We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Birmingham Marriott Hotel for one night, being guests at the wedding of two good friend of ours.
Upon our arrival the staff could not help us enough. Both being disabled, the hotel staff helped us into the hotel via a stair lift and our case was quickly taken to our room. The room was spacious in a clean condition.
The food was excellent , being served hot and in an efficient way. The hotel itself was an ideal venue for a wedding and reception, and again, it has been arranged to the satisfaction of the bride and groom. It was a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanny653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    357
    144
    44
    29
See reviews for
149
232
44
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Fantastic hotel with great swimming pool, Room, Food and staff. I could not fault my stay, reception staff are more than excellent checking you are ok as you pass if they are not busy. I normally stay at Hilton Hotels but this hotel and staff have changed my mind and I will now always consider Marriott as my first choice when travelling throughout the U.K. and world.

Room Tip: High Floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinA244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here to watch cricket at Edgebaston and were very impressed. All the staff were very genuine, courteous and nothing was too much trouble. The room was ready and clean, the staff in the bar and restaurant were very helpful and attentive. The food was actually extremely good and well presented. We had great delight in vising the spa and pool on several occasions for a truly relaxing stay. The thing that we noted most was the attention to detail designed to give the guest everything they could want - somebody has thought of everything! It is honestly very hard to find fault with anything here. Very impressed and would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Had top floor exec room very nice air con good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barmynotarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed one night at the Birmingham Marriott for a weekend away in the surrounding areas and relaxation in the spa.

The immediate surroundings of the Marriott are almost obscene - set against the concrete of the five ways roundabout, certainly not a residential area. The building itself however is a beautiful period style, almost like it had been picked up straight from London's Mayfair. Location isn't a problem at all, but you are not right in the centre of the action here, although in terms of value this is actually a good aspect. The centre of town is an easy 25 minute walk away, or three minutes to Birmingham New Street on the train from nearby Four Ways train station.

The entirety of the interior has recently been refurbished and very much does the building justice, very much luxury throughout. The rooms themselves had something particularly special about them, very large and comfortable, but they almost felt like they could possibly be your own, it lacked the typical 'hotel' feel somehow - and that was certainly a bonus in times when hotels are build to a standard template, every one seems to be the same.

The spa was one of the main attractions for us, and we had a treatment included in the room rate. The spa area is in the basement, facilities include swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room, and gym - all of which are included in the standard room rate. Various massages and other treatments are also available. It is a great plus to be able to go down for a quick swim, especially after a tiring day amongst the Birmingham crowds.

Breakfast was included in our rate, and it was fantastic. I can honestly say that this has been the best 'full English' breakfast that I have had in a hotel for some time. Served buffet style, the quality was fantastic, the staff will also be happy to bring you a big jug of coffee too.

Overall a fantastic choice in Birmingham, close enough to the centre but far enough to make it terrific value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The Marriott is located at the edge of Birmingham but within walking distance of the city (15-20 minutes). Check-in staff were very friendly and we were able to get a room at 10am already. A nice start to our stay.
The room was spacious, the bathroom large, sleep quality was high. We were concerned about the room facing the back road, but windows are very well isolated.
Breakfast was good and choice of food was ample.
Gym and pool are small but well equiped and all you need for a short stay.
Overall a very good choice for an extended week-end.
Parking at £10 a day and the absence of (free) Wi-Fi in the room are the only negative points.

Birmingham is a surprising city. A boat trip or a walk along the canal, a good meal in The Mailbox, shopping in the centre, Museums, historical buildings....Birmingham has a lot to offer that you might not expect. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 109 is a corner room and slightly larger than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliviauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have just returned from a one night stay for my birthday.I haven't been well lately and my husband drives hundreds of miled every week with his job,so we wanted somewhere nice for an overnight treat for my birthday,not too far from home.Our 16 year old daughter was with us,so I booked two superior,adjoining rooms and we were impressed with the spaciousness and the elegant appointments.Plus points were very comfortable,King sized beds with multiple pillows of varying types and lovely light,summer weight duvet,large bathroom with excellent shower,bath and attractive vanity unit.Plenty of good quality towels and robes with complimentary slippers.Everything on hand that you would expect from a four star......spacious mirrored wardrobe,plenty of hangers,ironing board and iron,safe,tea & coffee making and mini bar ( which you have to ask to be stocked).Complimentary mineral water at the bedside.
Minuses would be,very noisy air con that,despite a warm night,we had to turn off in order to sleep and we had to pay extra for overnight parking and wi-fi.£10 each,which given the cost of our upgraded rooms,I think should have been included.
Elegant and well appointed bar and restaurant,and very good buffet breakfast with absolutely everything that you could want.......the usual cereals,cooked items,but unusual extras like smoked salmon,cream cheese,bagels,cooked meats,cheeses and honey.Fresh fruit,yoghurts and pastries were lovely,and you could order pancakes and healthy option choices too.
The staff were pleasant,helpful but not overbearing.We walked into the city centre in the evening to eat at one of the huge choice of restaurants.
All in all,a hotel that 'does what it says on the can' No huge surprises,but everything you would want/expect.
Oh,and I nearly forgot to mention the health club facilities.Small but quite adequate pool,jacuzzi and steam room and gym.All of which we used on our arrival and thoroughly enjoyed.Very clean throughout and everything 'worked'

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This hotel is up to the usual good Marriott standard.Location is about 15 minutes walking to the city centre on the edge of a leafy area named Edgebaston.Rooms are comfortable and airconditioned.Bathrooms are spacious and well appointed.The breakfastbuffet was delicious.Over the last 20 years the city has been reinventing itself.We were pleasantly surprised.Do not miss the Botanical Gardens,they are sublime.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbamiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,983 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Park Regis Birmingham
Park Regis Birmingham
#16 of 117 in Birmingham
609 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Property: Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Address: 12 Hagley Road | Five Ways, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birmingham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Marriott Hotel demonstrates the four-star reputation through responsive service and comfortable accommodations. All guest rooms have been luxuriously appointed with essential amenities while stationed in the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Birmingham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham
Birmingham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing