We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious business hotel, polite staff, big pool, wifi £5.99/hour, £62 breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spacious business hotel, polite staff, big pool, wifi £5.99/hour, £62 breakfast.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Clean, spacious business hotel in a lofty glass skyscraper with great views & fast lifts. Polite & very helpful staff. Well situated with the REP/ICC/Symphony Hall in front and Birmingham's animated "canal" district (Brindley Place) round the back. Nice big swimming pool if you want to do lengths.
Let down by extra charges - Wifi at £5.99/hour is unacceptable in a 2014 business hotel, particularly when Birmingham City Council provides free Wi-Fi in most parks and public spaces.
Breakfast for 3 adults + 1 child was £62 per day. A 5 year old's breakfast - 1 piece of toast with jam + a glass of water - cost £8.87. It's a big spread breakfast, with a large choice, but 1 minute's walk away in Broad Street, a full English costs £3.

Room Tip: Breakfast in the hotel costs £17.75, child pays half. In Broad Street (1 minutes walk) you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poulto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for your great feedback. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding our pricing. We feel this comparable to similar properties given our central location and extensive facilities. We regret that this is not your impression and offer our apologies.

I hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,463
    899
    296
    107
    49
See reviews for
370
978
106
853
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for just 1 night whilst going to an event at the NIA

It's just a few minutes walk from there and can even be done mostly under cover via the ICC

Room was large, clean and tidy as expected - it looks like it had been fairly recently refurbished so all looks very new!

Had breakfast included in the rate, this was a well stocked and varied buffet including a full english breakfast.

Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for your great feedback! I look forward to welcoming you again back to the hotel.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The room was lovely and all the staff were very attentive but the only issue was we paid £10 each for breakfast and the bacon had a horrible smell and we prefer out scrambled eggs more cooked but would def go there again and stay longer next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mariasav84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for the lovely comments, i will make sure to pass on your compliments to our staff. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the breakfast, i can assure you that your comments are passed on to our Head Chef.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

From check in to check out this hotel was fantastic. We stayed in a Club room on 23rd floor. Floor to ceiling windows gave a great view of the city. The room was slightly larger than a standard room and had a king size bed, desk and relaxing chair. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was very clean we had robes and slippers we could use.
The Club room was lovely offering another excellent view of Birmingham. Great refreshments in the day and we had canapés and wine in the evening before our night out.
The pool area was relaxing and the changing rooms were very clean.
All the staff we encountered here were very friendly and helpful especially on reception and in the Club room. Couldn't fault them at all.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and would be very happy to stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaygirl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for the great feedback! I will make sure the staff are aware of your compliments. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I met up with a friend from my home town for a weekend away and we stayed here. It is a fab location close to town and close to the night life. The staff are friendly and the room was clean and we'll furnished. We had access to the regency club which was a lovely way to start the evening with free drinks and canapés before going out. We spent a lot of time in the hotel bar where again staff were chatty and friendly. Breakfast the next morning was also tasty with lots of choice of food and drink. I would recommend and stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for the compliments! I look forwar to your next visit.


Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We found the hotel room was a bit dated and tired in areas, comparing the price to be more expensive at the time to Mal Maison and Hotel Indigo I would rather stay there, The Hotel bar and late bar was great after a night out just the rooms let it down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777jojo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for your feedback.

We realize that our property is ready to refresh and refurbishment is an ongoing project ready to finish before the end of this year.

I hope you will consider another visit so you can experience and enjoy the much vibrant look and atmosphere we are aiming for.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Second vist to this hotel. Since last visit bedrooms have been renovated so rooms are fresh and well equipped. Bedrooms are large with panoramic views - we prefer the views overlooking the canals.
Public areas of the hotel are very nice and the atmosphere is of relaxed sophistication.
Breakfast offers a good range of food though some items in the hot buffet (scrambled eggs) could have been warmer.
This hotel is right in the heart of the city and is ideal if attending in the international conference centre

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IckenhamChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad to hear the renovated rooms pleased you well. I look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel!


Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
896 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,317 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
3,484 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,320 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing