We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one Saturday night bank holiday special deal which included breakfast. Our room was spacious very clean and the bed was huge, staff are very friendly Des the Concierge is very helpfull if you need any info on places to eat and drink etc. The Hotel is only a 5 min walk to Broad street using the under pass. Really liked this Hotel would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wadokia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    343
    138
    43
    28
See reviews for
143
225
40
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I have only stayed here on business but have done so now 4 times (and will do more). Car park out front always seems to have spaces and hotel is clean and fairly quiet (perhaps surprising given it is right by a key intersection in the centre of the city). Is walking distance to many good restaurants and bars down onto Broad Street (starts approx 500 yards away) so you don't have to eat/socialise in the hotel if you don't want to (although bar and restaurant are OK if you do wish to). Some of the rooms aren't overly large but more than adequate for a business hotel which seems to be its key clientele from my visits. Staff always efficient and friendly. Breakfast not the best I have ever had - but more than adequate. This was where President Clinton stayed when the G8 was in Birmingham in 1998 - so can't be all that bad (and has been decorated at least once since then!)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

from check in to departure every thing was perfect.. fast check-in happy, freindly staff and a clean comfortable room..as always marriott staff can not do enough to help and make your stay a pleasure......this is the third time we have stayed at the birmingham marriott and the staff always remenber our names. the indan lady in the bar is exceptional at her job, remembering little things we like and drinks we had the night before, it made our stay very personable and you easy forget you are staying with a world wide chain...... i would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: corner rooms are best as very light and airy.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed here for several weeks whilst studying and it genuinely felt like my second home. The staff are so welcoming from the minute you pull into the car park they know their jobs well and nothing is too much trouble for them they genuinely do want to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. The food is lovely the rooms are spacious and comfortable with no outside noise to be heard even though it is on one of the busiest roads I know! It is close to the Bull Ring, train station, lovely restaurants its a great hotel i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed at the Marriot hotel on a Saturday night as part of a large group.
The hotel is situated right next to the Five Ways Island in Birmingham. Despite being in a busy area, I heard no noise from outside during my stay.

The reception area is lovely and big. The staff were very friendly upon arrival, and all throughout our stay.

The décor in the corridors and rooms is a little dated, but it doesn’t take away just how lovely our room was. Yes, the pea green carpet wasn’t exactly the nicest of colours, but the room more than made up for it. We had a twin room and it was huge! 3 massive windows, a mirrored wardrobe, Iron, Ironing board, Safe, Hairdryer, TV, Fridge, Kettle, plenty of tea coffee + biscuits.

The bathroom was large and absolutely spotless. We had plenty of towels, shampoo, body lotion etc and a lovely warm towel rack!

The room had a really cosy and warm feel to it, despite being so big. It is the nicest hotel room I have stayed in.

The Spa is situated downstairs and we made use of this for a couple of hours. It was nice and relaxing with a heated pool, Jacuzzi and large steam room. You are given separate towels for the spa to save taking any from your room. There are also lockers and changing rooms so you can change down there.

Breakfast was amazing! There was so much choice. A full English was available, bread, pastrys, cheeses, meats, fruits, yoghurt and if you fancied a pancake there was a man on hand to make you one. Absolutely brilliant. The service was excellent.

The only problem I had at this hotel was the heating / aircon. There was a fault during the night and the room was being filled with warm air! We couldn't change it to cold because of this fault and so it was a little difficult sleeping. Apparently this was in all the rooms on our floor at least. Hopefully this was just a one off technical error!

There is a Morrisons superstore right next door to the hotel which is handy. Broad Street is a short walk away and you can get a taxi or walk to the Mailbox down the road where you’ll find lots of nice restaurants and bars. Birmingham centre is only about a 10-15 minute walk.

We paid £60 per person. I think that’s a good price for what you get at this hotel. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphiella87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We spent one night in a king room at the Marriott, Birmingham. Our room was clean, well furnished, and a corner room with three windows. The king mattress, while comfortable, was not up to Marriott's high standards. The bathroom was clean and updated. It had a tub, shower, combination. A separate shower would have been appreciated.

Because of our Marriott Elite status, internet (not Wi-Fi) was at no charge. Otherwise, it would have Ben an obscene 15 GBP. Breakfast, which was excellent, was also included. Otherwise, it too, is quite pricey.

Having said all this, our stay was excellent due mainly to the extraordinary staff. They knew their jobs, performed flawlessly, and, most importantly, seemed genuinely interested in doing whatever they could to make our stay pleasant.

The location is near city centre and a few minutes walk from Brindleyplace, an entertainment area with at least 20 restaurants in a variety of price ranges. Tesco and Morrison's supermarkets are both within a five minute walk of the hotel, as well.

I look forward to staying here again and would gladly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JetravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Having stayed here several times before, The Marriott is being redecorated and has responded to local pressure by improvements in service as well. The bar service , which was previously sluggish and you were lucky to get a sandwich within the hour , now appears to be efficient. Breakfast is much improved with the presence of an egg chef. Rooms have always been comfortable,if dated , are having a lick of paint and currently on some floors there is a smell of paint but it will be worth the wait.

Room Tip: Tip ask for a room on the non-Morrisons side of the building as security lighting and the car park i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Property: Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Address: 12 Hagley Road | Five Ways, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birmingham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Marriott Hotel demonstrates the four-star reputation through responsive service and comfortable accommodations. All guest rooms have been luxuriously appointed with essential amenities while stationed in the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birmingham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham
Birmingham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing