We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

I loved my stay at this hotel, nothing was too much for the staff and everything about the place was such a high standard. I got breakfast delivered to the room which I think would have been enough to feed 6 of me! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle75120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,681 - 2,687 of 3,301 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

Myself and my travel partner stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Upon arrival, the concierge was extremely helpful and this continued throughout our stay. However, as most other people have pointed out, the reception staff were not as welcoming.

Initially we had only booked for one night, but we decided to extend our stay as some of our friends were staying the extra night too. When we asked about booking the extra night, we were glared at and advised we would have to go back in the morning. That evening we ate in the bar area and had a few drinks with our friends. The service at the bar was second to none, we pretty much didn't wait more than 5 minutes for the staff to notice our glasses were empty and them being topped up, even after the bar got quite rowdy.

The next morning we were due to check out and go to another hotel, which was closer to the venue of the show we were attending. However, as I explained we had fiends staying at the Hyatt, so we went down to reception to check in for another night. The female staff member that we spoke to was incredibly rude. When I asked if there was rooms available so that we could add an extra nights stay, she looked over at another staff member, rolled her eyes, and loudly asked "I don't know, have we got any rooms available or not?" The other staff member proceeded to check the computer with this lady looking over her shoulder. Eventually they agreed that there was rooms available. When I requested the same room (SHOCK HORROR!), she said she would have to check that too. After around about 45 minutes at the check in desk, we had finally managed to book in to the same room for 1 extra night.

After speaking to our friends, they advised they were going to be staying on at this hotel for a couple more nights - suffice to say, we did not. We moved to the Hilton Metropole the day after.

Apart from the reception/check-in staff, the Hyatt is actually a lovely hotel. The views are amazing, it is very clean, the rooms are reasonably spacious, and the food is tasty and well cooked. I would recommend it to others, but I would recommend you ignore the attitude of the check-in staff - you only really have to deal with these people twice during a stay. For most other enquiries, the concierge is the most helpful I've ever encountered.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better! The views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I was attending a conference in Birmingham so stayed at the Hyatt. I was upgraded to a Regency Club room on the 22nd floor. The Club was very quiet - I have never seen only 2 people in there in the evening. The upside was that there was plenty of food and service was good. As I was working I ordered room service. The service was quick but the steak was only OK and the vegetables were cold.

Breakfast in the Club lounge - I was the only person there. Food selection for breakfast is poor but plenty of coffee and juice.

Staff are always very friendly at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed for one night on a business trip. I really enjoyed my stay.

The gym facilities were excellent. My room was lovely and room service was very tasty. All the staff I encountered were great.

I stupidly left my Kindle in my room and it was returned to me with no trouble at all via special delivery. I really appreciated this, as this was entirely my fault!

Would definitely stay again if I am ever in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyjess85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My friend and I were having a girlie weekend in Birmingham and got a deal at the Hyatt. The room was on the 19th floor, very comfortable and had great City views. The staff were fantastic and could not do enough for us, and the steak we ate in the restaurant for dinner was the best Ive tasted in many years.

The chaps on the concierge were helpful from the moment I stepped out of my car and their good humour was infectious.

I will definately be back for more!

Room Tip: You will be offered canalside or cityside - both are lovely. We were in 1908 so commanded a brillia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasparilla100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

the services of the hotel are really high-standard, in particular I appreciated the competence and at the same time friendliness of the receptionists! All very corteous and nice (thanks Manuela, Muhamed etc-and the manager of course!)
Very rich breakfast in an elegant setting
very clean room with breath-taking view
plenty of comforts !
the position is really central : luckily the hotel seems to be soundproof!
Round the corner you have Brindley and the passages along the canals are really romantic !
Just opposite The Auditorium, The Pre-Raphaelites' Collection and the city centre
last but not least: at Hyatt you can opt for a SMOKING room! Fantastic for a smoker like me!
Surely you'll see me again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefaniarocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I agree with JS Cindy. Exactly the same experience wehad to endure with the reception and spa staff. We stayed for seven days and continued to receive same treatment, everything was too much trouble they didnt even break a smile. Fortunately the breakfast staff were welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlenaGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
996 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,555 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,332 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £88 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing