible to the entrance because our room was up some stairs, down a corridor, down some more stairs, round a corner and along another corridor!

The room itself was a disappointment. Our bed was really comfortable but the children had to sleep on a sofa bed, which is not what I'd expect from a family room normally (but the kids say it was comfy). One wall of the room was completely taken up by big brown cupboards, all of which were empty, except for one, which had extra pillows in.
The room hadn't been hovered properly. There were old crisps under the sofa bed.

In the en suite, there was a big puddle of water on the floor by the toilet and the sink leaked. Every time I turned the tap on my feet had a little shower! The shower was good though, nice and powerful.

The afternoon tea was basic but lovely. We didn't have it in the restaurant, but in the lounge area. Be prepared to pay for drinks for children if they don't like tea or coffee. The best part was the warm scones, with jam and cream, Delicious! There was no need for dinner that evening!

The hotel is very close to the centre of Birmingham. We had a lovely walk along the canal.

Breakfast was tasty. All the usual hotel breakfast items were available.

The hotel could do with some serious redecoration and modernising, but over all it was not a bad place to stay considering what we paid for the deal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Pixie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here as part of the cadbury world package and stayed an extra night. Room was adequate though at the other side of building in an adjoining block. Bit of a trek. Having read previous reviews about the decor I would agree and in our room carpet had definitely seen better days...probably when hotel was built. In the room there was Peeling wall paper and the wooden cupboards/wardrobe were falling apart. Our room was opposite an outside door that was open all the time so I suppose that is a bit of a security issue and we saw some extra probably uninvited guests (of the animal variety) in the out houses at the back. HOWEVER price with the cadbury deal..can't really complain. Places to eat nearby and a Morrisons too. The staff were friendly, afternoon tea (included in price) was delicious, beds were comfy and bathroom clean.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jessych01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again on future visite. Thank you for writing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed for one night on business in July. Hotel is in Birmingham City Centre, car parking is on site and included. Check in was quick and easy. The hotel Is a little dated but actually quite comfortable, the room was large in size and the bed was comfy, one thing I thought was strange was the fact that the hotel doesn't have Wi Fi as you would know it, you can rent a wireless router from reception for a £20 deposit or you have to plug in an Ethernet cable to the wall, I didn't have one with me but reception loaned me a cable, very helpful The location of this hotel is around a 10 minute walk from Birmingham city centre, so you have got Broad Street / The Bull Ring / Birmingham Library and the mail box all within walking distance. I eat in the restaurant and the food was really nice and well cooked. Service was great. Good nights sleep and breakfast was nice as well. Check out quick and easy. Would recommend if you are staying in Birmingham and want to be close to everything in the centre!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Holmezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your kind comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on future visits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a very comfortable stay here, with very friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Beautiful old inn with lovely Art Deco style furnishings but it is in great need of a refurb. Though I do understand there is a refurbishment program in progress. The food is great, although the waiter service rather slow. We had a fab family suite with adjoining rooms and the beds were very comfortable. It needs to be a bit cleaner though but we did point out these minor things to the management. But I must stress that the main thing is we were very happy about our stay and came away feeling happy and relaxed.

Room Tip: It is on a main road, which is very handy for local attractions but also a bit noisy for light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NandPMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you very much for your comments and hope to see you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

They didn't have the family room available that we had booked, we had to wait for an adjoining room, then halfway down the corridor we were chased after by the receptionist who said that that room was full and gave us a key for another room (family room this time!), lift didn't work, hand dryers didn't work, tv remote didn't work. Breakfast was nice but at different times they ran out of, orange juice, glasses, no sausages with bacon there, then sausages arrive then no bacon, then no beans, then no bowls, no brown sauce.... then no bread left, and then a colleague came out to the kitchen with a loaf of kingsmill in a bag! Then I got my cup of tea but the coffee didn't arrive. Ha Ha, we giggled, it was an ok stay and good value but god knows what was going on behind the scenes! Then on leaving the receptionist gave us a voucher for Cadbury world when it should have been the safari park, so we had to pay for the safari and get refund later when we had sorted the problem out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write although a little confused re the lift as we dont have a passenger lift. Re the Breakfast this is normally served plated but when very busy we will serve a buffet breakfast. As opposed to just putting out 100 sausages for example at 7am and leaving them there until 9 we prefer to put small amounts out and continually replenish as this way you are guaranteed a nice fresh breakfast as opposed to something that has been sitting there for 2 hours. Also a little confused re your comments about the tickets as we supply both and there would be no charge to you Thank you again for taking the time to write

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay which included an afternoon tea. First impressions when pulling in to car park very good, lovely old building with lots of character (plaque informed us that Tolkien stayed here too). Checking in simple, obvious evidence of a wedding about to occur. Mine field finding room through corridors and staircases which smelt fusty and that have seen better days but got there eventually.
Room spacious with adequate facilities ie tv, tea and coffee etc, good size bathroom all again seen better days but clean and spacious. Only real negative re room no air con and very warm and stuffy, asked reception for a fan which we got but were asked to keep secret lol.
Afternoon tea a real delight, served by an attentive spanish waiter, Bruno, have to say the tea was probably the best I have tasted for a long time and ample servings of sandwiches and finger cakes, the scones were most definitely home made and scrumptious.
Both nights wedding receptions were taking place and the music could be heard from our room which did not bother us as it stopped about 11.30ish.
Breakfast is buffet but again excellent quality with a good choice, staff very attentive asking if you require refills of hot drinks.
The position of the hotel is pretty good only a short walk into the city center with some shops along the way.
Overall, good value for money as long as you are not expecting refurbished interiors etc but the rooms and the dining areas are clean and well presented.
Would I stay again, yes I would.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ginettek14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your lovely comments, look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We (my wife, 9 year old daughter and I) stayed as part of a deal we got that included Cadbury's world. Rooms and building are very old (over 300 years old), so there is the odd creak here and there, but the building is full of character. Although old, they are very clean. We had adjoining rooms with internal door. Brilliant for families.

The girls in reception were helpful and friendly. They sorted us out swiftly and efficiently, although on check out she could have done with a hand, as phones were ringing and folks were checking out. This is a hotel that has tremendous potential and they have some fabulous offers on attracting visitors. If they do continue to expand their custom they must be careful to take on extra staff, so as a)not to wear down/disillusion current staff and b)inconvenience potential repeat travellers.

Bruno, bar manager/porter/waiter was brilliant. He has a great rapport with guests, takes time to get to know them and cannot do enough to help make your stay a comfortable one. I shared one of my drinks with him as I relaxed on one of the Chesterfields in the corridor, as he was being pulled from pillar to post. Grazi and good luck to Inter Milan this season.

Breakfast was really good. It was a simple buffet, cereals/fruit/juice and a basic but very pleasant fry up. The girls in here were very busy. At peak times, they could do with a bit of help. Management, instead of walking past, perhaps you could help out....

We had High Tea too. An array of sandwiches, cakes, scones with jam/cream and tea or coffee. Scones were warm - delicious and crunchy. mmmmm

We were in no rush, so strolled into the city centre in 20-25 minutes along Broad Street.

It's a pleasant enough walk. J.R. Tolkein supposedly stayed there many moons ago, along with Queen Elizabeth II.

Would I stay there again? Yes, especially if I got as good a deal as I did this time.

Room Tip: Wifi is hit and miss in some rooms. If it's important, ask for one close to reception for a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank damian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, General Manager at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you ever so much for your lovely comments, I will pass them on to the team and hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
623 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £59 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 44 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with an elegant lounge bar, a separate "pub" with over 25 gins & cocktails which also shows BT Sports, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the lawn. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1/2 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing