We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel and central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #102 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel and central location”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Having read some of the negative reviews before we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Our family were there for conference and for location full marks! The staff were very helpful and the room was very clean and relatively quiet - bearing in mind it is in the middle of a city! yes, the car park is a bit of waste ground but we left our car on it perfectly safely for 4 days. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we took advantage of the proximity of the canal side ones instead but the breakfast was very good. Our kids loved staying there and thought they were in 7th heaven! Could also be explained though due to the fact that they usually go on holiday in our touring caravan!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback online via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I do hope that you consider us next time your conference is in the City or indeed next time you are passing through. Please be sure to contact us direct prior to your arrival so that we can allocate a suitable room for you and your family.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    425
    553
    339
    221
See reviews for
102
500
115
665
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Have stayed here a few times now, and am sorry that the decor seems to be "tired" and in need of a lift. Quite good value for money. The beds are clean, but the standard rooms are very small - and if twin occupancy, there is hardly any room between beds - and no night table! Some of the rooms can be noisy - especially at weekends with Night Club noise and general hub-bub. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The Asian themed restaurant is also extremely good value for money. Great location - for Symphony Hall and central Birmingham.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online via Tripadvisor.co.uk. I would like to assure you that we are aware that some of our rooms appear dated, and we are working on in house redecoration of our standard bedrooms and corridors. We have also received delivery of a full stock of new beds and mattresses and have plans to replace all TV sets, along with the ongoing redecoration of our standard bedrooms.

Thank you for your kind comments relating to the team and service received as well as your experience in our Main restaurant. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Hotel very tired, rooms still being stuck in the 80's. I need of a refurb, but still priced at a level at which you can find much better stays. The hotel is located centrally, but in the middle of a run down block in the centre of a roundabout (with the comical name of Paradise Circus). Room noisy from both traffic, and other guests. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online, via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I note from your review that you found the hotel to be dated, yet made no comment as to the cleanliness of the bedroom and I do hope that this was to your satisfaction. Whilst we are aware that some of our rooms may benefit from our ongoing redecoration works – we aim to offer clean and comfortable accommodation. Our rates are very much reflective of demand in the area and benchmarked keenly against our City Centre competitors. Thank you for your high scoring of the services received and for noted our Central location.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future, thank you once again.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have stayed at the Copthorne many times. Very convenient for the Symphony Hall/ ICC/NIA. Spacious rooms. The food and drink service in the bar is excellent and the staff very attentive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VALERIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online, via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, please be assured that it will be shared with the whole team. We do hope to welcome you back in the future, and on this occasion I would urge you to contact me prior to your arrival so that we can allocate a suitable bedroom.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
598 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great location, very friendly helpful staff but a little tired and in need of a refurbishment. The biggest 'moan' would be the lack of plug sockets in the hotel bedroom - not ideal if you have to work. I am not sure if this was relevant to our room or others. Did sleep well although a bit of noise from bins being collected but you are in the City Centre so expected. I had no problems parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Ok. Business hotel, large room but odd layout ( no bedside tables) a little tired in room decor. Food uninspiring, not brilliantly cooked and poor value

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online, via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I note your comments and would welcome and specific comments you may have in relation to the food offering. Thank you for your high scoring in relation to value, cleanliness, location and service.

I do hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you once again for the time you have taken.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have stayed here before when visiting The NIA, this time we just fancied a night out in Birmingham. On both occasions we found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and in good condition with everything you need. We did not have ameal in the restaurant but we did have breakfast which, being perfectly honest, was the best breakfast we have had in many a hotel. The location is absolutely perfect for any of the areas you may wish to visit be it the NIA, Broad Street or New Street and the Bullring. If you are wanting to visit these areas we recommend that you stay at the Copthorne.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online, via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I am happy to see a returning guest experience the same great service as on previous stays and welcome your comments. I do hope to welcome you back in the future. On this occasion please be sure to contact me prior to your arrival so that I can ensure a suitable room is allocated. Thank you once again for the time you have taken.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing