We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location....Poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #100 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great staff and location....Poor hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had read poor reviews on tripadvisor but still opted to stay here due to its location, hoping for the best. The positives:- price - £66 b&b, location, professional staff providing a good service, overnight parking - £5.50, room service. The negatives:- tired and dated room/bathroom, thread bare carpet, TV not working, some stained furniture, house keeping over zealous servicing my room for the next guest before I had checked out! Whilst not the hotels fault what shocked me most was a guest eating my left over room service meal from the tray I'd left out in the corridor!!! Won't be rushing to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jayne B

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind words regarding the team here at the hotel and our location. We are now waiting on delivery of new carpets for some of our rooms which I hope will help to address your comments with regards to the bedroom.

My apologies if our Housekeeping team were a little over zealous and for the behaviour of the other guest you spotted in the corridor.

With kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    430
    571
    349
    231
See reviews for
102
510
121
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed 2 (Sat & Sun) nights as a summer weekend away. Location is very central - literally 5 mins walk from the ICC and Broad street, and 5 mins the other way to New St. station and the Bull Ring. We got a really good "room only" rate - which gave us a large (but slightly tired) room, and a bathroom with a real bath. They provided a portable aircon unit which worked quite effectively. The WiFi did not connect at first, but a quick discussion with the receptionist, followed by a call to their help desk fixed the problem. The fitness room is available all the time, and is more than adequate. We tried breakfast on one morning - and it was pretty good. Despite the central location, there were no problems with noise or rowdy behaviour. Parking under the hotel was charged at £12 which does not seem too bad. Overall - a good value stay if you want to be in the centre of things.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear TWinster13

Thank you so much for such an informative review following your recent stay and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed we are right in the heart of the city and central to the ICC, NIA, New Street and the Bull Ring.

It was good to hear you felt you received good value for money and I hope we can all welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The negatives: my room was shabby with the upholstery on one chair v stained so I used a towel as a barrier. The hot bath tap was completely seized. I called reception to ask for assistance but there wasn't anyone there to take the call. So taking a bath wasn't possible.
The signal on the TV was unstable and kept dropping.
No aircon, the window opened onto the side of a busy road and a pedestrian area between 2 buildings so noise and lack of privacy was an issue. There wasn't a net curtain or blind so no privacy if wanting to keep the curtains open for natural daylight.

The positives: good location excellent staff. Particular thanks to Bethany who visited my room to establish my specific requests. She was efficient , interested friendly and thoughtful as well as conducting herself professionally. Beth arranged for Michael the chef to speak to me and he organised exactly what was required . My evening meal from the oriental menu was 100% perfect, breakfast was lovely and lunch the next day was high quality.
I was so very impressed with these 2 members of staff they are great ambassadors for the Copthorne brand.
The room rate was extremely competitive and perhaps this was in recognition that the rooms needed a refurb ,the bedroom was clean with a very comfy bed.

I'd certainly return as I was so impressed with staff but would ask for a different room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ne28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear ne28

Wow, what a fantastic review, thank you so much for your lovely comments. I have spoken to both Bethany and Michael personally and thanked them on your behalf for the service they provided.

I have noted your comments about the room and will ensure these are resolved and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have just spent a couple of nights here at a conference in Birmingham. The staff were very good at their jobs and helpful and the location is really good, but the place is aged and very tired. I had a 2nd floor room and with no air conditioning, there was a small fan in the room. I am not complaining that the weather was good, but with the double glazing and window open, there was still very little ventilation. I was facing a main road, so no chance of leaving the window open. In fact, even with the both closed, it was still very noisy. The room was very dated with most things worn out. The only modern item was the TV.

The last thing to mention was the breakfast. I stay in lots of hotels and this was the worst by far. No taste in anything, water filled scrambled eggs, fatty bacon, toaster that didn't toast, the list goes on. Not value for money for the room at all.

Room Tip: Any room on a high floor will help with the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Doug_421

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following you recent stay and for your lovely comments regarding the team.

I was surprised to read your comments regarding breakfast as we normally receive great feedback about the quality and presentation of our food. With this said, I have passed your comments on to Chef to ensure our normal high standards are maintained.

Whilst we do not enjoy the benefits of air conditioning, we do provide fans in every room and take steps to ensure the rooms are as cool as possible during the day for the comfort of our guests. Additionally windows facing the main road have secondary double glazing units, over and above the standard double glazing units to minimise the road noise, my apologies if you feel this wasn't enough to soundproof the room.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the future

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Paid a ridiculously low price for this hotel! For a visit to the NIA! It was blinding! and I would recommend anyone to stay here going to NIA!! its not even a 5 min walk!
I also stayed here from a recommendation and would stay here again! lovely little wetherspoons around the corner too :). The beds are massive I could do 5 rolly pollies on the bed without falling off.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jade C

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the big beds! I think 5 Rolly Pollies has to be a record!!

It was good to hear that you found us great value for money and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here to go to the good food show. The room was large and clean. The location was right near the heart of all the bars and restaurants. We just enjoyed the evening sun watching the world go by while we had dinner (GBK see other review). When we got back the room was roasting. The room is quiet unless you open the windows. Fortunately a fan was provided. Breakfast was hit and miss. Selection was great. Crispy items do not like being kept in chafing dishes. Hash brows ended up soggy. The pastries were stale and not great. However there was such choice we still had a decent breakfast. Would go back if we can get a similar room rate. It was worth it for the location alone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Richard B

Thank you for posting a review following you recent stay and I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and the Good Food Show. I have passed your comments on to my team to ensure we get breakfast right every time but again, it was good to hear that you found the choice plentiful.

Keep an eye out for some great deals on our website and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed over night.its was good the room was neat and clean so was the bathroom which is very important to us.well what more can I say we only stayed the night and never used any other facility. It's recommendable and in the city center

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Amir K

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am pleased to hear you found the hotel comfortable and enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments on to our Housekeeping team who work very hard to ensure all of our rooms are kept spotlessly clean.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,741 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 117 in Birmingham
1,086 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,437 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing