We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, shame about the tired hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The description says 'impressive marble reception'. That's about where it ends.
Whilst the staff were helpful and friendly, the single room (111) I stayed in was dark and tatty. The urgent need for a lick of paint, new furniture and a fresh carpet made it feel 'grubby' which doesn't make for a great nights sleep. Breakfast served in the room was less than appetising in its presentation ; the coffee was cold, croissants were dry and it was all delivered on a chipped, unhygienic looking tray. Needless to say - I went without breakfast!
I was there to assess the hotel for a client who regularly has visiting customers and staff. I won't be recommending it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Sue W,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. On behalf of the team at the hotel I read your comments with concern and disappointment, and offer my sincere apologies.

May I please check if you had chance to speak to a Manager on duty on that evening? If not, I would be interested to discuss this matter further with you. I would be very grateful if you would contact me via my email: gehan.eriyagama@ihg.com or call 0871 942 9009.

Kindest regards,
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Holiday Inn is in the Great Barr region of Birmingham. Its approximately 20 minutes drive to the town centre.

I found the hotel clean and comfortable, however it did have a few minus points worth mentioning which while they wont ruin your stay, are areas for the hotel to improve:

MINUS POINTS:

Rooms:

Shower area was clean but there was some noticable moulding and black marks caused by the shower and condensation. It was nearing a renovation I thought.

TV

Maybe more than 4 0r 5 channels would be good. I mean free ones

Meals

I ate Trout on my first night. I have to say that considering what I paid for £14.99 from memory, I got one slice of fish on a small bed of Mediterranean veg. Meal was tasty, but portion was small and left me hungry.

The Buffet on the first night was very poor - leftovers - although it had improved on the second night when I opted for it, although the choice of hot food wasnt that great.

Hotel

Carpets could do with a replacement along the corridors approaching the rooms.

PLUS POINTS:

Gym

I only used the gym treadmills. But they were adequate.The Gym was small but overall the health club and pool looked decent.

Room

They provided an Iron and Ironing board in the room as well as a trouser press - liked that.

Surroundings

Fairly nice

Parking - Easy

OVERALL - SUMARY

An OK Hotel. Not the best I've ever stayed in but OK. Its convenient for motorway (M6) as its literally yards off at Junction 7. Comfortable enough. Seems clean, staff were friendly enough. No major gripes but better and more substantive meals please at dinner time and please ensure buffet is fresh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phendrixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear phendrixx,

On behalf of the team at the hotel I read your comments with concern and with some disappointment. The kind of feedback you have provided is very useful and taken seriously in order for us to find solutions and deliver the best quality of service and hospitality to all our guests.

I would be interested to discuss which room your were staying in so we can investigate and to discuss your stay further. Therefore, would it be possible for you to contact me via my email: akmal.shahzad@ihg.com or call 0871 942 9009.

Kindest regards,
Akmal Shahzad
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed here on business last week the hotel can be described as a very avrage hotel but the service can only be described as a total shambles!as a group we waited 1 hour 25 minuts for food on two consecutive nights when the food finally did arrive they had things missing off the order and to make a bad experience worse the waiter tipped a hole pint of beer in my lap with no apology or offer to clean my clothes.DO NOT STAY HERE the premier inn across the road is a much safer bet.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malkyboy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Malkyboy1983,

On behalf of the team at the hotel I read your comments with concern and disappointment, and offer my sincere apologies.

May I please check if you had chance to speak to a Manager on duty on that evening? If not, I would be interested to discuss this matter further with you. I would be very grateful if you would contact me via my email: akmal.shahzad@ihg.com or call 0871 942 9009.

Kindest regards,
Akmal Shahzad
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Decent business hotel but rooms overdue an upgrade. When asked for my opinion at checkout I said the same and the reply was, 'everyone says that'. Come on holiday inn, spend the money. I've added more words to meet min characters

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Paul M,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to the relevant channels as your comments are extremely valuable to us and taken very seriously.

I do hope that we may welcome you back and if you ever plan to visit the area in the future, please would you call our Reservations Department direct on 0121 386 7016 as I am sure they will be happy to upgrade you if at all available.
Kindest regards,

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My room was downstairs and the bed was tiny as was the room, not worthy of a Holiday Inn standard really. It was dated and tired.

The hotel bar was fine as was the reception area etc, I think it was just my room on this occasion. I didn't eat in the restaurant but went across the road to the Harvester which was only 5 mins walk under the subway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bintess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear bintess,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I read your comments with interest and of course concern. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to the relevant channels.

If you are ever planning to visit the area in the future, please would you call our Reservations Department direct on 0121 386 7016 as I am sure they will be happy to try and upgrade you if at all available.

Kindest regards, Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was absolutely fantastic very accommodating to mine and my dogs needs. Staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed here for the Crufts show in Birmingham and had a fab time with a comfortable stay. Even when it was time to depart early the last morning the boys on reception went out of their way to grab us an early breakfast and coffee for our journey. Just what we needed for our journey back to the airport. Thankyou for a great stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jexplore321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Jexplore321,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that the staff were able to give great service. I will ensure that a copy of your review is displayed for the staff to see, especially those mentioned in order that they are aware of your comments, as I am sure they will be greatly encouraged.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest regards,
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to see Russell Howard at the NEC. Great location for it only 20 mins away along with a 15 min drive to the city centre for some shopping.

The hotel was great very nice looking reception with pleasant staff on the desk. Room was great. Nice and clean with a comfy bed and a choice if pillow firmness on request! Overall a great place to stay. Swimming pool seemed extremely popular with people as lot of people were talking about it!

Guy on the night shift letting us in after coming in late was extremely pleasant. :)

Overall a great place to stay. :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear James W,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind comments.

I was very pleased that the team were able to offer you to service that we hope for all our guests to receive. Your feedback is very helpful and will be communicated to the team, especially those mentioned.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
945 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Address: Chapel Lane | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 Jct 7 is situated 7 miles north of Birmingham City Centre set in 7 acres of Landscaped grounds on the edge of green belt with ample free parking and easy access to the motorway network, M6 Jct 7, M5 Jct 1, M42, M54 and the M6 Toll Motorway.The National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Birmingham International Airport (BHX) ) are 25 minutes drive away. New Street Station, International Convention Centre (ICC), National Indoor Arena (NIA) and Symphony Hall are a 15 minute drive away The hotel offers High Speed Internet access, Kids Stay Free, Eat Free, Traders Restaurant, Hub Bar and modern Lounge to enhance the food and beverage experience at the Holiday Inn M6 J7. Relax in the Spirit Health and Fitness Club, exercise classes, indoor pool, spa, gym, sauna and steam room. More guests choose Holiday Inn because we offer a Great nights sleep, a Great value breakfast and a rewarding loyalty scheme, Priority Club. Together with our Can-Do friendly service and a global reassurance of quality and standards you can feel at home no matter where in the world you stay. Unique to the hotel, we have our very own Helicopter Landing pad. Please contact the hotel direct if you wish to use this service. Pets are allowed at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham m6, Jct. 7 Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing