We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We booked afternoon tea as the location was perfect for a concert we were attending at symphony hall. What a mistake. There was no record of our booking. The waiter gave us the lunch menu not the tea menu. The food arrived about 10 minutes before the drinks. The sandwiches had been left out and the bread was dry. The scones were cold and crunchy. New sandwiches were bought which were much nicer. A raspberry mousse was served in a shot glass and the teaspoons given to eat it with were too big to get all the mousse out! Definitely will give this a miss next time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KimChloe073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    975
    310
    111
    55
See reviews for
397
1,057
116
918
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed only one night for a concert in the Symphony Hall but could not fault the friendliness of all the staff we dealt with. the room was excellent with two really comfortable queen size beds and a grand view of the city. Found the link to the Symphony Hall very useful as it was blowing a gale !!. Everything you could expect room wise for a Hotel of this calibre, particularly the correctly positioned and illuminated shaving mirror. Room service was good and very tasty. I had not tried Hyatt before being a IHG gold member but I will most certainly use this hotel on future visits. only one minor gripe for all hotels and cruise companies re bathrobes and slippers, I'm XL my wife is size 6 (US 0/00) one size does NOT fit all, but a great stay and can't wait to try again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingParkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend, I upgraded to the Recency Club option which was amazing value.
Room was great, very quiet. Service couldn't have been better from the staff. Quiet but small pool/sauna
I'd stay here without a second thought the next time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DingoDave50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Not a review about the hotel as ambience and setting lovely. But attended a gathering of 12 for afternoon tea was was not quite impressed with the service. Firstly, we were sat in corner where it was dark, until asked if lights could be put on. Then asked if any allergies.... Stated no eggs please...but still sandwiches we're put out with egg!! Bread wasn't as fresh as could have been. We had to chase up waiter for order of drinks. Not good value in my opinion but nice way to catch up with friends anyway.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cranebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for taking your time to comment from your recent visit.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the experience you have encountered, this is ceratinly not what our customers would expect from the service that we provide. I have passed on your concerns with the Food and Beverage Manager. Rest assured that this incident is not overlooked and I hope that you will treat this as an isolated experience. It is only through feedbacks such as yours that we are able to evaluate and improve where necessary.

We hope to to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future and please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.


Kind Regards,


Dominik Strobel

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed a night while at a conference at ICC. Very well furnished room, liked canal view. Good bed. Connection to ICC not really worth using, as takes you to an upper level, and need to ring at for to get through. Easier to walk across road.

Very comfortable place to stay, and internet deal was cheaper than many budget hotels in area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for taking your time to comment from your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that we have accommodated you well, made you feel comfortable while you were in our hotel. It is only through feedbacks such as yours that we are able to continue and improve with our services where necessary.

Again, thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred hotel to stay in Birmingham.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Best Regards,


Dominik Strobel

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is very nice with great views of the city, fruit in the room was a nice touch and I would stay again, service at breakfast was a little slow but did not stop like the WIFI kept doing. Don't bother paying the £9.99 for internet send a letter its quicker. That said its a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Go High the higher the better great views of Birmingham
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies of your disappointment with the WiFi service and I hope you will treat this as an isolated experience.

I am pleased to hear that we made you feel welcome and it is our pleasure to have you again in the near future.

Again, thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred hotel to stay in Birmingham.


Best Regards,


Dominik Strobel

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency recently for 5 nights during a conference at the ICC/NIA. Important to note that the ICC is connected to the Hyatt. The NIA where much of the events I was attending is NOT connected to the Hyatt. But, that being said it was an easy walk to the NIA - albeit a bit in the rain.

Check in was quick and easy. Rooms were acceptable with the amenities one needs to staying a while. Enough drawers and storage for one person. Iron-hair dryer-coffee-mini bar. All was fine. Nice size bed which is not always the case in Europe when one is used to staying in a US hotel room.

Food here is fine. I like that the restaurant has some fixed price options for lunch and dinner. Breakfast buffet is 17.75 GBP so ok for that but if you have time there are many options locally just down the street for better prices.

Great location within easy walks to the canals, numerous restaurants, clubs, etc. I had no problems with wandering the area alone to grab a bite.

Had a couple drinks in the bar and that was fine.

Room service was timely and hot when delivered. Interesting to note that the breakfast buffet and room service breakfast were the same price. Not the same option in US hotels. Too many charges added already to the bill.

Had laundry done once and even though it went in late (after 9 AM) came back same day as sent.

Overall, nice hotel to stay at with good service in a central location. If it worked out, I would stay here again if in Birmingham.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for taking your time of providing feedback from your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that you found our location and the amenities we offer convenient. It is only through personal views such as yours that we are able to continue meeting our customers expectations and satisfactions.

Again, thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred hotel to stay in Birmingham.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future and please let me know if I can assist any further.


Best Regards,


Dominik Strobel

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,441 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,277 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,658 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Prestigia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing