We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff rooms need updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #100 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great staff rooms need updating”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Staff made us feel really at home, especially Richard at the bar. The room was a bit tired, and smelt of stale cigarettes, but I didn't complain and feel confident they would have moved me if I had. Slept with the window open and slept surprisingly well considering it really is the centre of Birmingham. Evening meal in the restaurant was very good, Indonesian. The fitness room is a bedroom with the furniture replaced by equipment, unmanned, crowded and not welcoming for a woman alone. Overall would definitely go back, staff were fab.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincs-Lady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Lincs-Lady1,

Thank you for the positive comments that you made following your recent stay at the hotel.
I will pass on the comments to Richard and the staff and chefs in our Bugis Street Brasserie.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    428
    562
    341
    225
See reviews for
102
502
118
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

If you are looking for a hotel that is close enough to walk to the City Centre, Bull Ring, Mailbox, Broad St, Symphony Hall/ICC without to much hassle, this is the hotel.
The room was on the 3rd floor was little tired and a little shabby, but clean and so was the bathroom..
The staff were friendly and efficient.

The public areas are fine,decent bar although drinks I found expensive. I found the Bar staff extremely friendly and efficient which for me is more important than any other aspect. Had lunch in the Resturant which serves a Cantonese Menu. The food had a nice flavour, but some of the meat dishes had quite obviously, been pre-cooked and re-heated, bit dry and chewy. Saying that the service was excellent.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper as for a rear room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timeoutqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Timeoutqueen,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay.
I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and in particular our location and service.
I will certainly also look into the other points that you raised with my kitchen team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham in the near future.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

went to visit child at uni and a football match hotel is very central easy to find check in was quick no smile from reception desk man room was excellent 5th floot at the back car park was excexssive £12 overnight breakfast was excellent and staff in restaurant very helpful and polite overall got a deal with late rooms otherwise not worth £90 without breakfast walked to bullring brindley sq and the delightful broad st looked like weatherspoons next door did a good breakfast

Room Tip: high floor at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayrockytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear rayrockytwo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay at the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed one night, and found the hotel to be in an excellent location, very near to lots of bars, restaurants, shops etc, and an easy walk to the Mailbox. Parking handy, if a bit expensive at £12. Room nice, but a tad dated, everything clean and reception staff very helpful. Breakfast very good, large assortment of fresh fruit, cereals etc, although the 'kept warm' hot breakfast could be improved. Would not hesitate to stay here again, but would ask for a room away from the road as it was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: If you are anything less than a heavy sleeper, ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear redjockey,

I was delighted to read that enjoyed your stay with us here at the hotel. It was pleasing to read that you made full use of our central location and enjoyed our breakfast offering. I will however look into our hot offering on the back of your comments and look to make any neccessary changes.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us and I hope to see you back at the hotel again shortly.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night on the night of the Alice Cooper concert at the NIA in October. The accommodation was excellent - comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, spacious and clean bathroom. The reception staff were extremely helpful and polite. They gave us a map and also explained the route to the NIA. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: No tips - no time to see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Crunch456,

I took great delight in reading that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Copthorne Hotel Bimingham. I was glad to see that we were able to assist with the directions to the nearby NIA.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Birmingham.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I WOULD NOT recommend this hotel if you want a good nights sleep. If the noise from the main road doesn't keep you awake the roudy guests will. Have stayed here twice, the first time we were given a room at the front of the hotel so had the noise from the road and have just stayed there again in a different part of the hotel in an adjoining room. The guests in the room adjouning were loud, noisy and used very abusive lauguage throughout the night, I phoned down to reception 4 times to complain, but the duty manager who claims to have spoken to them, phoned me back and told me they were only talking, yes at the top of their voices, shouting and constantly in and out of the room banging the door, he found this acceptable and did nothing about it. When I checked out the next morning I again complained but the reception staff really didn't care. I'm going to make a complaint to head office but don't expect it will be taken seriously. Definitely won't be staying there again!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonallen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear simonallen30,

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel due to the noise from the guests in the room adjacent to yours.
We do our very best to limit the noise that guests make upon their return to the rooms but at times this can be challenging. The Night Manager did speak to the guests in the room after receiving your calls but I am sorry to read this did little to lessen the noise.
I am sorry that this has spoilt your stay at the Copthorne hotel Birmingham.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

bucks,
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I have just returned from a midweek break staying at the Copthorne Hotel with my girlfriend. We arrived into Birmingham by train and the hotel is a short walk from both main train stations in Birmingham. The hotel itself was very clean and welcoming and the staff throughout were amazing. Check-in and out was smooth, efficient and friendly (with no queues), The breakfast buffet was extensive with very attentive and friendly service and the bar service was very prompt . The location of the hotel was also perfect for our needs - it is less than a 5 minute walk to the main shopping area and there is a nice canal side area opposite with bars, pubs and restaurants (which I imagine would be amazing in the summer). I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Birmingham both on leisure or business.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear jamie321,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham so much. It was particularly pleasing to read that the service went above and beyond your expectations.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel whenever you are in Birmingham next.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,666 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#39 of 117 in Birmingham
1,427 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing