We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for function”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and went to the adult only New Year's Eve function. The stay was good value, especially as the drinks were included in the price of the function (wine not paritcularly drinkable though). The adult only celebration was good for most of the time and the food was good, but there were occasions that people from the family celebration were allowed in and took the dancefloor over. Having said that, I complained to reception and they were sent back to the restaurant were the family function was based. I do think the hotel should think about that if they are to offer two functions next year. If someone has booked and paid for an adult only function, they do not want to find the dancefloor has become a children's nursery at 7 minutes to twelve!! At least it was sorted by midnight.

The room was fine and the hotel well positioned - near the M6, but not with noise from it. We had asked for a queit room and got one. There were a couple of problems with the room but they were dealt with quickly and politely, so I do not consider them a problem. All the staff in the hotel were particularly polite, efficient and pleasant (appart from the person who was managing the New Year function as he seemed incapable of keeping out people who were not booked into the function).

There is a very good Indian restaurant over the road and a Harvester and another pub which does food nearby as well.

Overall I would have given a higher rating of the hotel if the function had been managed better.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TringWirral_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear TringWirral,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback following your stay with us.

I am pleased that generally you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments are very welcome and useful to other future guests.

Your comments are very valuable to us and will be considered as we are currently in the process of planning events for the Christmas and New Years period for 2014. Your feedback will be taken on board as we can take them into account and learn from our guests.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had a night here in between visiting Drayton Manor Park & Dudley Zoo. The room was nice with free wifi and we got to use the pool for free which was nice. The only thing that slightly bothered me was the restaurant where we seemed to get a really expensive menu whilst people around us were eating things that weren't on our menu at all. Saying that the food was nice but maybe not worth the price we had to pay......we didn't stay for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Stefan H,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback following your stay with us.

I am pleased that generally you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments are very welcome and useful to other future guests.

I will ensure your information is shared with the team and used constructively. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Booked as appeared to meet specification for medium size conference. Had to sort various extras on the day as not standard. Wi-Fi a whopping £13 for 24 hours did not go down well with our guests on business. much better to include as standard within price. Conference room not cleaned and tidied in the morning from the day before. Food very average, all meals buffet style. On plus side is a pool and gym, clean, rooms OK. Location on M6. On busy housing estate with a few nice walks and runs outside but need to know area to find so use MapMyRun. My conference manager said on leaving "we won't be coming here again".

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Speigal,

On behalf of the team at the hotel I read your comments with concern and disappointment, and offer my sincere apologies.

May I please check if you had chance to speak to a Manager on duty on that evening? If not, I would be interested to discuss this matter further with you. I would be very grateful if you would contact me via my email: deena.welsh@ihg.com or call 0871 942 9009.

Kindest regards,
Deena welsh
Conference & Events Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a great value stop over, it's a tired old Forte hotel but and it's a big but. The staff are first class and it's great value for a very clean room on a North to South stop over. As such I will carry on using it on a regular basis.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guy C

Thank your for taking the time to give your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

Your comments are very useful to us. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure that the staff are aware of your comments as they will find them encouraging.

We look forward to to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed in one of the executive rooms here. I checked in very late but it wasn't a problem (tried to ring the hotel but no one answers the phone so left a message with central reservations who kindly passed on the message for me). The room was clean. I thought the hotel was good value and I'd stay here again. I found the front desk staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper I would recommend you don't stay on the ground floor (it wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Lou856

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments. Your information is very useful to us.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest regards,
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

On turning up at this hotel was pleasantly surprised at the shiny new looking reception area, bar and Starbucks banners. Only after checking in so you get to see the real product which is the accommodation which is tired and in need of renovation. Rooms were clean but the worst standard of decor of any Holiday inn I have ever stayed in.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and the reason for the Average review rather than poor overall. On departure I was asked by receptionist how I would score the holiday out of 5. I mentioned the quality of the rooms but understand without the chain throwing a few million at it this can't be helped at local level. She didn't disagree! If you want a nice room avoid this hotel, they really let down what seemed to be a good team.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Steddars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Steddars,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I read your comments with interest and concern. I will however ensure that your feedback is passed on to the relevant channels. I hope that you may reconsider staying with us in the future and we are able to welcome you back.

Kindest regards,
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked into executive room which was adequate.|Have stayed in better executive rooms in other hotels so don't be too disappointed. Be warned bathroom is tiny. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Reception area lovely and nicely decorated.
We did not have any meals so cannot comment on the food there, but the bar service was good and went on for as long as you did.
All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonDEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear SharonDEdinburgh,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind comments and useful feedback.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
980 reviews
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Address: Chapel Lane | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £46 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 Jct 7 is situated 7 miles north of Birmingham City Centre set in 7 acres of Landscaped grounds on the edge of green belt with ample free parking and easy access to the motorway network, M6 Jct 7, M5 Jct 1, M42, M54 and the M6 Toll Motorway.The National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Birmingham International Airport (BHX) ) are 25 minutes drive away. New Street Station, International Convention Centre (ICC), National Indoor Arena (NIA) and Symphony Hall are a 15 minute drive away The hotel offers High Speed Internet access, Kids Stay Free, Eat Free, Traders Restaurant, Hub Bar and modern Lounge to enhance the food and beverage experience at the Holiday Inn M6 J7. Relax in the Spirit Health and Fitness Club, exercise classes, indoor pool, spa, gym, sauna and steam room. More guests choose Holiday Inn because we offer a Great nights sleep, a Great value breakfast and a rewarding loyalty scheme, Priority Club. Together with our Can-Do friendly service and a global reassurance of quality and standards you can feel at home no matter where in the world you stay. Unique to the hotel, we have our very own Helicopter Landing pad. Please contact the hotel direct if you wish to use this service. Pets are allowed at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham m6, Jct. 7 Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing