We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful and the worse customer service I have ever came across. Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #102 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgraceful and the worse customer service I have ever came across. Stay away”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Arrived at the hotel was a young lady who was rude at reception. Went into the room which wasn't the cleanest room I have been too. However I did not spent at lot at £50 so didn't moan. After an hour I found the tv did not work .... Back to reception who reluctantly moved us to a room with no lights. On the end they told me they had no other rooms ( they where charging people who hadn't booked a lot more then my £50 that where coming in drunk ) I agreed with the manager to cancel my room who was also very rude. Later I find out he informed my booking company I was a no show! This is unbelievable a manager would lie. I am currently taking this further as its not about a refund any more it's about poor customer service with staff that need a lot of training.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missmelissabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    72
    72
    50
    92
See reviews for
49
91
27
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English Lake District
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We Had a 2 night weekend stay at The Apollo at very good price. We were surprised to find that we were in 'Block F' which we had taken to be flats, and which was situated across from the main reception and dining area in a separate building, motel style. The room was very spacious and clean although a little dated, but was a good base for our weekend. We were overlooking a very busy road but road noise was not intrusive and we benefited from having a bus stop just yards down the road for easy access to and from the city centre. We were on the third floor, the lift was out of order and judging by the curling edged notice attached to it had been for some time. This was not a problem for us as we were traveling light, but might be for some. Breakfast was average the first morning, much better on day 2 ( maybe different chefs), and staff were friendly and helpful.
Best of all, TGI Friday, a Beefeater pub, a fabulous Indian restaurant and a casino are all just across the road and well worth visiting.
This is not a luxury hotel but rooms are well equipped, good value for money as a base for spending a few days in Birmingham, and easily accessed from the motorway. We would book there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanacre, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed here last night and will be again tonight. I found the hotel on laterooms.com and for £34.99 what a delightful find. The room was very well maintained and very clean. The bathroom was v ery clean and well appoinyted with copious ampunts of hot water.

The rooms are like mini apartment accessed from an external balcony rather thatn a corridor, the room was pleasantly warm and very comfortable. Really good, new, large flat screen tv as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great stay. No complaints. £49 per night. Free parking and wi-fi. Quiet, no noise from street. Good bed. Water pressure could be better. Hot water is hot! Good value. This review is to be 200 characters, difficult if you have no complaints!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieTraveller795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I could have given this a four rating actually if it was just all about value for money. We had a really good price as a result of having a group discount, however, the place looks a bit like a couple of 1960s residential blocks of flats. It is apparently meant to be modelled on the style of a USA motel block but it doesn't quite come off. Also the lift doesn't reach the top floor and the arrangement of staircases is strange. Nonetheless, the room we had was fine, if a bit dark. It was clean and, from the look of it, had a bit of a refurbish as the bathroom was very nice with one glaring problem. The shower was dire! This was a pity as the actual water temperature was constant but the water came out in what was not much better than a trickle. The amount from the shower head was okay but there was no pressure behind it. This may have been because we were on the top floor at the very end of the block but I was one of a number of people in a group that was staying there and one of them told me she had to rinse her hair under the tap. So come on Apollo - put in power showers. I would have preferred to have a duvet rather than a sheet and blanket, I must also say. As far as the other aspects of the hotel were concerned, the hospitality was excellent. We were allowed to have a room for a meeting and a special dinner and we were well looked after, with a very nice menu for the dinner and excellent service. Everyone agreed that the breakfast was very good. The bar is not cheap but is less expensive than the hotels in the city centre that I have visited. Parking is fine and there are some decent restaurants within 200 yards. There are plenty of buses passing by but even if you walked it is only about 25 minutes to the NIA and I am not that fast. Driving to the city centre takes only a few minutes. We had a problem on Friday and Saturday with noisy nightclubbers coming in at 4.30am but a call to Reception resulted in security sorting it out within 5 minutes. Brilliantly dealt with! There is free wifi - more expensive hotels take note!
I would certainly recommend you to stay here if you want a reasonable room with a good breakfast at a fair price. I would be happy to stay here again. Just make sure you check out the shower before you accept the room. Also ask for a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Check out the shower before moving into the room and don't get one on the top floor if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachluvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

stayed here 2 weeks ago - just drove by no prebooking and was charged £45 for every night we stayed - female staff were very helpful and 'older' lady was the best making a very difficult trip - due to sudden family death - so much easier - male staff were a little less helpful and direct! but not rude though - we were moved to 3 different rooms during our 10 day stay and always at the same room rate - yes the rooms are dated and the older rooms do not have lcd digital tv but they were all clean and basic - the rooms opposite reception are to be avoided as they are right on the car park with lots of car engine noise early and door slamming etc - the suites are excellent value and spacious if a little dated and little or nothing in the way of tv - blankets as in pics are a little dated - radiator leak in one room so turned off and very cold as was below 0 when we visited! free parking though ...

Room Tip: far end of building away from car park for quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezzy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

For brief visit to area, overnight stay and such like, this is adequate, their are better places further into the Midlands, really dependant on budget and what you are after, this could do better in so many areas but unfortunately I think it has been left to whittle to an un-adequate stature, staff are clearly not trained to a 'hotel' criteria and many areas of the establishment could be much updated by way of refurbishment and décor, with a higher standard care of this premises and better operational Management I feel this could improve if only by a little.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEPHEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
447 reviews
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#106 of 117 in Birmingham
494 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#88 of 117 in Birmingham
747 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#75 of 117 in Birmingham
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Birmingham

Property: Apollo Hotel Birmingham
Address: 243-247 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern business-oriented hotel situated 2 miles from Birmingham center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Apollo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing