We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #100 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Overnight stay for an event at the NIA. Excellently place as you can exit directly onto the pedestrian way to the ICC. Room very good. Breakfast very good. Parking not an issue. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Fifth floor room facing away from the road no noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, following your recent stay via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Please do contact us directly before your next stay, so that we can allocate a suitable room. Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    428
    561
    341
    225
See reviews for
102
502
118
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We booked the Copthorne in Birmingham last minute as we decided to stay over night after seeing dancing on ice at the NIA.
From the moment we entered the staff at reception had us booked in and on our way to our room in no time.
The room was lovely with lots of space and everthing you would need for a comfortable stay.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which served cantonese food.
The meal was excellent served by very attentive staff and at a resonable price.
The NIA is a 5 minute walk or less from the hotel and the location is perfect for strolling around the shops.
We had a drink at the bar after the show and again the staff were very pleasant.
All in all we would certainly stay here again excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, following your recent stay via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

Please do contact us directly before your next stay, so that we can allocate a suitable room. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had tickets to see Dancing on Ice at the NIA on Sunday 29th April, so we booked bed, breakfast and a 3 course meal at The Copthorne, we had stayed there before and it had been very good, also, it is walking distance from the hotel to the arena.
Our stay this time, exceeded our last one.
Right from checking in, which was very efficient and friendly, to our room that was lovely and clean, very comfortable, with all the amenities that we needed.
For our evening meal, we ate in the restaurant and had a 4 course Peking meal, which was absolutely gorgeous, the food was stunning and the service was excellent.
The staff were very friendly, attentive and informative about the food. It was extremely good value for money and one of the nicest oriental meals we have ever had.
Breakfast was also a good experience, there was a good variety of food, with quality cereals, fruit etc and a large range of hot food too.
The hotel is to be commended for its staff, service and attention to detail. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, following your recent stay via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

It’s great to hear that your experience matched your previous stay and that you would not hesitate to return. Please be assured that your comments are shared with the whole team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly before your next stay, so that we can allocate a suitable room. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Overall it was good value and the service/food was very good. And it was in a perfect central city location for us, with semi-secure parking. The only concern was the state of the room door and of the bathroom, both needed replacing due to age and wear, showing minor damage. A good quality solid door to a hotel room inspires comfort and confidence! This one didn't. The bathroom was adequate but looked very tired. All else was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a Hotel close to Brindley Place and the local nightlife and this was ideally located.
At £55 prpn it was good value and generally a nice hotel with friendly staff.
Ordering food from the bar in the afternoon was a bit challenging as they only bought the order out a piece at a time and than only when we reminded them but other than that it was good.
Be careful with the parking as not all of the parking spaces directly outside the hotel belong to them so make sure you park int the right place otherwise you end up paying £24 instead of £12 for 24 hours.
Yes the rooms are dated and in need of updating, yes they only have one plug socket.
They also have no air conditioning so I wouldn't recommend it for the summer as it is too noisey to open the window.
But for somewhere to crash after a boozey night out we thought it was good value for money.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TsukiWaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, following your recent stay via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

Thank you for your balanced feedback and for noting great value for money. Whilst we do not offer air conditioning, we do have a stock of both electric fans and heaters that are available via reception should you require. Your comments with regards to your food order will be shared with out Food and Beverage Manager for follow up with his team.

Please do contact us directly before your next stay, so that we can allocate a suitable room. Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the copthorne Birmingham whilst on business in the city.
The rooms are very dated and in need of a refurb.
For a business trip I expect a few basics:
- plug sockets. There was only 1 in the room, so I couldn't charge my phone and lap top at the same time
- iron and ironing board. There wasn't one in the room.
-a good nights sleep!!! The room I was staying in was facing a lot of bars and pubs and there was music blaring until the early hours. Then at around 4am the radiator started making a load noise that continued until I left.

So I went to my meetings tired, with a creased shirt and an uncharged laptop.

Terrible.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrbastow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the time that you have taken to share your experiences online, via Tripadvisor.co.uk. I must say that I am concerned to read your comments, previously being made aware following your departure by our reception team. I note that a member of our Duty Management team has since contacted you via email but has had no response to her final offer.

I have been to visit room 306 this afternoon and note 4 plug sockets available for use. The TV and Internet router are plugged into two of these sockets leaving 2 more spare. I also note your disappointment at the lack of ironing facilities despite confirming on departure that you did not request an iron or board during your stay.

Whilst an inconvenience, I am sure that our team would have been able to locate you a more suitable room had they been made aware of your concerns during your stay. As confirmed in the email sent to your following your departure, we will continue to monitor the radiator for any further intermittent faults as described but have so far been unable to determine the source of the described noise. Being located in the City Centre, our rooms on a rare occasion can be affected by outside noise. Please let us know prior to your next arrival and will be happy to allocate a room in a quieter area of the hotel.

Thank you once again for the time you have taken. We look forward to your response in due course.

Kind regards


Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on business and the room was booked by my work. Reading the reviews on here, I arrived with some trepidation. I shouldn't have worried.

On arrival, I was informed that I had been booked into a club room which entitled me to free wifi, a free paper in the morning and 2 complimentary drinks at the bar. This was a fantastic surprise.

In the room, the bed was comfortable and extra towels and pillows were provided along with a nice little selection of toiletries. I couldn't get the tv to work which was disappointing but not the end of the world as it was late anyway.

Breakfast consisted of the usual hot buffet style fare that you see in most hotels now. Cereals and fruit were also available.

It's also conveniently located being a brisk 10 minute stroll to New Street Station.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willdavmufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experiences online. It is more often than not the negative comments that are portrayed online and so it is always a pleasure when someone who has enjoyed their stay, takes time to comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let me know prior to your next arrival so that I can ensure a suitable room is allocated.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,666 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#39 of 117 in Birmingham
1,427 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing