We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #100 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Hull uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Great location, needs updating”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here with a very large group (over 70 guests -work). The rooms are dated but clean and spacious. Beds comfortable. Everything you need just could do with modernising. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel overall feels clean and i noticed it always smelled nice :-) The breakfast was a bit of a let down considering this is a 4* hotel. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear katy a

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of replacing the furniture in some of our rooms and i hope next time you stay you will see the difference.

Thanks for your lovely comments regarding the staff which I will pass on to them.

We all look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    428
    561
    341
    225
See reviews for
102
502
118
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Best way to describe the hotel: imagine a 1970s multi-storey car park that was converted to a hotel in the late 1980s and hadn't been updated since.

Awful, tired, outdated carpets, curtains and furniture.

Single bed, single glass, single mug, no iron or ironing board.

Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unewydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Unewydd

Many thanks for your review and I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We are in the process of redocrating our rooms and whilst we do not have any single rooms at the hotel, I can only imaging you stayed in one of our twin rooms.

With best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed for two nights, didn't really think it lived up to four star rating. General hotel decor is tired, furniture looking faded, gaffer tape on carpet in places, old marble in bathroom.

However, it was really the little things that I felt let it down - no mini bar just an empty fridge, no tissues in the bathroom, worn out remote where all the buttons had faded so you had to guess what they said, hardly any 24 hour food just a couple of dull sandwich options and the wifi is £5 for 24 hours - these days I really expect it to be in the price. Wouldn't be my first choice in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjs1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear sjs1811

Many thanks for your review and my apologies if we did not live up to your expectations. We are in the process of reviewing our room service menu options and will certainly take your comments on board when I discuss this with my Chef.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here for one night as a single traveller. Reception was efficient but not exactly forthcoming. Room was very gloomy, had to remake the bed as it had been made in a very bizarre way! Couldn't connect laptop to internet. Good night's sleep though and very good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliastravels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Juliastravels83

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and my apologies if you felt the bed had been made in a strange way. We do have lots of comments about our comfy beds and I am glad you got a good nights sleep. Thanks also for your kinds words about breakfast.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Location is very convenient for Birmingham City Centre however parking and getting to it was a little problematic. Room was nice with good views of the city which was nice. Restaurant is Singaporian/Malaysian which was different and good. Service levels from all staff was excellent. Was hugely disappointed with Gym/Health Club facilities though. Was expecting a well equipped gym but found a small room at the end of a corridor tucked away with a few old machines and some weights. Not the best by any means but I guess it did the job.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Paul H

Many thanks for your reviw and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, we are very well located for all the central attractions Birmingham has to offer.

It was good to hear you enjoyed Bugis Street, our Singaporean and Chinese Restaurant and I hope we can all welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Hotel is ideally located for Symphony Hall. Reception staff first class and very helpful. Car parking not entirely clear but reception staff assisted and all fine. Room clean and facilities fine. Decor a little tired but didn't matter for one night stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraSpangleGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear SaraSpangleGreen

Many thanks for your review and for your lovely comments about the team here at the hotel. My apologies if you found the car parking arrangements a little confusing, we do have 2 car parks, one directly opposite the hotel entrance and the other underneath the hotel.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Room was very smart, just what we asked for and very clean. Perfect nights sleep. The location is just great for symphony hall and new street. Will stay there next time we go to Birmingham probably for the German Market.

Room Tip: Ring Reception if you have special requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artistwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear artistwong

Many thanks for your wonderful review and yes, we are just a short walk from the Symphony Hall. The German Market is now well underway and proving very popular this year with some amazing products to buy, food to try and of course the Gluwein! The market itself is located directly outside the hotel giving our guests excellent access to it.

We all hope to see you over the Christmas period.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,666 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#39 of 117 in Birmingham
1,424 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing