We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Wolverha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good service”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Very good when arrived the service was excellent till the time I left the food very good value for money the room could not fault it thank u Marriott hotel for a lovely weekend can't wait to come again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    351
    143
    44
    29
See reviews for
147
228
42
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

As far as city centre hotels in Birmingham go, the Marriott has be be up with top two or three. The location is good, close to the city centre but not subject to crowds outside.
An aged ambiance and a feel of quality with great, spacious bedrooms rooms, contemporary bar and public areas. Great breakfast selection, small keep fit studio, onsite parking (chargeable) everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel, but, Wifi chargeable on an hourly or daily rate - not quite what you expect in 2013 - I can get free wifi in my bank!!! Not sure where Marriott are going in charging guests for internet access, even budget hotels offer free access nowadays, maybe guests on business can use and charge it to their expenses, not sure I would be happy signing off my staff's expenses for hotel wifi acess !!!
Still one hotel I am happy to use and know will maintain a good standard. Maybe Sky Sports on bedroom TV - something for the guys to watch while waiting for the 'other half to get ready to go out'

Room Tip: Never had a bad room - just the usual 'not too close to the lift lobby'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamPondhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Had a lovely one night stay here in December - well, anyone who loves Christmas can't not visit Birmingham's Christmas Market can they, and it's at its best in the evening, so staying overnight just had to be done!

This hotel is slightly further out than some others, but it only took us 10 minutes or so to reach the Symphony Hall and that's the start of the fairground and market, so ideal.

The hotel has its own car park, for which there is a fee (fairly standard price for a city hotel) and the building itself has a lot of character. The room was a very good size (no view, but then I wasn't visiting for the view!) and very comfortable. We enjoyed a couple of hours in the hotel bar which was very pleasant and reasonably priced and the indoor pool and spa area was also very good. All in all, what I would expect from a Marriott Hotel of this standard.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and they helped to make this an excellent visit. Will I be back? Does Birmingham have a Christmas Market every year?!!!!! Yes, I will and I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the city.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stenolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

If you’re staying in Birmingham and Granny’s not putting you up, then you’re probably there on business, as we were, and thanks to the glorious Internet and its many deals there really is no need to compromise on your hotel if you’re willing to spend some time searching and are prepared to book in advance.

The great thing about four star hotels is that you feel good walking in and “belonging”, being greeted by someone in a tie even if it’s a lady, and knowing that the bed will be big and soft and warm. And so it was at the Marriott. We like our home comforts, but we’re not rich or (therefore) extravagant and don’t travel around in taxis, and it would be great if hotels, especially those establishments on stark, concrete ring roads, gave realistic “How to Get Here” information. For example, the website tells you how to get there if you’re driving – well, sort of – but fails to mention that Five Ways railway station, one stop from Birmingham New Street, is just down the road, and a host of bus routes (including 1, 22, 23, 24, 29 and 29A) all stop right outside. Don’t Marriott guests use buses?

Our room was gorgeous, the bed was huge, the shower was hot and powerful and the TV filled a wall, all important to us (except, perhaps, the TV). The tea and coffee was plentiful and, quite honestly, we could ask for no more in a basic four star hotel room – and that’s not a contradiction. We neither ordered nor expected a Jacuzzi suite. There is a pool in the hotel, by the way, which we used. It was nice to have a swim in February, but it’s nothing special.

Another nice touch is the noon checkout time. We had work to do and it was great to be able to stay put and get on with it. There was, however, a hidden trap, which brings me to the reason for the title of this review. On Morning 1 we were up early, went down to breakfast and luxuriated in the fresh coffee and croissants, buffet food and omelette chef awaiting and satisfying our every whim. Replete, we headed out to the NEC in good spirits.

On Morning 2, however, we were up later and had work to do before breakfasting, urged on by what we knew awaited us. But no! Despite the advertised breakfast hours of 7am to 11am everything was cleared away at 9.30am. There was no mistake in the timings and we were informed that they were perfectly happy to prepare breakfast for us and that it would be fresh and hot. The result was unbelievably, don’t care poor and unattractive, swimming around in oil - and we wished that Granny had put us up after all. We expect more from a Marriott.

Despite the breakfast disaster, we really liked the Marriott and will return if they’ll have us.

However, I have one more pet hate for just about all hotels, grand four star places in particular: the in-room information.

There was, of course, a comprehensive guide available, offering advice and information on all kinds of things: the nearest place of worship, what to do if you require ice – an ice bucket was to be found in the cupboard next to the switched off fridge. (Ice is provided by the front desk tie person, who would send someone up to the room with your ice, presumably cupped in their hands because you already have the bucket. Perhaps they have an ice bucket exchange programme.) There is also information about the local attractions, Warwick Castle, for example. I think, if we intended to visit Warwick Castle we would stay in Warwick and research it I advance rather than being surprised to find that it exists whilst searching for the instructions to turn on the fridge/kettle/TV/lights.

I digress. What peeves me about this information is that they completely and utterly miss just about everything you really need to know. Here are some examples: there’s a Morrison’s supermarket right next door and there’s a Tesco Metro across the road, so you can buy a large bottle of water and an emergency Mars Bar late into the night. The hotel may be situated on a desolate, concrete roundabout, but literally within 5 minutes walk or 2 minute bus ride on any of the previously mention routes, is Birmingham’s main entertainment area. The City’s 2nd best Indian restaurant (Pushkar - also reviewed) and a brilliant Brazilian restaurant, plus lots more goodies including a Wetherspoons pub. After a hard day at the NEC (which doesn’t exist in the hotel’s information tome even though 90% of their guests are in Birmingham to go there) you need this information – and the phone number of the nearest pizza takeaway would help too. Too low brow for a four star hotel? Possibly, but a list of local establishments need not include the Subway store across the road!

Will we stay there again? Hopefully. It’s a great hotel, but we’ll make sure we get up early for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackinKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Won a spa day and enjoyed it! Great facilities. Humble and functional gym. Everything was clean and well maintained. Good location near bars, pubs and clubs. Good service. Loved the interior. Would return and would love to stay sometime.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank honestsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a good hotel, with comfortable rooms, reasonable priced food (although the standard varies a bit - I have had nice meals here, but others have disappointed), friendly staff, and a gym, pool, steam room and large jacussi. The gym equipment is not the most up to date and there is not that much of it, but the pool etc is very pleasant, and bigger than many hotel pools. It's a bit out of the city centre, but if you are working at that end of town, then it's fine.

It's about 10 minutes walk to the Brindley Place area with lots of good restaurants. The ICC and symphony hall are a couple of minutes further.

I have stayed here 4 times recently on business and would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: I have stayed in 4 differnt rooms and although they are all slightly different, they are all a simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastYorksAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
173 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Let me give you the context here. I regularly stay in Marriotts to collect free points for free stays in nice places like Cayman Islands. so they are my default brand. However some of them are becoming very poor. Why do I not like this this one?
Poorly signposted. Difficult to find
Charge for parking when there is no other option
Charge for wifi
Awful reception staff and experience
average to poor room that was cold
Expensive and average food.
In short nothing to recommend this hotel.
Breakfast looked like it had been cooked a good 24 hours before.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,921 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
972 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Property: Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Address: 12 Hagley Road | Five Ways, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birmingham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Marriott Hotel demonstrates the four-star reputation through responsive service and comfortable accommodations. All guest rooms have been luxuriously appointed with essential amenities while stationed in the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birmingham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham
Birmingham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing