We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel bad management.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #103 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    72
    72
    49
    92
See reviews for
49
91
26
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just got back from shopping trip in Birmingham. This motel style accommodation was more than adequate for our requirements, the room was clean and bedding fresh, we had fresh towels both days, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was brilliant.

We got a 2 night stay for two for £59.00 which included breakfast from eBay! It worked out at £15 pp a night and if you take off the £8 pp breakfast charge it worked out at £7pp a night , now that's what I call good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Awful car park at front, cramped at rear. Basic accomodation in 'Motel' style block opposite reception/ dining room area.
You get what you pay for so for this cheap deal on't tinternet it was OK.
Would I use again, NO.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our first room looked as if it had not been occupied in weeks; there were webs and spiders (I counted 3) in the bathroom in various locations. We asked for it to be cleaned and were moved to a new, larger room. The new room had a bed that smelled musty and old, with noisy springs that dug into your back; I looked at the mattress, and it was old, discolored, and stained. Water pressure was anemic at best; it really should be a crime to call that a shower. The one good thing about the place was the staff; they were all nice.

I do not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Sandy, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Looked at the reviews after a friend made the reservations and have come to the conclusion that it was a different hotel or the dates were different

Room was shared with a friend of a friend, so £25 per night and £8.50 for a full english breakfast with bowl of fruit, yogurt etc. nice to have a fully cooked egg :)
Rooms were clean and well presented, no hair dryer to be easily found, but had brought my own. The shower can be set way too hot and eventually got it cold after having been turned a few times. Room came with complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveLiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

It was so dirty, the bath had mould and grime around it. There was dust everywhere. The shone was so dirty I has to put it in a towel to use it when I called reception.

The property looked like a prison or an old council estate. The tv in the room was so small you couldn't even see it.

At breakfast the service and food was ok, but the cups and glasses were stained.

I would never stay here again or recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in mid May. My room was excellent - complimentary tea and coffee, free Wi Fi internet, flat screen tv, and a well appointed bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, with extra pillows available, and I had a very good nights sleep.
There is free on-site car parking. The hotel dining facility is smart and very clean, with a pleasant bar area near the main reception desk.
I would recommend this hotel for its excellent location and great value.

Room Tip: The newly refurbished ground floor rooms in the complete opposite the main entrance is highly recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#105 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#75 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Birmingham

Property: Apollo Hotel Birmingham
Address: 243-247 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern business-oriented hotel situated 2 miles from Birmingham center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Apollo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing