We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #100 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This may have been 4 star once upon a time, but the latter has taken its toll and hotel is now run down & dated. Very disappointing indeed!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolusIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experiences online. I was disappointed to read your comments and would welcome any specific comments that you may have.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss the matter. Thank you once again for the time you have taken.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,500 - 1,506 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

I recently stayed here whilst attending a conference at the ICC. The hotel was ideally placed and offered good value for money. The rooms were quiet and there was no street noise at all despite being situated on a main road (although I did not need to open the windows due to the time of year). There was also no noise to be heard from adjoining rooms. The staff were all helpful and polite. Bar snacks, such as sandwiches, were fairly priced and enjoyable. The breakfast was filling and there was a good variety of foods available. All in all, for the money, I couldn't fault this hotel. When I attend another conference in Birmingham, this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback online following your recent stay at the hotel. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback – please be assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team.

Please make sure you let me know prior to your next arrival so that I can ensure that the most suitable room is allocated.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Over the years I have stayed in many Birmingham hotels. During the past 12 months I have chosen to stay at the Copthorne during each trip. The standard of the hotel is high and its rates are extremelycompetitive. Customer service cannot be faulted. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback online following your recent stay at the hotel. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Our Main restaurant is Malaysian and Chinese style food, however a Western menu is also available to all guests – just ask the restaurant team. We do hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Being of senior years, and my wife having a disability, we found the hotel to be central enough for us to get to the canal area and the shopping area without having to cross major road junctions. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and yes perhaps the rooms could do with an update, but they were clean and comfortable.
The resturant would benefit the more senior guests by including more western dishes on the menu. The Copthorne Hotel would definetly be used for any future visits to Birmingham

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback online following your recent stay at the hotel. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Our Main restaurant is Malaysian and Chinese style food, however a Western menu is also available to all guests – just ask the restaurant team. We do hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you're looking for a hotel in the heart of Birmingham, with great access to Broad Street, the NIA and canal bars, then this is a great place to stay. I read a bunch of reviews saying how bad this hotel was, but at the end of the day, if you pay £50 for a room, as i did, you're going to get £50's worth of hotel!
The bed was clean, the bathroom was clean, the towels were clean.. it didn't have flat screen tv's, plush coverings, and designer bathroom accessories, but it was clean and warm after a night at the NIA.
The only fault i found was that my room overlooked the main road, and i couldn't have my window open over night due to the noise, but apart from that.. it did exactly what it said on the tin!
Don't book this hotel if you want a £200 a night hotel.. but if you want somewhere clean and central for a fantastic £50.. then this is the place!!
For the record.. the breakfast was also great.. couldn't fault it, or the staff serving in the breakfast area..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voddyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments shared online, following your recent stay. I am happy to hear such positive comments and that you found the hotel to be located conveniently and to a clean standard.

Whilst our central location has many positives, noise disruption can on rare occasions cause upset. We would be more than happy to allocate a room in a quieter area of the hotel on a future stay. Fans are also available by request at the main reception desk should you wish to keep your windows closed. Thank you once again for the time you have taken. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just stayed here for a night on business.

Hotel is very very central to Birmingham - Broad St is literally 5 mins walk from the hotel.

Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Rooms were pretty good size and well equiped.

Bar prices are pretty expensive even for a city hotel.

Breakfast buffet had a great choice but was a little cold...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecrock02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments shared online, following your recent stay.

I was disappointed to hear that you found breakfast to be cold. Our breakfast is normally an area in which we score highly so I would be interested in some further details such as the dates of your stay, so that I can investigate your comments fully. I was happy to see such a balanced view and would like to thank you for your kind comments relating to the team and service received.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future and thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I was a little dubious about a conference here after previous experience with a member of the chain, but this was a good venue - good food, facilities and very helpful staff in the centre of the city. Only drawback was the poor car parking facilities, but apparently these are being looked at. certainly well worth consideration against other local conference venues.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britainabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,011 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,143 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#38 of 118 in Birmingham
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £50 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing