We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Storm = BIG PROBLEMS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small Storm = BIG PROBLEMS”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I first stayed here six years ago, we remember the experience as being one of the most romantic and luxurious stays we had, and so when we saw the rooms on offer we just had to book a night away.

The one thing we did not count on was the hotels inability to cope during a thunderstorm. We went shopping when we arrived in Birmingham, and once we had spent all our cash we made our way to the hotel on foot as it's only a 10 minute walk. We'd had a lovely day despite the weather and arrived at this lovely hotel looking like two drowned rats. All we wanted was to get to our room, have a nice hot shower and start getting ready for the evening.

Unfortunately, this did not happen. The hotels power went down when we arrived at 3:30pm because of the thunderstorm and we were asked to take a seat in the reception/bar area until the power came back on. We sat there in wet clothes for over three hours. The fun time that we had shopping seemed like a distant memory and we were cold and wet and fed up of waiting to be called to be taken to our room. We had no idea if we were even going to get a room, as no announcements/reassurances were made and we started to wonder if we should call a relative to come and pick us up.

After waiting for an hour, the staff offered everyone one complimentary drink, (we had already purchased two rounds by this point).

An hour later cold and wet we went to the reception desk to see if we were any closer to getting a room, only to be told no. We asked if we could have another complimentary drink as we had been waiting for two hours, and they begrudgingly agreed.

The three hour mark rolled round and we went to the bar to see if they would provide another complimentary drink and this time got told no, annoyed we looked across at the reception desk for the manager and saw people who had arrived hours after us getting the full "welcome treatment" and being shown to their rooms. As you can imagine we were extremely annoyed.

We queued up by the reception desk and I asked to speak with the manager privately as I did not want to cause a scene. The manager did come out of the back room to speak with me but did not want to speak with me privately so I proceeded to explain in front of the other guests that although the storm was not their fault, we were not happy that guests that arrived hours after us were being shown to a room, and we were left waiting in the reception area.

The manager graciously upgraded our room to a club king room, but all this meant was that we had a room on a higher floor, and free Wi Fi. The room itself although comfortable, was a bit of let down and if it was decorated purple would resemble a budget hotel.

The shower that we had waited over three hours for, didn't work properly and my husband and I had to take turns holding down the button to keep the shower running as the other bathed. Not exactly romantic!

Thankfully I had made reservations for 8:30pm so we had just enough time to get ready and rush out to find the restaurant. When we returned to the hotel we were looking forward to cocktails in the bar, only to find that the drinks menu was limited (probably due to the fact that the main bar was being refurbished), and the bar staff were deflated due to the problems that had occurred earlier in the day. At this point we decided to call it a night and went back to room.

I would like to thank the staff for what they did they didn't have to offer us anything, and it must have been difficult having a hotel full of upset guests. I am just disappointed that a hotel of this class could not cope with a small storm, and their Club rooms are not as luxurious as you would expect.

Room Tip: Choose a standard room, the club rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaMurray87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Christina,

Thank you for taking your time on writing your feedback from your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with services due to the power outage that had happened in Birmingham. The thunder did affect many establishments in Broad Street which unfotunately included us. As this is an incident we did not foresee coming, please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. After investigating further, an action plan is now created to better prepare ourselves should another natural disaster would come our way.

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred Hotel to stay in Birmingham. I hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel.


Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    957
    305
    111
    54
See reviews for
387
1,032
114
909
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
2,091 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,817 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Staying in Birmingham on a Saturday night & had to be the Hyatt. The Concierge welcomes you like an old friend & takes care of the car. Swift check in & great room on the 22 floor.
The Regency lounge is being refurbished, so complimentary cooked breakfast as compensation. Best hotel in Brum by miles.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for such a great feedback. It is a pleasure to hear that we have welcomed you back in a very hospitable manner. I will pass on your best regards to our Concierge team who I am sure will be delighted to hear of your compliments.

Again, thank you for continously choosing the Hyatt Regency as your preferred Hotel to stay in Birmingham. I look forward to your next return to the Hotel.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great service and very pleasant staff at all levels. Fantastic value for money with the opportunity to upgrade during check-in. The concierge were very helpful with parking the car and the receptionist acknowledged my Gold status and took this into account.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Larissa,

Thank you for your very kind feedback. It was a pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham. We do our best to ensure our guest such as yourself gets a memorable experience when visiting us.

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred Hote to stay in Birmingham, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stopped at the Hyatt Regency in July 2014 for the weekend and had a fantastic time there. The rooms are extremely clean, the hotel staff are very pleasant and always go out of their way to help, the position of the hotel is perfect, the food served there is absolutely gorgeous (as is the dining area), the parking isn't a problem as with some other hotels as they have a deal with a secure indoor car park about 2 mins walk away. The internet speed in the room was very impressive! I honestly can't praise this place enough and can't wait to return, 10/10

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkPhil14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Phil,

Thank you for your compliments! I am pleased to hear that the staff provided such excellent customer service. It will be my pleasure to share your kind words with the team. We have very dedicated members of staff here who will be pleased to know their efforts have been recognised.

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred Hotel to stay in Birmingham. I look forwad to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Excellent first class hotel Large comfortable well designed rooms Friendly service Good breakfast with food on order fresh eggs and porridge Would return any time Parking very good with help from the staff

Room Tip: High level prefered
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonard22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Leonard,

Thank you for the great feedback! I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, from service to our selection of breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred Hotel to stay in Birmingham. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed one night on 12 July 2014 Excellent hotel situated right by the ICC and Symphony Hall.with a bridge taking you directly across without going outside . We Checked in early which was quick and smooth. Although very busy on checkout this was also done smoothly without any delay. The room was large with superb views over the city .Had a problem with the kettle not working but within 10 mins of speaking to housekeeping a new one was delivered excellent service. Would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay again. Good value for money

Room Tip: rooms higher up have excellent views of either the city or canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for your excellent feedback! I am pleased to hear our location provided you convenience, and our services has catered you well. Rest assured your compliments will be passed on to the dedicated members of staff who will be delighted to hear of your regards.

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred Hotel to stay in Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here last week (July 2014) and found the hotel to be above expectations. Room was nice (one of the refurbed) breakfast was very good and ample choice for the money - it was also very good quality - which is rare these days in the chains. Parking was not brilliant and at £13.50 would have been expensive if I had been paying myself. The did on this occasion valet park the car at the front which helped. The bars below can be a little noisy on the canal side, so if you are a very light sleeper take ear plugs. Otherwise this please is excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floors, worth paying for breakfast and wi-fi to get free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haburiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham . We do our utmost to ensure we exceed our guest expectations, making your experience with us worth remembering.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.


Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
918 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,409 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,251 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,594 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing