We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional but good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #98 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Functional but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times now with work and it is easy to find from the train station. It is well positioned for eateries of an evening too. However, some of the decor is beginning to show its age. The rooms are functional but quite spacious and the beds are fine. However, on this last visit I was put on the road side and even through the double glazing, it kept me awake all night. Did not sleep well so if you do go there, insist on a room at the back overlooking the car park/shops. The breakfast is great though with loads of choice and waitress/waiter service for your tea/coffee. Can't fault the food or service, just the decor. Worth the money and will stay there again, but just on the quiet side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room anywhere other than on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markandsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    410
    539
    324
    219
See reviews for
98
490
111
642
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

So I do not arrive until Saturday 24th may.... Had to ring hotel and what fantastic service from Kelly in reservations.... Looking forward to a visit now. Let's hope the rest of the stay and service will be as excellent as I have just received.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Brian N

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding Kelly. We all look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on Saturday.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booked to stay here for a week while studying in the central library. Booked breakfast as an extra to the room for convenience each day. Wasnt the cheapest option but seemed good idea at time. Half way through week cut open my sausage and chunk of blue plastic embedded in it. Obviously not hotels fault but suppliers. Was not impressed when i informed them to get a sorry bout that and thanks for letting us know. That was it! Supposed to be a top hotel chain and cant even compensate for cost of the meal. Attitude on management not up to much either. Will not be booking again in a hurry.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicky12390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Nicky12390

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am sorry if you felt your issue could have been dealt with better. Since this incident we have contacted our sausage supplier who have confirmed that the blue piece of plastic did originate from them. We have returned all sausages delivered by them whilst they carry out an investigation.

I would ask that you contact me directly so that we can discuss this further

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped there for my 40th. I think just about every review I have placed on here has been positive in some way but....

Will NEVER stop again. 4 star accommodation RUBBISH! Aircon was a window and a fan you can buy from a local DIY shop, shower was not working properly either ice cold or scalding.

Staff didn't care, got my reservation wrong, only one lift was working, I had to queue to get to my floor.

Its was £96 for one night, in comparison if you look at the Ibis budget chains are half the price and have better bedroom amenities.

Don't get me wrong, I have travelled all round the world and I am used to roughing it. I object in the strongest terms when you pay for 4 star and get less than a two star.

If you are planning a visit to Birmingham the only redeeming feature is it's locality. But there are so many other hotels at a much cheaper price to choose from.

Bottom line, I feel robbed and would think more than twice before using this chain again.

Hope this helps.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JonK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Let's start with the good bits. Excellent Oriental themed restaurant with great food and attentive staff. The hotel is very convenient for central Birmingham.

Now the rest! Tired rooms with pretty aged decor and bathroom fittings from the 1980's. Door-card reader system is ancient and requires a 'knack' to get it to work. The gym is diabolical. Basically an old bedroom heated to that of a sauna, packed with old fashioned equipment which is pretty grotty.

I ordered smoked salmon and scrambled egg one morning. The egg had been microwaved and then roughly chopped up. No flavour or texture and too dry. Not very good for £11.95.

I wouldn't rush back....save for the restaurant for an evening meal, which was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear AJD37

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am pleased to hear that you found our location so convenient and enjoyed our Bugis Street Brasserie.

My apologies if you found our fitness room too hot, I have asked for the air conditioning in this room to be checked to ensure it is working at maximum capacity. We are in the process of redecorating our bedrooms in order to freshen them up with a more up to date feel.

With regards to breakfast, I was surprised to read your comments as we normally receive some great feedback about our offering. Our scramble egg is cooked fresh and can confirm a Microwave is not used for this however, I have passed on your feedback to my Chef to see how this can be further improved.

If you do change your mind about staying at the hotel, we would love to welcome you back.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed at the Copthorne as it was hosting a reunion dinner. It was my first stay there.
The location is ideal. It is right in the centre of Birmingham, a five minute walk from New Street Station. However, is not easy to find unless you know where you are going.
As others have commented, my room would have benefited from redecoration, but was adequate for my needs. It was clean, comfortable and quiet, had good supplies of tea and coffee, and a working TV. I did not check for WiFi. I had a very good night's sleep. I was on the top floor facing west, with a good view straight towards the Symphony Hall.
The food at the dinner I attended was good, as was the breakfast. Service was friendly and efficient, except for the reception desk that was slow and seemed a bit disorganised.
On my way home I realised I had left something in my room. I called the hotel. They found the item and posted it to me the next day. I was very impressed by that service.
The Copthorne is not going to win any prizes as a luxury hotel. However, if what you need is a hotel right in the centre of Birmingham, where you will sleep well and get a good breakfast, it offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Ian T

Many thanks for such an informative review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will discuss with my Front Office Manager how we can speed up the check in and check out process and thank you for bringing this to my attention.

I am glad to hear we managed to get your belongings back to you quickly and I hope, next time you are in Birmingham, you will pay us a visit.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Just an overnight stay.. Easy to find, 5 mins walk from New Street Station, very friendly staff at check in, was offered a £1 reduction on prepaid breakfast and also £5 for 24hrs WiFi which was reasonable speed.
Rooms are decent size, soundproofing not excellent but acceptable. Bathroom lighting needs addressing though, only two side lamps which leaves it too dark
Big, comfortable, king size bed and good quality linens gave a decent nights sleep.
Overall would say this is a good standard hotel, well located and would have no problem staying here again

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chadshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Chadshill

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Birmingham.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#60 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,412 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing