We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed in the Hyatt recently for a Business meeting, I have stayed in this Hyatt many times before and this is the only time I have found the hotel lacking. The rooms are fine, a lovely size and well appointed with nice decor. The bathrooms are a little dated but very functional. However the staff have changed considerably and not for the better, I was disappointed with various attitudes and thought the food in particular was very disappointing. There are many hotels now in Birmingham that offer everything and more that the Hyatt has inmy opinion.

Room Tip: Great views from high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smt_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,500
    930
    303
    110
    51
See reviews for
379
1,005
109
882
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel last weekend as we were going to see Elton John at the LG Arena / NEC.
The service is second to none, the concierge could not be more helpful. We needed a taxi, the concierge whistled and within seconds there is was, which made me giggle.

The reception area is stunning and very spacious and bright. The rooms are lovely and the bed extremely comfortable. The breakfast was excellent but at nearly £36.00 for both of us I think is a little too expensive (my fault as I thought I had booked B&B but afterwards on checking out I had only booked room only, if I had realised then we would have given breakfast a miss at the price but to be fair, we did get a very good room rate)

Ideally situated for some good bars as only a very short walk away, and it didn't take long at all to get by train to the NEC - 9mins - plus a short taxi ride to the station.

Very impressed and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joolz-n-Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Ideal if you are going to an event at the symphony hall to which the hotel is connected by a covered bridge.Without exception all the staff were kind and helpfull Our room-probably one of the least expensive-was spacious, well maintained, with a very comfortable bed,and a more than adequate bathroom.We were dissapointed with the restaurant, but in fairness an immediate reduction was made to our bill. The breakfast coffee was very weak. So a little improvement is needed in the kitchen, but we would still stay here again.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank densilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I stayed here last night with my husband to attend a friends wedding. The concierge couldn't have been more helpful. Very smooth check in and a wonderful king room. Very spacious and comfortable night sleep. The Spa was an excellent way to start the day. Spotless hotel with all the attention to detail that you would expect and some to suprise you as well.
For thoe worried about the car parking there is a shuttle mini bus to the car park.

I will definatley be using Hyatt regency in the future.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room and non smoking. view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olliepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Only stayed for one night with my girlfriend but it felt like a holiday. Check-in was very smooth and Mohamed who served us was very friendly and gave us a good briefing of the facilities and a room with a great view over the city. The spa was extensive and clean and open until 9pm, there is a sauna, steam, jacuzzi and good size swimming pool. I also used the gym which was very well equipped and looked fairly new. We also had dinner there which was a bit more pricey vs. restaurants in the area but the quality of food and service was worth it. Only negative was that the portions of the 3 course set menu were a bit small vs. a la carte.

Overall the hotel is not brand new but you can see that it has been very well maintained and certain areas have certainly been upgraded over time. The rooms are a very good size and have everything you need (and expect in a Hyatt). Even though it is one of the more expensive hotels in Birmingham I think it was worth every pound given the facilities and service. The location is also ideal, it is walking distance from the main rail station (New Street) and many pubs / restaurants are nearby.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a great view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mansil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Fantastic service, beautiful foyer, wonderful breakfast, stunning room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Great service and ospitality.Superb breakfast!Little SPA.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing