We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #98 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Hotel is ideally located for Symphony Hall. Reception staff first class and very helpful. Car parking not entirely clear but reception staff assisted and all fine. Room clean and facilities fine. Decor a little tired but didn't matter for one night stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraSpangleGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear SaraSpangleGreen

Many thanks for your review and for your lovely comments about the team here at the hotel. My apologies if you found the car parking arrangements a little confusing, we do have 2 car parks, one directly opposite the hotel entrance and the other underneath the hotel.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    410
    539
    324
    219
See reviews for
98
490
111
642
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Room was very smart, just what we asked for and very clean. Perfect nights sleep. The location is just great for symphony hall and new street. Will stay there next time we go to Birmingham probably for the German Market.

Room Tip: Ring Reception if you have special requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artistwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear artistwong

Many thanks for your wonderful review and yes, we are just a short walk from the Symphony Hall. The German Market is now well underway and proving very popular this year with some amazing products to buy, food to try and of course the Gluwein! The market itself is located directly outside the hotel giving our guests excellent access to it.

We all hope to see you over the Christmas period.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here; the hotel is in a perfect central location and close to shopping centre, food court and news agents.
The room is a tiny bit shabby in some places but always clean. The bathroom is wonderful and spacious and warm. The beds are very comfortable and at night it is a good temperature (although the rooms can get really quite cold in the day time if you're in there).
We only ate breakfast at the hotel and that was very nice; great selection of food and the staff were friendly and attentive.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear jayney4385

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was good to hear you enjoyed our breakfast offering. Indeed our location is excellent for the ICC, New Library and the shopping district and I am glad you found it so convenient.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were on the 4th floor in two rooms and were very satisfied. rooms were spacious modern and clean. Good views from window and we had a good night sleep, staff friendly and breakfast was fine. Staff were a bit slow at breakfast because 2 staff had not turned up for work and i found a cockroach in the bath.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Alpouch

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. My apologies for your uninvited guest, we have since had experts look into this who have reported no further activity has been found. Of course I will continue to monitor this situation.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

booked for overnight stay, great location in the centre of birmingham, rooms ok but bed a little hard. Food good fantastic breakfast. would stay again, with parking too so no having to search for parking spaces. staff pleasant enough all round good hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Connahevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Connahevan

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Indeed we have parking for about 70 cars on site and and NCP just over the road too.

Thanks for your lovely comments about the staff and I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Laane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

If you like holes in carpets - stay here
If you like seeing wallpaper hanging off the walls - stay here
If you like a room so hot you can't breath - stay here
If you like paying over the odds for hotel that is not a 4 star hotel.

If however you prefer to have a nice experience, then please stay somewhere. Pound for Pound this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Had I paid £30 per night instead of £130 per night then my views would have been different because I turned up here expecting something completely different and will never trust the Copthorne brand again

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrConnisSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Mr ConnisSir

Thank you for your review and I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We are in the process of purchasing some new carpets for our rooms and our ongoing redecoration programme continues. All of our rooms are heated via radiators which are indivdually adjustable.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a real let down. From the moment we arrived and were told we would have to pay £12 to park our car this wasnt mentioned on the website only that they had a car park. We then went to our room which like many others had said in reviews was extremely dated there were no bedside tables just holes in the wall where they once used to be. There was only one arm chair to relax with a drink in. It was a double room. My wife hung our clothes in the wardrobe and complained of a musty smell in it. Later I took out the extra pillows from the wardrobe only to have a hard and very dirty and mouldy towel fall to the floor. This was dealt with very promptly and we were given complimentary drinks vouchers for the bar. House keeping lady was extremely apologetic as was Mel from house keeping when she rang our room to apologise. The only saving grace for this hotel was the breakfast which was of a very good standard and appeared to have good quality meats etc.i think the 4star rating is as old as the decor. We recently stayed in a 4 star suite at moor hall hotel(best westen) in sutton Coldfield the management at the copthorne birmingham should take a look at this place to see how 4 star really should be done.... ending on a better note micky flannagan at the nia was brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truckmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear truckmad

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were dissappointed by your stay. I will be discussing your points with my management team to identify how we can improve.

We do review our car parking charges to ensure we are competitive within the city both with other hotels and public car parking facilities. Thank you for your kind words regarding Mel and I am pleased to hear she resolved the situation for you.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed breakfast and of course Micky Flannagan at the NIA.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,408 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing