We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect valentines treat for excellent price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect valentines treat for excellent price!”
Reviewed 20 February 2009

My fiance and I stayed at the Birmingham marriott for valentines day for one night. We booked online at laterooms.com and for £150 for both of us we enjoyed a standard room, 3 course meal, a bottle of champagne and chocolates on arrival as well as breakfast the next morning.
Check in was at 14:00 and we arrived at around 14;30. We were told the room wasnt quite ready and that they would need another 20 minutes or so. We had lunch in the hotel bar while our bags were taken to our room.
The rooms its self was very spacious, spotless and had a very large, comfortable bathroom. After relaxing in the room we used the hotel swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. This was all to a high standard and decorated like a spa with a very relaxing feel to it. (Ideal for a romantic break).
Dinner on the evening was a 3 course set menu for £30 per head (although ours was incuded in our lateroom deal)
The menu was limited and a little basic (The chocolate fondue was overcooked at had tuned into a chocolate concrete) But nothing really worth complaining about.
My partner and I are very laid back people and try to avoid complaining but I must admit I was very irritated at poor room service.
The mini bar was not stocked and had a note on the mini bar itsself telling us to press the 'anytime' button on the telephone for a member of staff to stcok the minbar. I did this and was told it would be seen to. 2 hours later i was still waiting. I called back to be told by a different person that the mini bars are never stocked and you have to call for room service with specific orders of whats you want. I ordered 2 diet cokes, waited 20 minutes (I was very irritated at this point) and had to call back to remind them before it finally came.
Breakfast: The breakfast in the hotel was buffett style and possibly the best selection of cold and hot food ive ever seen in a hotel (Including top 5* london hotles ive stayed in).
Pratically every type of preprepared fruit and pastries aswell as smokey salmon, bagels, full english breakfast and much more. This was all to a very high standard.
Generally the whole stay was lovely. The room was much nicer than what we had hoped for and well worth the price we had paid. The swimming pool was a fantastic extra and the breakfast was fantastic. Id definately rate this as one of Birminghams nicest hotels and recommend it to family and friends.
Id go back for valentines day next year!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    350
    140
    44
    29
See reviews for
146
227
41
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel and overall were very impressed. We arrived at around 1 p.m. and were checked in straight away, there were no queues and we were given our room even though it was before check in time. The check in clerk was very helpful giving us useful information about the city. The room was very clean, spacious (especially the bathroom) and in excellent condition, We did, however, have a problem with our toilet not flushing on the Saturday morning. We called the front desk who were very apologetic and said they would send somebody to look at it and the maintenance man turned up within minutes and had successfully repaired the toilet by the time we returned the room a few hours later. There was a nice leisure area which had gym equipment, a pool (nicely heated), a spa and a steam room. Again, this area was maintained well. Our rate included breakfast which was excellent, a good range of cooked and cold items nicely presented and a high quality. The 2 downsides we found to the hotel were the parking and the location. Parking was £10 a night and the car park was quite small and was full on Saturday.The hotel is located at the end of Broad Street which is where all the bars are so is very handy for those but it is a good 15-20 minute walk into the shopping area and from the stations. This was a little further than we would have wanted as you couldn't pop back to the hotel easily but this wouldn't stop us from staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

I stayed here with my husband and sisters and their husbands recently whilst in Birmingham for our father's 80th birthday celebrations. We were all really impressed with the quality of the facilities, breakfast, service etc. for the rate we paid of £84 per room per night inc. breakfast. I stay in lots of hotels overseas and UK hotels are sometimes a bit of a disappointment, but not this one! It was comfortable, welcoming and rooms were of a good size (one sister was upgraded to a superior room, but ours was pretty big too, although another sister had a slightly smaller one, seems like it was the luck of the draw!). The check-in staff were very efficient and helpful and breakfast staff were some of the friendliest I have ever come across - so top marks for the Marriott!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrandall2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2009

Stayed at this hotel with my wife. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was excellent and the leisure club was very relaxing. The hotel had a nice bar area and we were made to feel very welcome. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want superb service at a hotel that is centrally located for leisure and business. Will definately go back!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

Had a brilliant stay at this hotel, not a bad word to say about it! The room was lovely, the health suite was lovely, the reception staff were friendly and the food was good too. Would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freerthanyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

This is the second time I have stayed at this Marriott, the first was back in October with my mother and we shared a room with 2 single beds. This time (December) it was myself and my partner, in a nice king bed room. The rooms in this Marriott are a really good size, and have really nice bathrooms. It says on their website that it was recently re-furbished, which is obvious. Rooms are light and airy, modern and have a classy upmarket feel about them. Most recently, we stayed in room 209 which had a LOVELY bathroom. The only silly thing about these hotels, and Marriotts in the UK in general, is they still have pretty small, older televisions. In a room this size, you really need something bigger/widescreen.

I am (now) rather heavily pregnant, so in October, my mother and I decided to sample the hotel restaurant food. I was pleasantly surprised, and the waiter was also really lovely. Definately a better experience than I expected, with decent food, although as usual in a hotel it is over priced. This time, my partner and I decided to have a quick bite to eat in the hotel bar before going to see a concert at the NIA. Equally, food was pretty good for a hotel- my partner had the hamburger which he really enjoyed.

It only took us a max of 10 min to walk across the road to the NIA, which is fantastic. We had some friends who also attended the show, and were glad we got there a bit early to relax in a hotel as the traffic in the area was awful and a lot of people arrived late. Infact, the only negative part of the hotel was the parking, we got there early at 2pm to enjoy some time relaxing in the pool/spa in the afternoon (nice pool) and at 2pm the small hotel carpark was already full. At first we were turned away, but then as we said we were an overnight guest ( i think a lot of people must park there for meetings, etc) they managed to double park us and simply kept our keys in reception. The first time I went in October, I got the train, the station is about a 5 minute walk away, I believe from memory it is Five-ways and is just one stop away from Birmingham New Street station. An easy alternative to parking!

The hotel sits at the top of Broad street, where there are loads of restaurants and bars in walking distance. Also across from the hotel is a Tescos which is handy for getting some snacks/drinks if you dont want to pay hotel bar prices! (£3 for a softdrink!) The room mini bar fridge was empty and switched on, so we kept some drinks in there.

  • Liked — great location, espec for the NIA. Big rooms, nice decor, over-all nice atmosphere. Nice indoor pool.
  • Disliked — Parking - tiny carpark outside. Suspect alternative would be a multi-story and expensive.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiestycowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Just back home from a 2 night break with 7 friends while attending an event in the NIA.

Ok, firstly the Hotel is fantastic, so fantastic it does not belong in Birmingham. We found Birmingham to be dirty, very very rough, intimadating and all round awful place.

The Hotel has an ideal location at the top of Broad st (main st). The staff are excellent, very atentive and in great form all the time. The rooms were very big, fab beds, modern and of a high standard.
The gym, pool area, saunas etc are fantastic, very clean and well worth a visit. The breakfast is nice, but my only negative point was the male european staff member, I think hes head of staff there, anyway he came across as very rude, certainly in comparison to the girls at reception.

If you have to go to Birmingham, i would receomkmend you stay here. Be warned, the Hotel is a 5 min walk to the centre of Broad st but to walk you must go through a park with pedestrian tunnels which at night we avoided and got taxis.

Dave.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank IrishDave2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Property: Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Address: 12 Hagley Road | Five Ways, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birmingham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Marriott Hotel demonstrates the four-star reputation through responsive service and comfortable accommodations. All guest rooms have been luxuriously appointed with essential amenities while stationed in the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Birmingham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham
Birmingham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing