We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A group of us stayed at this hotel on Saturday, July 19. Booked under the spa package, we were already pleasantly surprised by the very reasonable rate offered by the hotel before our arrival; for £110 we got a light lunch, dinner, bed, breakfast, access to the spa & one treatment. The hotel was clean & welcoming, and conveniently located near Five Ways station. But best of all was the hotel's excellent staff. Every one we came across was extremely friendly & couldn't do enough to help us. You really got the impression that they were all genuinely happy in their jobs, which creates a good atmosphere. Even though the restaurant staff were clearly rushed off their feet their service was still top notch & we thoroughly enjoyed our meal..
The spa was great & we all really enjoyed our treatments.
The rooms were clean & tidy. Breakfast was superb! My friend assures me the food from the omelette station - where a chef makes omelettes & waffles to order - was excellent.
I'll definitely be returning.
Thanks to all at the hotel for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon T, General Manager at Birmingham Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi - Thanks so much for your feedback. It was really busy the saturday you stayed with us, but glad we got the service right and you had a good stay with us. I have emailed all the staff your comments, as they worked extremely hard that day and it is nice when they get the feedback and guests appreciate via this forum.
Gordon Tyler - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    362
    145
    45
    30
See reviews for
154
238
45
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

On arrival in May 2013 i was pleasantly surprised with the luxurious lobby, the easy layout of the reception... bar/grill, conference facities and leisure facilities. The staff were very helpful and professional. The double i occupied was more than spacious, airy, clean and well laid out. Very comfortable bed and beautifully tiled, clean and well equipt bathroom. I would certainly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine_calderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon T, General Manager at Birmingham Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to review the hotel. I am glad that the staff were all helpful and professional and everything was in order with your room and hotel facilities. I love seeing 5 star rating - I will pass that on to the staff. Much Appreciated. Gordon Tyler - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday for a wedding and it was well up to standard. The staff were excellent in taking care of us and making sure we had everything and the room was clean and well maintained.

Others should learn from the Marriott see my other Birmingham hotel review

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Delijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon T, General Manager at Birmingham Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review - your feedback is really important. I am glad you had a good stay and everything was up to standard. To be honest I am a bit disappointed we didn't wow you with our service and standards, which is our aim, but I am glad you had a good trip to Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived very late to this hotel but having stayed here before I knew what to expect. If I can I will look to stay with the big six hoteliers throughout the world. Nothing changes just the look. This hotel is actually a classic looking building and quite elegant. Arrive a reception and greeted by smiling employees who offer an upgrade which is appreciated. The room is bright, large and classic marriott style. The view is of a busy road layout but surprisingly quiet. Beds are always coomfortable so a good night sleep had. Breakfast is a large selection with availability of some foods cooked to order. Overall another good experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LaVeritae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon T, General Manager at Birmingham Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for your great feedback. I am glad you had a good stay with us - I have passed your positive comments onto the reception team.

Gordon Tyler - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here on Saturday July 12 th for an annual get with old university friends. I did quite a lot of research before booking and was delighted that this hotel lived up to my hopes. The service was excellent from the first interaction and continued from there. We needed an extra bed which was brought in immediately to our room, the room itself was spacious and nicely furnished. We had forgotten a couple of things Which guest services happily brought up within 5 minutes. We didn't use the leisure facilities but breakfast was excellent the highlight being freshly made omelettes.I can highly recommended this hotel for location, service and facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggbelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon T, General Manager at Birmingham Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Wow - I am glad you had a good stay and everything worked out well. I have emailed all the staff your comments to make sure that we keeping looking after our future guests as we did for you. Thanks for the feedback.

Gordon Tyler - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

In town on business for several days and was recommended to stay here. Being a Marriott Rewards member doesn't hurt either. Overall, a decent establishment to stay at. I was given a room facing the Five Ways turnabout, which provided a nice view upon looking out the window. Check-in staff was efficient and helpful. Although one cannot fault the hotel for the location, getting to/from the hotel from the downtown Birmingham canal areas requires a bit of walking through a park with homeless people and a questionable stretch of Broad St. The restaurant in the hotel however needs some attention. After long day of traveling coupled with a work meeting, decided to stay indoors the first night for dinner. Other than another lady eating alone, my co-worker and I were the only other patrons. However, after about 50 minutes after ordering, we still only had a glass of water to work with. Even the glass of water had to be requested and not automatically offered. The pre-dinner salad was a miniature version that one would expect from McDonalds. Fortunately, main course itself when it arrived was decent. Otherwise the meal would have been a complete disaster. Be careful about the breakfasts in the morning. The lady attendant greeting the guest has a list of previous night hotel occupants and their room numbers. You just tell them your room number and get seated. Thinking that, I was under the impression that breakfast was included. WRONG. I was charged a whopping $28.01 USD for breakfast each day for the two mornings I ate there. Breakfast was OK, however overpriced. Overall, nice hotel for sleeping. Better options if you want to be further down Broad St. closer to the pubs and restaurants/canal area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumbojetlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon T, General Manager at Birmingham Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I am glad you had a good stay with us. Your feedback about the restaurant is really helpful, and we have since changed both the menu and set up. I will ensure that we get the basics consistently right like offering drinks upfront but I am glad you enjoyed your food and will pass those comments onto chef.

Gordon Tyler - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Family visit. We had we thought booked two twin rooms with an added bed in one. So 2 and 3. Instead of which we got 2 double rooms and a suggestion that 3 of us shared the quite small double bed. Once we had pointed out that this was not going to fly they did give us a room with a fold out sofa. Not entirely what we had hoped for but the internet booking system is pretty awful. Over the years we have been big users of Marriott in the UK but using their website is beyond a joke.

However that issue aside the staff, throughout our stay, were amongst the nicest I have encountered in the UK. Absolutely top notch front desk and good bar staff. If I could book the hotel directly I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon T, General Manager at Birmingham Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Jonathan,

Thanks for your feedback following your recent visit - after the initial problems with making the booking, I am glad your stay went. Feel free to call the hotel if you would like help making your bookings - we will do our best to assist. I will pass your nice feedback back onto our front desk and bar team.

Kind regards,

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Park Regis Birmingham
Park Regis Birmingham
#16 of 117 in Birmingham
642 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#35 of 117 in Birmingham
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Property: Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Address: 12 Hagley Road | Five Ways, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birmingham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Marriott Hotel demonstrates the four-star reputation through responsive service and comfortable accommodations. All guest rooms have been luxuriously appointed with essential amenities while stationed in the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Birmingham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham
Birmingham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing