We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic City Centre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here for one night on business trip. Room very basic, shower and basin were blocked and not working when we arrived and nothing was done about it. Checked out the following morning but then discovered the hotel had charged my card twice for the stay. Unhelpful and surly staff at reception and bar. Not at all the standard I would expect from Hyatt group.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nandi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear User,

Thank you for taking the time to write on your feedback of your visit to Hyatt Regency Birmingham. I am sorry to hear of your dissapointment with your stay.

This is certainly not what our guests have come to expect from Hyatt. I have shared your comments with the Front Desk Manager and the Engineering Manager to ensure we continually evaluate and improve the service we provide our guests. Regarding the rooms, they have been included in a refurbishment project due to finish before the end of this year.
I hope the misunderstanding with the payment has been resolved, if not, please contact the Front Desk Manager in hopes of resolving the issue.

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as you preferred Hotel to stay in Birmingham. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,088)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,925 - 1,931 of 3,088 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great value for money. Location is perfect (city center, 10 minutes for railway station, good connection with airport). Rooms are perfect, lounge is great, staff is very nice and pro. Need to mention that the suite are amazing and the view is stunning. Good value for money for Diamonds with elite prices and upgrades. Bar is so so... but a lot of options in the area.

Room Tip: Suite at regency club floor are amazing. The view is stunning and they are huge. In-room Nespresso c...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbles_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear User,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We take pride with the quality of the service we provide and the location and view our Hotel offers and it is a pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us. I am excited to let you know we have opened our newly refurbished Gentleman & Scholar Pub and I hope to welcome you back so you can experience it.

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your prefered Hotel to stay in Birmingham.I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My sisters booked this as a treat for my birthday the three of us went and we had an amazing afternoon. The staff couldn't have been more helpful if they tried nothing was to much trouble our water glasses were filled without us even having to ask the food was lovely just tiny little bites but between the tiny sandwiches and cakes along with beautiful tea we had no room for the scons. It was a wonderful relaxing afternoon where we got to just sit drink beautiful different kinds of tea and enjoy each other's company. We have decided to make it a monthly thing from now on and I for one can not wait those salmon and cream cheese sandwiches were out of this world. Lovely hotel, lovely staff amazing day!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Claire76uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Claire,

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea experience and you were well taken care of by our dedicated members of staff.

It will be my pleasure to pass on your comments to the Chef and the Food and Beverage Manager, who I am sure will be delighted to hear them.

Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with Hyatt Regency Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I booked this for my wifes birthday, wanting somewhere between the bull ring and the restaurants off Broad Street. Check in was very fast and efficient, and we were given a free late check out, as it was my wifes birthday. A nice and pleasant surprise. The room was excellent, as was the service when we rang down to say that the kettle would not boil. A new one was with us within a minute! The gym looked very well equipped, and the relaxation area was also very inviting. The pool was a little too cold for my personal taste, but the sauna, Jacuzzi, and steam room were just right.
We decided to try the evening meal in the Hotel, and found both service and food to be of a high standard. The Hotel is going through some "updating", which meant that there was some signs of building work going on. But not too obvious. The restaurant has, for the moment, been moved into the atrium, but they have managed to make this feel "cosy", for want of a better word.
When the work is finished, I am sure that it will be even better. We are already planning our next stay in Birmingham, and found this excellent value for money, we will come back here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the canal, as the view on the other side is not that appealing.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stuhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear User,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear the staff provided such excellent customer service and you enjoyed the facilities we offer. It will be my pleasure to pass on your comments to our dedicated members of staff who aim to create a memorable stay for each of our guests.

We are indeed currently undergoing a refurbishment project which is due to finish before the end of this year and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel so you can experience the atmosphere we aim to create.

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred Hotel to stay in Birmingham.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having stayed at this hotel for a number of years prior to 2010; I returned for the first time since leaving due to constant disappointment in the past to find a much much improved hotel; still undertaking some improvements as I write however this is a much improved hotel that I can now recommend to all once more

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear User,

Thank you for taking the time to write on your feedback of your recent stay. It is a pleasure to see that our team's efforts to continually improve the service we provide are being recognized. I will be delighted to pass on your comments. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment project due to finish before the end of this year and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel so you can enjoy the atmosphere we aim to create.

Thank you for continually choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred Hotel to stay in Birmingham.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I booked our wedding at the hotel and honeymoon night in the Junior Suite. We paid extra (£275) to book the Suite; for the spacious room and for access to the Club lounge (upon show around, we were told that this was ideal for newlyweds as it would include evening canapes and a private area for breakfast on the morning after the wedding).

However, no one told us that due to a (planned) refurbishment program, the Club Lounge was closed! So we didn't have the canapes or drinks, and had to have breakfast in a very busy dining area the morning after our wedding. Not the romantic start we had hoped for!

We were not informed about this prior to, or on check in, so we were very disappointed when we read about this in the room itself. When we spoke to the hotel staff on duty about it, they said all that they could do was aplogise for the inconvenience. No offer to bring breakfast to the room or any other practical solution.

Otherwise, the general hotel facilities and the staff are really excellent but on this occassion, we did pay a lot for a service we just didnt receive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skl521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

OK so its really not cheap but for a special occasion this is a great place to head for. This visit was for our Wedding Anniversary and everything was enjoyable. We asked for the highest floor possible and got the 20th floor which meant we had a great view over the city through the glass wall which makes up the front of the hotel room. Friendly and efficient staff too. We will return on the next special occasion.

Room Tip: Having stayed here a few times, it may be a difficult choice but we prefer the City view side.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeejayWBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear User,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Hyatt Regency Birmingham and for choosing to stay with us on such a special occasion.

It is a pleasure to hear you had an enjoyable stay with our Hotel. We do our utmost to ensure we exceed our guest expectation, making your experience with us worth remembering.

Thank you for continually choosing Hyatt Regency as your preferred Hotel to stay in Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Best Regards,
Dominik

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#19 of 118 in Birmingham
3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
2,316 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £92 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing