We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on business, been here before so new what to expect. Easy to find just off the M6 and plenty of parking. Clean room with a small double bed enough room for one person. Eat in the resturant in the morning for breakfast which was ok but if you get there with only 15 mins before it closes at 9.30am there isn't much fresh continental food left.
Used room service for food due to getting in late from working shifts, it didn't take long to arrive after ordering but wasn't very hot but was ok.

Asked for a late check out which the front desk were really helpful and made possible for my stay. Made use of the gym facilities here whcih were good and machine well maintained.
Overall I would use again the staff are brilliant here and do what they can to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wirraltravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel on Monday 24th September 2012 on business for a course there the next day. It was very easy to find using the cars sat nav and parking was good when I arrived at about 5.30pm and I was able to park fairly close to the main entrance. I had booked room 114 which I found was a bit of a walk from reception which could prove an issue if you have a lot of bags. The staff on reception were very helpful and pleasant. I had to use the internet and this was priced at £5.00 for an hour or an offer of 4 hours for £10.00. I was lucky as after I arrived a coach load of people arrived and this did tie up reception a bit, but they seemed very able. I ate in the reaturant and the food was very good and there was a choice from the menu. The staff there very again pleasant and thoughful because as I was alone I was offered a newspaper and magazine to read. All in all I thought this was a very good hotel and clean. I slept well and there was no noise.

Room Tip: Check where the room are in relation to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I had reason to stop over at your hotel or so long ago. 
I must take this opportunity to congratulate the staff who work in the bar and the restaurant. 
They were polite , professional, knowledgeable and very helpful.  In particular two gentlemen  called Ranjeet  and  Jyoti . 
The overall experience on that particular day was excellent with no complaints about the food or the service ... not being able to find fault with either.
There was a wine promotion and was given the opportunity to taste the wine which we subsequently had with our meal. 
We didnt stop over on this particular occasion but with the welcome and service the staff showed, would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel and it's services to family and friends. 
Your staff are an asset and a credit to your company .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rena1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Took kids to cadbury world and looked for hotels on internet near the venue,got a good price for my husband,me and our 2 children,excellent hotel,very clean,good hosts it was just the location of the place that spoilt it for us,had to take 2 bus rides and a train to get to cadburys world,so was a bit lost when we first arrived as internet said hotel was 8 miles away...no way it took us 35 mins on the bus to get there,saying that the hotel itself was good value and I would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is a very tired hotel. On the plus side the hotel is quiet and the staff don't bother you when you are working nights and put the do not disturb sign up. On the minus side the hotel for the last two weekends has not had the full room service menu available and the staff are not very helpful about this with a take it or leave it attitude. The rooms are tiny and the beds are not full doubles, rather being three quarter size. The bathrooms are OK and at least have real soap and not shower gel like so many hotels do now. The staff also clear away breakfast things too quickly when you haven't finished and are getting some more but the food is good (as is what room service food was available - especially the Goan Curry).

There much better hotels in Birmingham itself.

Room Tip: lower Ground rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baldipaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Baldipaul,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over room service and breakfast staff. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here again, not by choice on any occasion. Room dated, in need of a update & deep clean – there was a dead spider trapped in the picture above the bed and dust on the top self of the wardrobe - my laptop case came down very dusty! Thought I would use the pool: water was cloudy and the showers looked really grim so showered back at the room. We were one of only two groups in the restaurant, but the service was so slow. They kept coming and asking if everything ok, but did nothing to when it wasn’t! My first glass of wine was on its way to becoming vinegar and my chicken in the coronation chicken would have made a good shot put! The Eton Mess was a complete joke little blobs of meringue, loads of cream and one strawberry! Even when made again it had only ONE strawberry. Conclusion lots of staff who really don’t care!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyMidAgedWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear FussyMidAgedWithKids,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received room accommodations and service from our staff which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed overnight, due to 1, my daughter and son-in-law hired a room for their wedding reception, and 2, it was also my hubby's birthday. Because of us booking in advance, and the fact that we told them we were part of a wedding party, we were given an Executive room, with breakfast at a decent price. The staff were absolutely brilliant, the atmosphere was fantastic, and the bar staff served efficiently - (people who complain about slow service are obviously always in a rush! They ought to go to the Canary islands, because that is mega slow, you just have to be patient!!). The room was clean, and so was the bedding. A member of staff even asked if everything was okay, and i told them yes, it was perfect. The breakfast food was well stocked, and this was at 10am, and it was hot. We have no complaints whatsoever. And going on location of the hotel, just of the M6...we live only 4 miles away...and YES it IS EASY TO GET TO! AND IT CAN BE EASILY SEEN FROM THE ROAD. IT USED TO BE CALLED THE POSTHOUSE, BEEN THERE FOR YEARS, IT IS WHERE IT IS BECAUSE IT'S AWAY FROM THE NOISE OF THE MAIN ROAD.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, spoil yourselves and go for an executive room. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleygirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
944 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Address: Chapel Lane | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 Jct 7 is situated 7 miles north of Birmingham City Centre set in 7 acres of Landscaped grounds on the edge of green belt with ample free parking and easy access to the motorway network, M6 Jct 7, M5 Jct 1, M42, M54 and the M6 Toll Motorway.The National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Birmingham International Airport (BHX) ) are 25 minutes drive away. New Street Station, International Convention Centre (ICC), National Indoor Arena (NIA) and Symphony Hall are a 15 minute drive away The hotel offers High Speed Internet access, Kids Stay Free, Eat Free, Traders Restaurant, Hub Bar and modern Lounge to enhance the food and beverage experience at the Holiday Inn M6 J7. Relax in the Spirit Health and Fitness Club, exercise classes, indoor pool, spa, gym, sauna and steam room. More guests choose Holiday Inn because we offer a Great nights sleep, a Great value breakfast and a rewarding loyalty scheme, Priority Club. Together with our Can-Do friendly service and a global reassurance of quality and standards you can feel at home no matter where in the world you stay. Unique to the hotel, we have our very own Helicopter Landing pad. Please contact the hotel direct if you wish to use this service. Pets are allowed at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham m6, Jct. 7 Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing