We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started to penny pinch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great location close to the shops, railway, Conference and Concert centre. Lovely walk along the canal only a few minutes walk with restaurants and bars.

This is a great Hotel Chain, but they don't penny pinch at the other hotels in this chain in my experience. The rates are high for the area e.g no sparkling wine in the club lounge, spirits only when you ask. Many other examples. This could be a slippery road.

I will still stay again as it is a nice hotel and the location is great, but one wonders what they will try and economise on next.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,469 - 2,475 of 3,198 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here recently for the 2nd time on business. Service is always great and the rooms are spotless and big.
Good selection at breakfast and the bar/lobby area are very nice too.
Lovely spa and gym area with very clean changing rooms, great facilities for a city centre hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Excellent location near main arenas etc and close enough to shops. Parking is expensive on top of room but it is the 2nd city! Had a fab panoramic view of canal and on a sunny day it was worth the price

Breakfast is also extra which is a little disappointing!

Go onto the canal boat service breakfast instead outside for a fun start to the day

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billandden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently while attending the ICC for a convention. Swimming pool and gym excellent as was breakfast. Paid £3 extra for room service breakfast one day which was a good choice. Would have given it 5* except no new inroom breakfast card menu was issued after the first use.

Would go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissaayr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Recently returned to the Hyatt Regency and hadn't been back to this hotel for over 20 years! The main reception areas, restaurant and cocktail bar all look very much the same, although the Amala Spa and leisure club was given a complete makeover a few years ago and it now looks great. The hotel is perfect if you want a high view of the whole city from your room, which I did, as I was at the top on the 24th floor in a twin bed Club room. I was rather disappointed that the room was smaller than expected for a Club room, as they're usually larger and better than regular rooms, but it was still very comfortable and well equipped. The bathroom was very small, but I used the showers in the ladies changing room at the spa and didn't use the hotel room shower. Paying a bit more for the Club room is worth it, as you have access to the Club lounge on 23rd floor. There is complimentary fresh fruit, snacks, soft drinks and teas and Nespresso coffees there all day. I had dinner there in the evening and the food was very good, I didn't need to pay extra to eat anywhere else when there was enough there. Delicious desserts as well. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the lounge was more than enough, I didn't need to pay extra for breakfast in the main restaurant. It's only continental breakfast and not cooked buffet, but it's good enough. They even managed to make me a hot chocolate with soya milk! There is also free internet in the lounge, printer and fax machine. The swimming pool and gym are very good, there is also a steam room and a very modernised sauna with a TV set in it! I didn't have any treatments at the spa, but they have various facials, massages, waxing and other beauty treatments available. The hotel is in an excellent location for walking to New Street train station, Mailbox and Bullring shopping malls and local buses. The Hyatt is a popular choice of hotel for rock and pop bands who play concerts in Birmingham and it's easy to see why, the facilities are probably the best out of any hotel in the city (I've stayed in a few other hotels nearby) and the cocktail bar is open until 2am at weekends (sometimes late during the week if busy). Will definitely be staying here again next time I go to Birmingham.

Room Tip: I would suggest paying that bit more for a Club room for access to the Club Lounge, then no need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Fantastic luxury hotel, everything you need. Perfect if you are visiting the ICC. Rooms very big, great views over Birmingham. Breakfast are 1st class. Although expensive you get what you are paying for.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolmasanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Hyatt Regency Birmingham is the city's flagship hotel. I chose to celebrate my birthday there with my wife and young children. It's sheer class from the moment you enter until you check out. My wife enjoyed a Spa treatment whilst me and the kids popped over the bridge to the Convention Centre to enjoy some afternoon Jazz.

We regrouped an hour later in the swimming pool of the hotel which is the biggest city centre pool in Brum. The jacuzzi was a great way to relax.

We returned to our club rooms on the 22nd floor which afford stunning views of the city including the soon to be opened Library of Birmingham.

We made use of the club lounge for pre dinner drinks. My son was recenty diagnosed as gluten intolerant but this was no problem for the hotel's friendly staff to accommodate.

A great experience. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jassansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
966 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,523 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,378 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £96 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing