We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The Hyatt Birmingham is a beautiful hotel, as we stayed here for a family wedding. The rooms were extremely clean and the buffet breakfast was fantastic. The staff were very helpful and appeared to anticipate your every need. We walked everywhere and great shopping was a 10 minute walk to the centre of the city. Great restaurants are also very close.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    957
    305
    111
    54
See reviews for
387
1,032
114
909
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

As almost a local we dont tend to stay in Birmingham, however for a special occasion we booked the Hyatt through Expedia.

It wasnt cheap at £110, however hotel was great value for money.
there was a long queue at check in, however we got seen fairly speedily

We booked a king room which was spacious with good views.

The pool is really good, gym seems a little small, however I didnt use it.

We didnt have breakfast, there was a large queue and it was a fairly steep £18 each.
Bar prices were very high too, it was £5 for a beer, it was actually marginally cheaper to use the minibar!
Location is great, for Broad Street, Brindley Place and the ICC. Mailbox is about 10 minutes walk away.
St Pauls square is £6 in a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotch30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Have visited Birmingham regularly and always been impressed with the look of this hotel and its central location so finally decided to treat ourselves to a nights stay. Booked a king club room and arriving at 10.30 asked at reception if we could leave our overnight bags and check back in after lunch. To our delight they said our room was ready and what a lovely room it was. It was located on the top floor with amazing views of the canals and birmingham.Floor to ceiling windows made the view even more spectacular.Modern with a large bed, chair and footrest and lots of space.The bathroom was equally lovely with lots of toiletries and fluffy robes for us to wear.After exploring birmingham (hotel is perfectly situated) we returned for a well earned rest and glass of wine in our room in our lovely bathrobes overlooking canal. It was also pointed out that we had access to a lounge for King and suite customers.Self service coffee etc during the day and wine/spirts in the evening served with canopies.It was a lovely unexpected treat.Unknown to us Birmingham hosted the half marathon on the Sunday and the hotel was buzzing. We expected a wait for breakfast but showed to our table within minutes. The food was excellent and the only let down was it needed to be a little bit hotter. Every member of staff we encountered were pleasant and efficient. Would certainly stay again and hope to stay for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay, Devon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed with my friend for two nights. On arrival we had been allocated a double room instead of a twin. We were moved to another room quite quickly, but the air-con was noisy even on the lowest setting, and the room was smelt musty. The restaurant was very disappointing. It is situated in the foyer and was very cold and dark. Our breakfast items were all cold, even though we were one of the first ones in. The evening meal was exceptionally poor; we were sitting in a cold draught and asked if we could move, to no avail. Portion control was terrible, my grey mullet was a third of the size of a neighbouring table's, and my clotted cream tart was pure stodge - not nice. No-one came to ask if our meals were ok until we had finished; bad practice. The reception staff forgot our papers on both days. A road race was taking place on the Sunday, but the reception staff seemed unaware that taxis could not be hailed outside, but credit must be given to the friendly concierge who rang a taxi for us. All in all, a disappointing stay and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Only stayed for one night while attending an ICC event as it was the closest. It was the best Birmingham hotel we've stayed in (so far) and the breakfast really was good.

Room on the 17th floor was OK, typical size for the category of hotel with great views to admire as long as you don't suffer vertigo as the window is floor to ceiling with no balcony. We didn't ask for a 'smoking' room but it was obvious the moment we stepped out of the lift that it was allowed in the rooms by the smell. The windows don't open so why anyone would want to smoke in them is beyond me.

Amenities in bathroom were adequate except that there was only one tissue in box so attention to detail lacking.

Room was very cold when we arrived but we soon sorted that out. The bed comfortable and we noticed no noise.

As we only stayed for 1 night and checkout was noon, found it a bit odd that a cleaner should be knocking on our door at 9.45???

It's a bit of a trek to the Bullring shopping centre but we didn't go to shop so it wasn't a problem.

Parking was probably the biggest downside as it was a bit of a walk from the hotel but at £13.50 for 24hrs, not bad in the great big scheme of things.

Would we go back? If attending ICC probably, if shopping unlikelyas would probably choose a hotel closer to centre.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, avoid floor 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pistonbroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

On first impressions we liked the look of the hotel, and its great if you are going to ICC. Rooms are nice, normal bland rooms unless you have the floor to ceiling windows which are great. We were given a room with interconnecting doors and they might as well have been wide open, we heard every word, grunt and groan(!) from the room next door, with Gangster rap music as the background. Smoke was also invading our non-smoking room from under the doors. We got back to our room at around 3.30am, the party in the room next door was just finishing, thank goodness, and we were woken by the loudness of the announcer of the half marathon 18 floors below (not the hotels fault) at 9am. Breakfast was not worth £18, hideous cheap sausages, massproduced scrambled eggs and tinned mushrooms, (had much better in the DeVere Southampton) also the dining area is very small and a queue formed. Wish we had had time to use the pool and spa, as these looked great. Would never have a room with interconnecting door again!

Room Tip: One with city/ canal veiw, leave curtains open for night veiw when you return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Energise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed here for a one night mini-break for leisure. We stayed on a non-smoking floor. The rooms were spacious and luxurious and I enjoyed the floor to ceiling windows. The bathroom was very spacious and the entire room spotless. Bed was very comfortable and quiet.

The highlight of the hotel for me was the spa area. The pool and Jacuzzi were a dream and the towels provided were so fluffy and luxurious.

Location wise the hotel was about a 10-15 min walk from the bullring and railway stations. Chinatown slightly longer. We were able to walk everywhere and only caught a taxi when coming back from the bars late at night.

The only area for improvement I can say was that when I checked-in I had to wait about 5 mins before I was seen as there was another person checking-in. It seemed that the Hotel’s check-in process took longer than other hotels I have stayed-in. But it was no problem and I wasn’t in a rush or anything.

Overall this is a lovely hotel, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I will be back if I’m ever in Birmingham again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin_brown85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
918 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,410 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,251 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,597 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Prestigia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing