We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #98 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Hotel very tired, rooms still being stuck in the 80's. I need of a refurb, but still priced at a level at which you can find much better stays. The hotel is located centrally, but in the middle of a run down block in the centre of a roundabout (with the comical name of Paradise Circus). Room noisy from both traffic, and other guests. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online, via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I note from your review that you found the hotel to be dated, yet made no comment as to the cleanliness of the bedroom and I do hope that this was to your satisfaction. Whilst we are aware that some of our rooms may benefit from our ongoing redecoration works – we aim to offer clean and comfortable accommodation. Our rates are very much reflective of demand in the area and benchmarked keenly against our City Centre competitors. Thank you for your high scoring of the services received and for noted our Central location.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future, thank you once again.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,614 - 1,620 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have stayed at the Copthorne many times. Very convenient for the Symphony Hall/ ICC/NIA. Spacious rooms. The food and drink service in the bar is excellent and the staff very attentive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VALERIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online, via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, please be assured that it will be shared with the whole team. We do hope to welcome you back in the future, and on this occasion I would urge you to contact me prior to your arrival so that we can allocate a suitable bedroom.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great location, very friendly helpful staff but a little tired and in need of a refurbishment. The biggest 'moan' would be the lack of plug sockets in the hotel bedroom - not ideal if you have to work. I am not sure if this was relevant to our room or others. Did sleep well although a bit of noise from bins being collected but you are in the City Centre so expected. I had no problems parking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Ok. Business hotel, large room but odd layout ( no bedside tables) a little tired in room decor. Food uninspiring, not brilliantly cooked and poor value

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online, via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I note your comments and would welcome and specific comments you may have in relation to the food offering. Thank you for your high scoring in relation to value, cleanliness, location and service.

I do hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you once again for the time you have taken.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have stayed here before when visiting The NIA, this time we just fancied a night out in Birmingham. On both occasions we found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and in good condition with everything you need. We did not have ameal in the restaurant but we did have breakfast which, being perfectly honest, was the best breakfast we have had in many a hotel. The location is absolutely perfect for any of the areas you may wish to visit be it the NIA, Broad Street or New Street and the Bullring. If you are wanting to visit these areas we recommend that you stay at the Copthorne.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online, via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I am happy to see a returning guest experience the same great service as on previous stays and welcome your comments. I do hope to welcome you back in the future. On this occasion please be sure to contact me prior to your arrival so that I can ensure a suitable room is allocated. Thank you once again for the time you have taken.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Overnight stay for an event at the NIA. Excellently place as you can exit directly onto the pedestrian way to the ICC. Room very good. Breakfast very good. Parking not an issue. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Fifth floor room facing away from the road no noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, following your recent stay via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Please do contact us directly before your next stay, so that we can allocate a suitable room. Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We booked the Copthorne in Birmingham last minute as we decided to stay over night after seeing dancing on ice at the NIA.
From the moment we entered the staff at reception had us booked in and on our way to our room in no time.
The room was lovely with lots of space and everthing you would need for a comfortable stay.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which served cantonese food.
The meal was excellent served by very attentive staff and at a resonable price.
The NIA is a 5 minute walk or less from the hotel and the location is perfect for strolling around the shops.
We had a drink at the bar after the show and again the staff were very pleasant.
All in all we would certainly stay here again excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, following your recent stay via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

Please do contact us directly before your next stay, so that we can allocate a suitable room. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,432 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,036 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing