We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
217 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

The hotel lobby is very nice with extremely fast elevators. The king bed room was very nice with good overall space. The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were very thin and soft and could have been better. The bathroom was nice with decent counter space. The shower was the downfall of this room. The glass partition that ran half way down the bathtub made it very difficult to actually turn the water on, and the water pressure from the shower head was less than adequate. The air conditioner in the work worked very well and kept the room cool and comfortable. The desk was a good size making it easy to work on, and the WiFi internet had very good speeds but slowed down or dropped out a lot.
Overall this is a very nice place in a very good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    874
    291
    104
    47
See reviews for
353
952
103
837
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ickenham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel with good facilities, large rooms and comfortable beds. Being over twenty stories high many of the rooms have great views across Birmingham. Breakfasts are buffet style and offer a good range, eggs are cooked to order and the bacon was very good.
What is particularly convenient is that if you are attending a conference it has a direct link via a covered bridge into the conference halls and the Symphony hall.
If coming by car there is a large car park 350 yards away charging £13.50 for 24 hours

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IckenhamChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The concierge service was excellent. Bags whisked from our car and taken directly to our room,
704. We parked 350 metres away, at a cost of £13.50 a day. Not too bad for an inner city multi-storey car park. Booking in was fast, efficient and impersonal. The anonymity of big hotels can be an added bonus. Sometimes.

Room 704 was spacious, thoughtfully furnished with an array of acceptable comforts: large, soft bed, decent armchairs and a table/desk with two dining chairs. The decor was pleasant enough,
in good order and clean and fresh. White linen on the bed was crisp and spotless.

We dined at the Hyatt as part of a group, having selected from a pre-determined, limited menu.
(The limitation being the price ceiling set by our party). The food was hot, very well presented and
of adequate portion size. Nothing to complain about. Breakfast, however, was remarkable. An outstanding display of speciality breads, pastries and cereals. Stewed fruit alongside various yogurts tempted the health conscious. I was not in that group. I chose the full English breakfast and tucked in without a backward glance at my cholesterol levels. No regrets, it was delicious.

My wife tells me that the swimming pool was 'nice'. Her main concerns are cleanliness and crowdedness, so 'nice' is a big compliment.

The bathroom in 704 was not good. The hot tap on the hand-basin was loose. An accident waiting to happen. The shower was of the 'above the bath' category, with the shower water flow controlled from the bath taps. This arrangement does not work, and never has worked. The reason is simple:
no stable temperature can be achieved and when you need to adjust the water temperature, you have to reach the taps through water cascading from the shower head. Dumb.

Checkout was simple. The concierge team performed their magic once again. Well done lads.

Overall impression? A well run hotel providing a high standard of service. We would love to return,
after the Hyatt has sorted out the bathroom plumbing.

Room Tip: A well soundproofed hotel, with a very minor amount of traffic noise. We were happy to be On the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the 17 May 2012 - 4 Club Rooms inc Breakfast and access to the Regency Lounge.

Breakfast is continental withing the Regency Club lounge which consists of a few pasties. If you would like a decent breakfast (Full English) you will need to go downstairs to the main hall and have the privilage of paying a further £20

Concerning part is the Regency Club closes at 10pm and we were in there for a drink, we ordered and payed cash yet the room was charged with this. It seems only the soft drinks and water is free in the Regency. Beers and any other drinks will have to be paid for!

Upon complaining a few days later after seeing the charge on the credit card the hotel was not very helpful, a refund was offered but declined out of principle!

Be careful with this hotel - things are really not as they seem and its advisable paying cash and not leaving any card details, as these guys will bill your card as they please atfer you have left!

We will most definetly not be staying here again

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here pay for a basic room and paying for breakfast. Regency Club is rubb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PP000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Hyatt Birmingham at the weekend. The hotel was excellent in all respects, a very pleasant and helpful check in was matched throughout our stay by all of the other Hyatt staff that we came into contact with.

The bar was very pleasant and served nicely prepared food, good portions with prompt preparation.

Our room was on a high floor as requested, which offered spectacular views over the city, it was clean and comfortable with good facilitiies. We both look forward to returning to Birmingham soon and will certainly choose the Hyatt again.

RJ.

Room Tip: Choose a high room if you can, ideally facing the canals but either way offers really interesting vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richj555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

A first visit to Birmingham and, therefore, nothing to compare but a hotel with strengths and weaknesses tending towards extremes.

The hotel is an impressive and attractive landmark building in the heart of Birmingham.
Turn left and you're moments away from a vibrant center, the Symphony Hall, new Library and so on.Turn right and you're instantly into the realms of decay, dereliction and a wholly different atmosphere!

The hotel foyer, atrium and restaurant are an impressive start but the room, whilst comfortable, spotlessly clean and with all amenities (at additional cost), was a little tired. The TV system when compared, say, to Holiday Inn's was painfully slow. The bathroom beautifully laid out but the shower horrendous, either scalding hot or freezing cold.

Room service - the food was outstanding; yet breakfast was lacklustre.

Staff were fantastic, warm and hospitable but also sullen, curt and offhand.

The recommended Central Arena Car Park, regrettably, is on that turn to the right. My fears of parking there turned out to be unfounded but it is dark, damp, unfriendly and intimidating. It may only be a short distance but I would not walk there at night.

Would I stay there again?
Probably not - I suspect there's better to be had.
With the car - definitely not!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vestigium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

A pleasant 10 minute walk from New Street railway station or 3 minute cab ride, this hotel is opposite the ICC which can also be accessed via a pedestrian bridge link. Good size standard room, clean and very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast and hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. We happened to be staying the same time as the Man Utd football team yet we were all treated equally and with the same respect and good service. Worth paying the extra money!

Room Tip: 24 floors so ask for lower level if you do not like heights as the rooms have full length windows! G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlondon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing