We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Not a review about the hotel as ambience and setting lovely. But attended a gathering of 12 for afternoon tea was was not quite impressed with the service. Firstly, we were sat in corner where it was dark, until asked if lights could be put on. Then asked if any allergies.... Stated no eggs please...but still sandwiches we're put out with egg!! Bread wasn't as fresh as could have been. We had to chase up waiter for order of drinks. Not good value in my opinion but nice way to catch up with friends anyway.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cranebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for taking your time to comment from your recent visit.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the experience you have encountered, this is ceratinly not what our customers would expect from the service that we provide. I have passed on your concerns with the Food and Beverage Manager. Rest assured that this incident is not overlooked and I hope that you will treat this as an isolated experience. It is only through feedbacks such as yours that we are able to evaluate and improve where necessary.

We hope to to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future and please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.


Kind Regards,


Dominik Strobel

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    930
    303
    110
    51
See reviews for
379
1,004
109
881
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed a night while at a conference at ICC. Very well furnished room, liked canal view. Good bed. Connection to ICC not really worth using, as takes you to an upper level, and need to ring at for to get through. Easier to walk across road.

Very comfortable place to stay, and internet deal was cheaper than many budget hotels in area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for taking your time to comment from your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that we have accommodated you well, made you feel comfortable while you were in our hotel. It is only through feedbacks such as yours that we are able to continue and improve with our services where necessary.

Again, thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred hotel to stay in Birmingham.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Best Regards,


Dominik Strobel

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is very nice with great views of the city, fruit in the room was a nice touch and I would stay again, service at breakfast was a little slow but did not stop like the WIFI kept doing. Don't bother paying the £9.99 for internet send a letter its quicker. That said its a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Go High the higher the better great views of Birmingham
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies of your disappointment with the WiFi service and I hope you will treat this as an isolated experience.

I am pleased to hear that we made you feel welcome and it is our pleasure to have you again in the near future.

Again, thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred hotel to stay in Birmingham.


Best Regards,


Dominik Strobel

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency recently for 5 nights during a conference at the ICC/NIA. Important to note that the ICC is connected to the Hyatt. The NIA where much of the events I was attending is NOT connected to the Hyatt. But, that being said it was an easy walk to the NIA - albeit a bit in the rain.

Check in was quick and easy. Rooms were acceptable with the amenities one needs to staying a while. Enough drawers and storage for one person. Iron-hair dryer-coffee-mini bar. All was fine. Nice size bed which is not always the case in Europe when one is used to staying in a US hotel room.

Food here is fine. I like that the restaurant has some fixed price options for lunch and dinner. Breakfast buffet is 17.75 GBP so ok for that but if you have time there are many options locally just down the street for better prices.

Great location within easy walks to the canals, numerous restaurants, clubs, etc. I had no problems with wandering the area alone to grab a bite.

Had a couple drinks in the bar and that was fine.

Room service was timely and hot when delivered. Interesting to note that the breakfast buffet and room service breakfast were the same price. Not the same option in US hotels. Too many charges added already to the bill.

Had laundry done once and even though it went in late (after 9 AM) came back same day as sent.

Overall, nice hotel to stay at with good service in a central location. If it worked out, I would stay here again if in Birmingham.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for taking your time of providing feedback from your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that you found our location and the amenities we offer convenient. It is only through personal views such as yours that we are able to continue meeting our customers expectations and satisfactions.

Again, thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred hotel to stay in Birmingham.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future and please let me know if I can assist any further.


Best Regards,


Dominik Strobel

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed at the Hyatt and the room was as lovely as ever. Spotlessly clean, great views over the city and luxurious surroundings.
However, I was thoroughly disappointed with the service. When we tried to book in they had booked the room for 5th of May and not the 5th of April so it took longer to book in and we tried to order room service on three occasions and got an answering machine. Not happy :(

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for taking your time in providing us comments from your recent stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the experience you have encountered and I hope you will treat this as an isolated experience. Please be assured that I have pass this on to our Food and Beverage Manager and Reservations Manager as it is only through feedbacks such as yours that we are able to evaluate and improve where necessary.

Again, thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred hotel to stay in Birmingham and please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the near future.


Best Regards,


Dominik Strobel

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I had to book a last minute stay at the Hyatt Regency as I had accidentally booked a night at the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham for the wrong night. Unfortunately or should I say fortunately I was able to book last minute at the Hyatt. Its funny to note that when I got to the Hyatt, they said they were fully booked and had not received my Expedia booking yet,. Anyway after producing my email confirmation a room was found for me.

Very nice welcoming Concierge at the entrance who offered to take my luggage.

Room was good, comfortable and newly refurbished.The food I ordered steak and Mash with crumble and ice cream dessert! Have to say this was the best hotel meal that I had, had in a long time. I think the crumble was actaully made by the chef rather than pre-packaged. Nice touch.

The only slight downer to my stay was that the alarm went off in the middle of the night. Not sure if it was a test or actual alarm. we went out of our rooms heading for the emergency exit. Other Guests were dazed too and not sure if the alarm was real or not. There was no Fire wardens to direct us and even after the alarm was switched off, we got no notification as to why the alarm went off or any notification of the alarm being a planned drill.

Gym was great! was glad they had a rowing machine and even a kettle Bell which most small hotel gyms don't have.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for taking your time to commnet on your recent stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the encounter you have had from the emergency alarm and I hope you will treat this as an isolated experience.

I would also like to thank you for your kind regards of our hotel facilities. It will be my pleasure to pass this on to our dedicated member of staff, especially the concierge who made you feel welcome upon your arrival.

We hope to have the opportunity again of welcoming you in the near future and please let me know if I can assist you any further.


Best Regards,


Dominik Strobel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Recently booked the Hyatt to host our wedding vow renewal. From beginning to end the staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble and the day was amazing, food was beautifully presented and delicious and all of our guests gushed over the day. We stayed over in a standard room, nice high floor with floor to ceiling window overlooking centenary square. Only mar was noisy neighbours having a very loud row at 1am but after a call to reception security were up in minutes! Decent breakfast the next day too. Just love the afternoon tea at this venue, it's amazing and the best in Birmingham. Can't thank the hotel staff enough for such a wonderful weekend !

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spinksfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for taking you time to comment on your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that we have accommodated you well and your level of expectations were also met. It is our pleasure to provide you with an excellent service and rest assured that your compliments will be passed on to our dedicated member of staff who made your stay memorable.

Again, thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred hotel to stay in Birmingham and please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the near future.


Best Regards,


Dominik Strobel

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing