We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a let down!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #97 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a let down!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Chose this hotel as we were going to Symphony Hall -a mere 5 mins walk away. I had booked a club room as it was a special occasion. To me, Club rooms are usually more spacious, have better facilities etc. I dread to think what the standard rooms are like. Our club room (on the club floor, level 2 with a lift that seldom arrived) was dingy, small with a poky bathroom, poor toiletries and a hole in the bathroom door!
They do a wonderful scrambled egg with smoked salmon for breakfast. This is a tired hotel that desperately needs revamping and at present does not meet the expected standard of Copthorne Hotels!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    410
    540
    325
    219
See reviews for
98
490
111
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was the second time I had stayed at the hotel, which is nicely located very close to the city centre and about 10 minutes walk from New Street Railway Station. Received a very cheerful welcome and check-in was speedy.

The feel of the hotel is a little dated, including the lifts / elevators. The hotel room was a good size with a large bed, good working desk, the usual tea & coffee making facilities, and unusually a 4-way power lead, which was handy as I could power up the laptop, charge the mobile phone, have the desk lamp on and make coffee without having to swap plugs over (a common challenge at many hotels I have stayed in!).

Bathroom was a good size and the toiletries are good quality. The hotel has a fitness centre although I didn't use it. According to the Hotel Directory the Wi-Fi was £5 for 24 hours but it connected on my phone and laptop with no prompts for any charges, although the speed was a little unreliable and dropped out a few times...but I was able to get online for free, which was useful. Had a nice view from the room, overlooking Centenary Square. Despite being next to the main road, there was not much traffic noise in the room and I slept well.

Food prices in the restaurant were a little steep, but I guess for a city centre hotel they were probably par for the course. Breakfast was good and there was a plentiful selection of hot and cold food, and at £12 wasn't too bad value. Room price was about average for the area but I wouldn't say was terrific value. The parking area around the hotel looks a little run down and from the outside the hotel doesn't look awfully attractive, to be honest

Overall it was a satisfactory stay. Service was friendly and efficient, but nothing in the hotel blows you away. Would be happy to stay again though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidjellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Davidjellis

Thank you for such an honest and useful review and I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your kind words about the service you received on to my team and have discussed your other points with my management team.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel very soon

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I booked this through last minute.com and therefore got cheap rate. The reception was efficient and check in straight forward. On arrival found I'd got a double bed with separate single. Not bad for solo guest! Room and en suite clean and tidy but the furniture very tired. Wardrobe had notice "trouser press inside". No it wasn't. The space where I suspect the mini bar was now void. Clearly seen better days. Minor hiccup with wifi. Receptionist most helpful as was chck out. Car parking expensive but given location to be expected. Great location for city visit and given my price v good but not if paid proper rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailingdrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Decided to stay after hubby announced he was meeting friends for drinks. I love the reception area of this hotel and the bar but unfortunately the rooms are looking their age. Our room overlooked the back of the hotel, whereas I have stayed in rooms were we have had views up to The Symphony Hall. Staff very good and attentive. We dined in the restaurant - ok nothing special for the money and we were asked to leave as the area was closing to set up for breakfast.
Breakfast was disappointing- extremely busy! Quality of produce diapointing

Room Tip: Ask to have a room looking up Broad ST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat8964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Cat8964

Thank you so much for your review and I am sorry you felt a little disappointed by your stay. We are in the process of redecorating our rooms and I hope next time you stay you will see some changes.

I was surprised to read your comments regarding breakfast as we normally get some great feedback about this and I will continue to monitor this to ensure our normal standards continue.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

It's true what people say about this place being tired and worn out. It's an end-of-life, once wonderful hotel that I visit through work, 30 years too late. Perhaps it is good value for money but I don't see the bill.

Despite its short comings, I actually quite like it. The reception area reminds me of old 70s movies featuring plush hotels. It has been kept quite well and despite being so dated, still has a charm. The same is true of the lifts.

The bathrooms cry 1980s. They remind me of my childhood. Again, once top notch décor.

The strange rubber wheel contraption above the room door - every time I leave the room, I wander down the hallway, pondering what the hell it was once for (it has now been disabled).

I like thinking of all the people who have stayed here over the years. I look out over Paradise circus and ponder of the times gone by. The swinging 60s, when all this was built and people thought it was something cool and revolutionary.

I laughed when I arrived in my room and saw the Chinese takeaway menu as 'room service'. The restaurant downstairs is a Chinese too. There's no shortage of alternatives on the doorstep. Breakfast is ok too.

There's a jazz bar 5 yards from the door with live music. It's pretty good.

The staff are nice. They seem oblivious to the imminent closure and demolition that will result from the Paradise circus redevelopment.

The only thing that annoys me slightly about this place is the £5 WiFi charge.

This is a hotel that has grown old gracefully and deserves at least one visit for the sake of nostalgia, providing the price is right. Despite its many wrinkles, I'd choose this over a Premier Inn or Travel Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask "can I have a good room please?"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiderOnAStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good hotel location for shopping or visiting NIA. We did both. Rooms are perfect for that. Not top notch but clean. Good breakfast, especially if you get a voucher for money off. Only downside is parking at £12 a day but all city centre hotels the same albeit cheaper options. Wifi does work but you need code for free use and can be variable. Although did get iPlayer to work ok.

I have to say the staff are great , they made the visit good. All very helpful and willing to help.

Room Tip: Ask for inner room as away from busy roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear David G

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Being fortunate enough to have our own on site car parking, we do review our prices regularly to ensure they are competitive within the city.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team here at the hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We book this hotel when staying in Birmingham for the location as it is within walking distance to Broad Street and the shopping areas, however the rooms are in a poor state now and the hotel is more a 3 than 4 star these days. The room we had had thread bare carpet, paint peeling off the walls and black mould around the bath, and as it was on the back overlooking the Paradise Forum had the loud music from the bar outside till 12 every night. Not the best stay here we have had here but we got a good deal and can see why now as would not pay full price.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and want to go to bed before midnight at the weekend don't accept a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jue6522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing