We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best of memories” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #98 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not the best of memories”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is a central hotel and on first seeing our suite we thought we had booked wisely, having a good size bedroom and a large lounge. However, little were we to know of the pitfalls. Firstly, the Jacuzzi bath did not work. We were informed that it had to be turned off due to health and safety!!
It was also a very hot weekend and unbelievably, there is no air conditioning, so we had to open all the windows and then could not sleep because of the all night traffic noise. The following morning we could not use the shower because the thermostatic valve was not working and the water only came out red hot. They were unable to fix this during the day and to be fair, they did offer us another room, but as we were leaving the following morning, we declined. I understand this hotel site is due to be redeveloped. I can only say not before time!

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experiences online at Tripadvisor.co.uk.

Sometimes things do go wrong, but I am happy to see that the team were forward thinking and logical in their approach to trying to resolve your problems with as little disruption to your stay as possible.

Our building is 25 years old and at the time, air con was not built in. We have recently (past few weeks) received stock of free standing air con units which are now available in each guest room. I do hope that on a future stay you are able to benefit from this.

Thank you once again for the time that you have taken.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    410
    539
    324
    219
See reviews for
98
490
111
642
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Have stayed here several times on business. Rooms are fine , clean comfortable , and always slept well here. Good bar and decent choice. Really excellent Thai restaurant for evening meals, breakfast always good. Just wish they and many other hotels would not cook bacon in a huge pile in the oven, so that it comes out bland and the fat not crispy.Great location for nights in centre of Birmingham , bars and restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redroserambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experiences online at Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I was happy to read such positive comments from a returning guest. Next time you are here, speak to our Restaurant team who would be happy to cook your breakfast to order.

Thank you once again for the time that you have taken; we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Not impressed by this hotel.. its like sleeping in the middle of a busy roundabou in central Birmingham.

Rooms are very tired, dated and uncomfortable.

My room was compleltly overlooked by an office block next door ! which wasn't ideal..

Room Tip: Ask for the best room available...they have had a refurd but will only put you in an old room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

Our hotel is indeed situated in the City Centre of Birmingham, Paradise Circus. Whilst we are surrounded by roadways in 3 sides, the majority of our rooms face inwards and away from road noise. I note that your room faced an office block and would like to confirm that this room would indeed have been shielded from any roads as a result.

I note that you found the room to be uncomfortable and would welcome any specific comments that you may have as to how we may improve this element of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed in two adjoining rooms with our young teen daughters. The rate was a bargain as it included breakfast ( which was exceptionally good). I am disabled , although mobile, and Julia was very helpful Pre booking with rooms etc. my criticisms were on arrival having been told how close hotel was to Adrian boult hall ( we were coming for a concert). Reception did not know where it was and then having googled it suggested a route with lots of steps! Notes had just confirmed we were in disabled parking!. In fact hotel is excellent for anyone attending either boult or symphony hall! Our rooms were dated, bits of border missing, but beds comfortable and bathroom clean. The smelt musty although reception assured me they had not been smoking rooms for some time. Perhaps carpets etc need changing.
Room service was good value, on time and tasty. Only blot was knock on door gone 11 pm asking to check fire alarm ( a call to warn would have helped ) . Breakfast was good, eggs cooked to order and good quality and presided over by a very pleasant young waiter who was attentive and cleared table. We also thought staff in bar were good. We ate one evening late, a rather mixed order, which all came together and was excellent. Daughter liked vegetarian options. We also were very well looked after when we popped back to watch the Olympic tennis match in the bar lounge by another excellent member of staff. Chatty, interested in where we were visiting and suggested shops we might like while keeping the drinks coming. A lovely break in the day. Overall, the staff and location plus price make this one to recommend but if you want 4 star room, upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

It is always a pleasure to get the perspective of a family, as the majority of our guests midweek tend to be corporate based. It is also a pleasure to see that you experienced the same levels of service and friendliness from a number of different team members, through out your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The staff were very helpful and the room size was good.
Unfortunately the airconditioning was not working. There was a joing door to the next room which was not secure and somebody walked into my room when I was about to sleep!!
Food left a lot to be desired..ordered Crumbed plaice with Dauphenoise potatoes and veg and got fish and chips!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

I note the particularly long delay in responding online to your stay back in October 2011. I fear that some of your comments may no longer be valid due to the extensive delay in responding to your stay in October 2011. Our menus will have changed extensively since your stay. I do hope that the security issue that you experienced was investigated fully at the time of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed here several times now on business. Great modern hotel, with well equiped rooms and facilities. Hotel has an excellent franchise Thai restuarant attached (Bugis St), with good quality food.
Convienient location, with both New Street and the canal area no more than five-ten minutes walk away.
Staff, friendly and helpful. Even posted my phone charger to my home address when I accidentally left it behind.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

It is always a pleasure to receive such balanced feedback. You’d be amazed at the amount of phone and laptop chargers that get left behind on a weekly basis. Thank you once again for the time you have taken. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

A very pleasant hotel, nice and clean, lovely room and a super comfy bed, Breakfast was
exceptional it had so much choice and was very well displayed and of high quality. The staff
were all very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for everything we wanted to do, like
shop,theatre,eat, and see the sights, Brindley place,Gas street basin,Symphony Hall,Indoor
Arena,conference centre,and even the Bull Ring all well within walking distance. We only have
two complaints that is the cost of parking £24 for a two night stay, we should have been made
aware of this, and the rooms are very dark, mainly due to bad lighting, or low wattage bulbs
I had to put my makeup on in the car,so recommend you take a magnifying mirror, probably
wouldn't stay here again because of these things, shame really.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayfairSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed W, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback online via Tripadvisor.co.uk.

It is standard that City centre hotels, across the UK charge for onsite parking. It may interest you to know that we are in fact the most competitively priced hotel in the centre of Birmingham with our neighbouring hotels charging up to £25.00 per night for vehicles. I note your particularly high scoring of all elements of your stay in addition to your comments and would like to thank you for these. It seems a shame that you feel you might choose elsewhere next time you are in the area.

It is always a pleasure to receive such balanced feedback. Thank you once again for the time you have taken. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing