We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, not Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed one Saturday night so we could do a bit of shopping and have a night out. First off the good points. Rooms are very clean and well decorated (if a little bland). The reception area of the hotel is impressive and although we arrived 2 hours before official check in, a room was made available for us. The hotel is very central. 10 minutes walk to the shopping and right by all the best restaurants and pubs/clubs. Sky sports on the TV, the sound of which is piped into the bathroom (probably not good if you want to watch TV and your partner wants a relaxing bath though). Beds are big and wonderfully comfortable. The spa is good and free to residences. I had a nice long swim and a relaxing steam. Great view of the canal basin from our room.
Now the bad. Staff when we arrived were efficient but not very friendly (but when we checked out a different set of staff were a lot friendlier). Room was a bit small compared to others we've stayed in for the same price in Birmingham but ok. Bit stingy with the free tea and coffee - didn't even give free biscuits ;-)! However, our biggest complaint is that our room was right over the air conditioning outlet. There was a constant mechanical hum all night - not really bad since I did sleep well but annoying all the same. We would certainly go back but probably make sure we get a higher room (we were on floor 9) to avoid the sound.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,954 - 2,960 of 3,253 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2010

Great hotel. I had a large, clean comfortable room with amazing views across the city. Plenty of TV channels including all the sky sports channels. Pool area is very nice too and location is perfect. Could easily walk to shops and meusems etc

My only gripe is there is no free wifi.

Give me free wifi and this hotel gets 5 stars from me.

I must say as well that I was really impressed by Birmingham itself, what a really nice city and the people were really friendly. I hope to visit again soon, and will stay here at the Hyatt of course.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Kernoghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This is a very large, city centre hotel close to Broad Street (clubs and pubs) and the Rep Threatre. The rooms are large but charges are high - £2.50 for a bottle of mineral water. There is a swimming pool and fitness centre in the basement. I stayed on a room only basis and cannot comment on the food. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markybrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We had a pleasant stay here. We were only here for a weekend, so we only stayed two nights, but it was good. Nothing amazing, but the best bit for us was the location, it is right in the city centre near shops and bars.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damonshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

A 5 day trip to birmingham was a belated birthday present. Although Birmingham would not have been top of my list of destinations.... it was a pleasant surprise.

The hotel is in a great location, just across from shops, restaurants and entertainment venues. To the side of the hotel is a canal with lovely little barges and a quaint pub for drinks and lunch.

We stayed in a club room,

We had a Regency Club King room, with access to the club at the top of the hotel - it was worth it for the privacy and complimentary drinks and snacks in the evening after a hard days shopping!. The room was very big and airy, and had with wall to wall windows and a great view of the city. The room was open plan with a lovely seating area and two flatscreen tv's.

However the best thing about the hotel was the service. While we found all the staff very friendly and helpful, it was the concierge service that really stood out. Nothing was too much trouble for them, everything from directions, taxis, restaurant recommendations etc.

We are going back to Birmingham later this year to a Katie Melua concert - and we will definately be staying at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Hotel is gorgeous, location is right on broad Street and virtually opposite Brindley Place. Loads of bars and restaurants nearby. Broad street was full of hen and stag do's so we ended up in the hotel bar people watching. Blue Mango restaurant nearby is amazing!!! The only downside is the car park, which is a good 5 mins walk away and looked a bit like a set on 24. We were reassured by the Aston Martin parked nearby. It cost £13 for overnight but you can pay this at the hotel when you settle your bill. We were on the 20th Floor and the room had floor to ceiling window with a view over the canal. Bed was Huge even for us (we are not small people). There was a bit of noise from the street below when we went to bed, but nothing serious. You have full use of the spa facilities too - pool was lovely for a swim in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeawithSoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I've stayed in most hotels in Birmingham over the last 6 months inc Radisson Blu, City Inn, Jurys Inn, Crown Plaza etc but Hyatt is the best overall. Check in is quick and easy, the staff are all very pleasant and the facilities (inc pool) are immaculate. The food is above average and the piano playing in the background as you chat with colleagues whilst dining is a nice touch. The rooms are of a high standard, sky sports on the tv which you can still listen to whilst showering as the sound is played into the bathroom and the bed is comfortable. Room service is prompt (not 1hr+ like Crowne Plaza) and the room has plenty of space with a big table so you can eat and work at the same time (and not have to eat on bed). OK, nowhere is perfect. WiFi isn't free and it's a 5 minute walk up a hill from the car park but this place comes out on top in Birmingham City Centre

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank ManchesterEurotourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,543 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,404 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £93 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing