We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Worcester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One night excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

In town for "Strictly" roadshow so wanted somewhere near to walk to the NIA, restaurants and shops. This Marriott is ideal, 10 minutes away from those venues but near enough to be handy. Right on Five Ways, car noise kept to a minimum by double glazing. Great room, excellent staff.
rather crowded and hurried breakfast room. Small car park.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    343
    138
    43
    28
See reviews for
144
225
40
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The good
Congrats to house keeping team who prepared an immaculately clean room and ensuite.

The bad
We couldn't stay longer.

The ugly.
None.

What the boss needs to know.
Staff who went the extra mile - DES for sorting out our car parking and SIMRAN for understanding what customer service really means, truely outstanding. These two people alone would make us book again.

Room Tip: Level 5 for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Marriott Hotels are the best hotels around the world but the comfort and services I got in Birmingham Marriott Hotel is worthy to be appreciated more than any other hotel in the world.The rooms were clean and outstanding as well. I am happy to review it 5 star on my list.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanCachola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I was attending a conference at Birmingham University's Edgbaston campus and stayed here for one night. The arrival welcome was very friendly and succinct. I ran into a member of staff as I exited the lift and he helpfully directed me to my room. The front desk dealt very politely with the fact that I pitched up in reception in my PJs having locked myself out of my room when putting my dinner tray outside! Apparently, this is not an uncommon occurrence - the fire doors have a hefty swing on them. My room was lovely and spacious and, unlike many hotel chains, Marriott had not seen fit to stuff it full of lots and lots of furniture. As a business traveller I have four regular gripes. The first is that the desk and chair provided for the use of of the business person hoping to catch up on emails are usually not fit for purpose. Most frequently, as here, the office chair won't rise to the level that makes typing comfortable. That's where the usual surfeit of pillow/cushion supply comes in useful. My second is my immense frustration that what is clearly intended as a business hotel then charges guests extra for wifi especially, as here, when the public wifi is free to those on the ground floor. My third gripe is the lack of sockets beside the bedside for those, like me, who have my alarm set on my iPhone and who want to listen to a bit of music before I go to bed whilst, at the same time, leaving my phone to charge overnight. This Marriott room had no bedside sockets. My final gripe is the over filling of a room with furniture, happily not a problem here. Breakfast was good and the waiters we're very friendly. Checkout and taxi ordering was equally very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Beware of the very robust door closures, especially when placing your tray outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hill_Resident_SE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Marriott for a pre-Christmas shopping weekend. The location is great - just a 10 minute walk away from the centre. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating and we were allowed to check in early, which was useful. Our room was very pleasant and comfortable and the breakfast was very good indeed. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

In many ways one can reject an America Chain Hotel and select a smaller boutique hotel, but,as an English person now living in North American,I have come to expect a certain standard and in many parts of the world many small hotels do not live up to my expectations. I stayed for eight nights at the Marriott Hotel, Five Ways, Birmingham, England . This hotel is an exemplary hotel that i will always return. The Front of Hotel staff are wonderful and helped us in every conceivable way David and Chloe on the front desk went out of their way to solve several difficulties that were made by the central Marriott reservation system. The rooms are large and clean, although I would advise not getting a room with an adjoining door as some neighbours can get loud . We changed our room and the staff moved us while we were out. The breakfast is a wonderful spread and offers a large variety of different food hot and cold. The evening meal was terribly slow, but meal was fine.

Everywhere I travel I find poor Internet connection, I get dial up, I have to change passwords ever day- not here high speed internet is available free at no charge.

If either on business or pleasure in Central Birmingham this is the only hotel to stay at.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
398 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Definitely the second best hotel to stay at Birmingham after the Hyatt. I stayed there in a single room which was a perfect compact hotel room with all amenities. I was there during the ICC Champions Trophy cricket tournament & lot of ICC dignitaries were staying at the place. The hotel is well maintained & the service was top notch. The buffet breakfast if taken at 1030am can well serve as an brunch & can keep you away from food till late afternoon. The health club was at the lower floor & I had a nice time at the jacuzzi. Location wise its good, as you can walk to nearby super markets, restaurants & walk around for a night life tour of the city. The parking lot is small though. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuvodipMoitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Property: Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Address: 12 Hagley Road | Five Ways, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birmingham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Marriott Hotel demonstrates the four-star reputation through responsive service and comfortable accommodations. All guest rooms have been luxuriously appointed with essential amenities while stationed in the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Birmingham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham
Birmingham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing