We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all my needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #100 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Met all my needs”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed at the Copthorne as it was hosting a reunion dinner. It was my first stay there.
The location is ideal. It is right in the centre of Birmingham, a five minute walk from New Street Station. However, is not easy to find unless you know where you are going.
As others have commented, my room would have benefited from redecoration, but was adequate for my needs. It was clean, comfortable and quiet, had good supplies of tea and coffee, and a working TV. I did not check for WiFi. I had a very good night's sleep. I was on the top floor facing west, with a good view straight towards the Symphony Hall.
The food at the dinner I attended was good, as was the breakfast. Service was friendly and efficient, except for the reception desk that was slow and seemed a bit disorganised.
On my way home I realised I had left something in my room. I called the hotel. They found the item and posted it to me the next day. I was very impressed by that service.
The Copthorne is not going to win any prizes as a luxury hotel. However, if what you need is a hotel right in the centre of Birmingham, where you will sleep well and get a good breakfast, it offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Ian T

Many thanks for such an informative review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will discuss with my Front Office Manager how we can speed up the check in and check out process and thank you for bringing this to my attention.

I am glad to hear we managed to get your belongings back to you quickly and I hope, next time you are in Birmingham, you will pay us a visit.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    428
    561
    341
    225
See reviews for
102
502
118
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Just an overnight stay.. Easy to find, 5 mins walk from New Street Station, very friendly staff at check in, was offered a £1 reduction on prepaid breakfast and also £5 for 24hrs WiFi which was reasonable speed.
Rooms are decent size, soundproofing not excellent but acceptable. Bathroom lighting needs addressing though, only two side lamps which leaves it too dark
Big, comfortable, king size bed and good quality linens gave a decent nights sleep.
Overall would say this is a good standard hotel, well located and would have no problem staying here again

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chadshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Chadshill

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Birmingham.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel is very well situated, very close to the Conference Centre and Rep theatre, and to the main shopping area. Furnishings a little shabby but comfortable. Bit miffed that the iron I asked for was never delivered and that the wi fi would not work so I could not do the work I had wanted to get done. Brasserie specialising in Singapore food with an early evening prix fixe menu worth a visit and the breakfast was good value too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Ruth J

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am pleased to hear you found our location so convenient and enjoyed our restaurant.

My apologies for not getting an iron and board to you, I have, since your stay, ordered new irons and boards for every bedroom so in future there will be one in the room ready for you.

I do hope I can welcome you back to the hotel very soon

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked this hotel with LM for a single night, it was one of their 'Secret' hotels. The hotel is located well and has friendly and helpful staff but it is very tired. This was sold to us as a 4* hotel but there is no way this is anywhere near that level, instead the bedrooms are more like worn out Premier Inns. We will probably give this hotel a miss next time and head for Broad Street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PALLYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear PALLYH

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am sorry if we did not live up to your expectations when you stayed. If you do change your mind when you are next in Birmingham, please let us know, as we would love to welcome you back.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Like most of the recent reviews here I can't fault the hotel for its location or cleanliness but the décor of the rooms is more than overdue for a change. It just feels a bit old and unloved, otherwise, the staff were very friendly, rooms were comfortable (but desperately need air con) and bathrooms sizeable.

Location is spot on, as close to the centre of Birmingham as you could ask.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the square or the Library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear merkio

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and I am pleased to hear you found our location so convenient. We continue our ongoing redecoration programme and I hope next time you stay, you will see some changes.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
196 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Great, friendly check-in. The hotel has a good location for visiting Birmingham, however it's also next to a dual carriageway. No air conditioning, so some traffic noise - but it didn't disturb me.

The rooms were clean, bed comfortable and shower good, but it's very clear that this hotel is dated and shabby round the edges - could do with a refurb.

Breakfast was particularly good, nice quality ingredients with a wide choice including has browns. Service was also excellent. In fact, I would say breakfast was the strongest thing about my stay.

I would return, but it's not top of my list - there are better alternatives in Birmingham.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Martin F

Thank you for your review and for your lovely comments regarding breakfast. We do get some great feedback about breakfast with regards to food quality and service and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed it.

Being located in the city centre, traffic can be a little busy at times however our triple glazing does tend to prevent most traffic noise. I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
215 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

On business, needed a centrally located hotel and this was an ideal location. Car parking available at a charge. Public car park nearby if hotel one was full. Reception area was not plush but served its purpose, reception staff friendly. .

Club room not huge standard double bed and done in an old fashioned classic style, usual amenities for a hotel room, tea coffee etc but nothing outstanding. Bathroom adequate with complimentary toilettries, towels nice and fluffy.

Corridors were tired and needed updating.

Breakfast was ok, usual cooked breakfast offerings and nicely cooked. Staff friendly.

On the whole a pleasant stay, great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Bootrek

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Indeed we are lucky enough to have our own onsite car park which is rare for a city centre hotel and we also enjoy the facilities of an NCP just over the road from us.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the team here at the hotel and I will ensure these are passed on to them.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
3,664 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#40 of 117 in Birmingham
1,424 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing