We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel if going for a night out in Birmingham.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Severn Stoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel if going for a night out in Birmingham.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I stayed here as part of a hen weekend, although I had single occupancy in a double room. We didn't eat at the hotel at all or use the pool (I did have a sneaky look), but only because we weren't staying long enough and had plans in the city.

The time I did spend in the room to shower, get ready for the night out and sleep was very pleasant, comfortable and met all requirements. Check-in was easy, the room was clean and spacious and I would not hesitate to stay here again for easy access to bars / restaurants and a passing visit in to Birmingham.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuaRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    343
    138
    43
    28
See reviews for
143
225
40
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

That's what you get at the Marriott - consistency. We needed a good hotel in Birmingham for a night, following a meal out with relatives. Our requirements were a hotel that was located centrally, quiet, clean, comfortable with polite and efficient staff. The Marriott met these requirements fully. Despite it being a very busy Saturday night, with both a wedding and a 50th wedding anniversary party to deal with, the staff were unruffled and as efficient as ever. The heavy snowfall had, however, caused havoc in the car park with the concierge overloaded with having to deal with dippy drivers, who abandoned their cars in the most inconsiderate of places and requests for Taxis (as no one wanted to walk anywhere).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I have stayed here several times and it is a good Marriott city hotel. As with all Marriott hotels the beds are extremely comfortable and have very good quality bed linen and pillows which guarantee a good nights sleep.

Staff are usually very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is of a good standard and hotel well maintained.

Couple of negatives during my last stay is paying for wi-fi which everyone complains about and in all honesty hotels should include it now as standard as it can only cost them very little and I had 'Do not disturb' on my door and the cleaner came in my room at 9 am whilst i was in the bathroom which I think is unacceptable and it also happened to my friend who was also staying there by the same cleaner!.

Would not put me off staying here and are there again next week!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is the second time we've stopped here on an overnight journey home. It is a lovely hotel, rooms comfortable and clean. The staff are 5star, of course I must admitt I have come to expect that from Marriott. I would only say that we were late down for breakfast, we were so comfortable that we overslept, and the food was only moderately warm. Of course we could have asked for fresh but we were very late. The service from the maitre d' was not good at all. However I must stress that this did not match all the other good service we received. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Parking is at an extra cost if you take a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Very good when arrived the service was excellent till the time I left the food very good value for money the room could not fault it thank u Marriott hotel for a lovely weekend can't wait to come again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

As far as city centre hotels in Birmingham go, the Marriott has be be up with top two or three. The location is good, close to the city centre but not subject to crowds outside.
An aged ambiance and a feel of quality with great, spacious bedrooms rooms, contemporary bar and public areas. Great breakfast selection, small keep fit studio, onsite parking (chargeable) everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel, but, Wifi chargeable on an hourly or daily rate - not quite what you expect in 2013 - I can get free wifi in my bank!!! Not sure where Marriott are going in charging guests for internet access, even budget hotels offer free access nowadays, maybe guests on business can use and charge it to their expenses, not sure I would be happy signing off my staff's expenses for hotel wifi acess !!!
Still one hotel I am happy to use and know will maintain a good standard. Maybe Sky Sports on bedroom TV - something for the guys to watch while waiting for the 'other half to get ready to go out'

Room Tip: Never had a bad room - just the usual 'not too close to the lift lobby'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamPondhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Had a lovely one night stay here in December - well, anyone who loves Christmas can't not visit Birmingham's Christmas Market can they, and it's at its best in the evening, so staying overnight just had to be done!

This hotel is slightly further out than some others, but it only took us 10 minutes or so to reach the Symphony Hall and that's the start of the fairground and market, so ideal.

The hotel has its own car park, for which there is a fee (fairly standard price for a city hotel) and the building itself has a lot of character. The room was a very good size (no view, but then I wasn't visiting for the view!) and very comfortable. We enjoyed a couple of hours in the hotel bar which was very pleasant and reasonably priced and the indoor pool and spa area was also very good. All in all, what I would expect from a Marriott Hotel of this standard.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and they helped to make this an excellent visit. Will I be back? Does Birmingham have a Christmas Market every year?!!!!! Yes, I will and I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the city.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stenolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Property: Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Address: 12 Hagley Road | Five Ways, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birmingham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Marriott Hotel demonstrates the four-star reputation through responsive service and comfortable accommodations. All guest rooms have been luxuriously appointed with essential amenities while stationed in the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birmingham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham
Birmingham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing