We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone down hill quickly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gone down hill quickly”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed here around four years ago and really enjoyed it. It was a decent 4 star hotel with a feeling of relative luxury. The rooms were generous and fitness facilities of a good standard. It has now been left behind and is no more than a functional, overpriced venue.

Having to pay for Wi-Fi in this day and age is a poor reflection on customer care. There were no in room facilities at all. Nothing to make you feel like a valued guest. Even a bottle of mineral water, which at first glance seemed complimentary, was charged to the bill!

When we were there the Pakistan and Australian cricketers were staying at the hotel and seemed to sap all of the customer service attention. Perhaps this explains why it was a poor stay.

Breakfast was ok though lacking the sparkle of many of the higher end hotels I believe this hotel aspires to. The fitness facilities were tired and overused.

If you wanted to take a tourist trip to the Walkabout bar where Aussie Cricketer David Warner thumped England's Joe Root then you can. We went there the night after and all signs of blood and teeth had been removed from the floor 24 hours later. The lager was cold however - which was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGordonChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,554
    960
    306
    111
    54
See reviews for
388
1,036
116
913
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Its close to the mailbox and all the cool bars. it's the Best hotel in Birmingham for me, very nice, rooms are large and the swimming pool is quite big.
The hotel lobby is a bit cold (aircon). I will come back and stzy there for my next trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have stayed at a number of Hyatt's around the world and this one certainly maintains the standard I expected.
We stayed for three nights, and the first point to note is that it is extremely well located, being close to New Street Station, The Bullring and also being just a stones throw away from Brindley Place.
The reception which greets you is bright and cheerfully decorated and the staff on reception are very friendly. The room we had on the 15th floor had a great view over the city, was clean, had a really nice king sized bed and a fabulous bathroom. The only real criticism I would have is that there is a speaker in the bathroom which allows you to listen to whatever is showing on the TV, and whilst some people may really like this feature, It may get a little annoying if you wish to relax in the bath for example while your significant other wants to watch TV. Maybe there is a way to turn this off but I couldn't find it.
The pool facilities are excellent with a proper sized pool which I loved as it enabled me to be able to swim some decent lengths after a long day of siteseeing (I am not a fan of a lot of other hotel's pools which are usually pretty small). The one small criticism I had was that the pool is quite cool and could do with being just a couple of degrees warmer, and also a few more loungers would be useful around the pool as there is not enough there. None the less the facilities are still significantly above average.
Overall a very impressive hotel that does the Hyatt chain proud and I will be back if I come to Birmingham again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duststorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We needed somewhere central to stay in Birmingham, having stayed at more expensive boutique hotels, we decided to try the Hyatt Regency. We were not disappointed, it is in easy walking distance, the staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, and had everything we needed and more. Next visit, we will definitely choose the Hyatt.

Room Tip: I got best rat e going direct to hotel and the regency room was excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed just for one night but could have stayed for a week .First impressions really do count and what a great impression it makes from pulling up to the front door to checking in and walking into your room everything is spotless and their is nothing more you need . You can use the spa gym and swimming pool which are all fabulous. We ate in the restaurant after getting back to hotel at 10 oclock after it rained all evening really bad so could not go far,but was really glad we did it was a really nice ,the staff could not do enough for us the meal was excellent they have a great choice of wines .and my husbands dessert was well presented and very nice . I will definitely stay here again love this place.

Room Tip: we stayed in the king room with floor to ceiling windows and the views were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Colleagues from our company decided to stay in this hotel for one night in July 2013. One of them took bottle of mineral water which was placed on the table in his room. Hotel charged this ONE bottle by 5 EUR. I think, this is far from serious prices. Speak nothing of the fact, that in 4* hotels mineral water is offered free of charge.
I am going to ask our agency to put this hotel to not recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TomasFoltin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here twice recently. The first time because another hotel would not recognise our booking and we therefore stumbled upon this amazing hotel. The rooms were amazing, comfortable and very clean. We stayed on a high floor so we had good views of the city. The leisure centre complete with pool was of an excellent standard as were the staff. Overall, the pool/Jacuzzi etc.. were very clean and relaxing. The staff at this hotel were amazing and we had no problems in booking a return a few months later. It was the same high standard of professionalism. The lobby is also an excellent place to chill. This is a great hotel and is definitely worth the few extra pounds for some of the other hotels in the vicinity. It is also in a great location too.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maffy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
922 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,415 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,252 reviews
Genting Hotel
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
1,615 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing