We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older property, but good service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
powell
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Older property, but good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Location is ok- about 10 minute walk to canal area with lots of restaurants and pubs.
Check-in/out can be a little slow, but most of the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Lobby is a bit dated and small, rooms are decent size. Beds are a bit firm but large and comfortable. Biggest complaint- couldn't get cold water from the bathroom faucet- pipes run next to the warm air for heating the rooms.
The breakfast was very good, lunch/tea service decent. The bartenders are very friendly.
The workout room is decent with free weights and cardio machines and a pool/hot tub area next to the spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank global5000pilotohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    340
    136
    40
    28
See reviews for
139
221
40
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coggeshall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Normally the Marriott hotels are on a similar standard - not cheap but of a reasonable nature. However my 2 night stay at the Birmingham Marriott was below expectation. Firstly I ordered a newspaper for each morning which failed to arrive and on asking on Tuesday morning for a copy of the Times for that day via reception was given the issue from the previous day! On entering the breakfast area I asked if the hotel had any current newspapers but this was greeted but a shrug of the shoulders and no attempt made to either ask or look for any.
Last evening I decoded to eat in the restaurant and ordered the 'surf and turf' at £19.50. Although requested as medium rare the steak arrived well done and congealed to the plate via some garlic glop. Atop the fore mentioned cremated cow sat 2 prawns looking decidedly worse for wear and resembling something out of a crustacean 'Saw' movie - not impressed. To add insult an unstocked mini bar (albeit with a note pinned inside to ring reception if you want it stocked) made the Hotel seem a relic of the late 80's rather than the standard expected of a Marriott sited in the centre of Brum.

Room Tip: I would suggest given this Marriott a miss and staying somewhere else in Hagley road - I have stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed there for a night only, but really enjoyed my stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location is pretty central, so you can walk to the centre easily. Not to mention the building, it's very nice. The room was very spaceous and clean. Prices are acceptable and good value for money. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank just_travelling_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I didn't have high hopes, but equally it's a Marriott, so should be of a certain standard.
It wasn't!
Or rather, it was of a standard, just not a very good one.
1st Impressions, nice lobby, staff pleasant, free hot chocolate, (I thought that was a nice touch)
Room, dated but didn't look shabby, but when I started to put my clothes away, top shelf in cupboard thick with dust, not very pleasant. Then there was a disgusting, (I kid you not) electric radiator in the room, which judging by its appearance must never have been last cleaned. (You know those programmes where people hoard stuff, and social services have to go in to clean up, and they find petrified pets, it looked as if the radiator had came from one of those people!) Anyway I digress, I did wonder what the radiator was doing in my room, (Deluxe, by the way) but soon discovered it was because the heating / aircon didn't work, great, nice of them to tell me. Not the best way to warm the room, made it v stuffy and heady.
I did complain about the heating / lack of aircon, I was offered a £10 reduction, which was then upped to £20, no apology, and I thought that was quite poor.
Other aspects that annoyed me;
Often no answer when rang down.
Wifi, nightmare, could log on with one device, but near impossible if you had another device, iPad, phone etc.
No Coke, No Sprite, (that's a personal bugbare of mine!)
Mini Bar Empty
Internet Charge £15
Not a particularly good location.
Food not great.
Was going to have an omelette over breakfast, but was put off by the poor gentleman who was making them, sweating profusely. (Not his fault, he was crammed behind a small table with about 1 foot of space, and three hot burners)

On the upside;
Carpark is good, well goodish, it's actually part of the hotel, unlike other 4* hotel carparks in Birmingham, but does cost around £12.
Good spread for breakfast,
They also have a gym, and small pool which is nice to have.

All in all, hotel is fine, but I would stay only if price was good / nothing better available.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying more for an upgraded room, not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1,012 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. I arrived in the evening and the car park was overflowing, however a member of staff came to my assistance and offered to park my car, as soon as another staff member left for the evening. I found the room to be large, clean and comfortable. I was assisted with directions to an area of restaurants nearby (Brindley Place) where I found plenty of choices to eat on the edge of the canal.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sdwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

My first welcome was at the steps where I was helped with my bags and shown to reception. Check-in was also a good experience and I was happy that I had arrived at an another warm and friendly Marriott.
I have stayed previously, although it was a few years ago, but I did remember that I had enjoyed a very pleasant stay.
My room was spacious, well fitted and as usual got a great nights sleep in a comfy Marriott bed!
I enjoyed breakfast where a chef was on hand to cook an omelette to order and engage in friendly conversation.
On departure I was once again helped with my bags and then helped with directions to walk to Broad Street.
I was on business in Birmingham and this ticked all the boxes for a relaxing and pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janester68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

A pleasant stay, overall a food experience. Spent two nights while in birmingham. Got to see the bull ring
Mall while i was there. I woudnt mind comming here for a stay again when i m around. But i m sure people like to try new things in time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kumar579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Property: Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Address: 12 Hagley Road | Five Ways, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#38 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birmingham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Marriott Hotel demonstrates the four-star reputation through responsive service and comfortable accommodations. All guest rooms have been luxuriously appointed with essential amenities while stationed in the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Birmingham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham
Birmingham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing